We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok burgers, but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Burger Joint

The Burger Joint
4827 Fairmont Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
+1 301-358-6137
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 338 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Voted "Best Burger Restaurant in DC" by Business Insider. Voted "Best Burger Restaurant in DC" by Washingtonian Magazine. Voted "Best Burger Patty" by Washington Post. BGR The Burger Joint is helping lead the better burger market with a menu designed around our commitment to using only the highest quality ingredients. BGR's menu is designed around an exclusive blend of Prime, Dry-aged burgers, grilled over an open flame. Menu offerings include burgers, veggie burger, grilled chicken, turkey burger, lamb burger, ahi tuna burger, hot dog, kids meals, regular fries, sweet potato fries, onion rings, asparagus, handspun shakes, side salads, lettuce wraps, salad bowls and beer/wine and other seasonal specialties. Gluten Free options include: regular fries, sweet potato fries, side salad, salad bowl (any burger on a salad), lettuce wrap, asparagus.
St. Louis Metro
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok burgers, but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Came with the family, two kids two adults. The burgers were good, but not the best I've had. They were seriously overpriced as well...which was disappointing. The onion rings saved them and left our opinion relatively high.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Hearty burgers and great sides!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for something light, this is not really your place. If you want a substantial burger with innovative toppings and good sides than you are all set! There is usually a burger of the month as well as tuna, lamb and lobster (in season). The onion rings and sweet potato fries are wonderful. If you have room left over get one of the milk shakes! I'm partial to a burger with cheddar and bacon.

Kids eat well here too- they can get a meal with sliders or grilled cheese that includes fries. At lunchtime they also offer special deals.

There is always good music on the stereo (and for you children of the 70's School House Rock in the restrooms!) This is a kid friendly, family friendly, solo diner friendly sort of place. In short, one of the places to be sure you check out!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ATWTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We don't have these burger places in Milwaukee...I loved it. Great options including corn on the cob! Friendly staff and good food - what more can a girl ask for after a long day of being a tourist?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cnhnoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Burgers!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our new favorite joint! I think I have finally succeeded in locating a burger that will replace my love of In-N-Out, as native SoCal person...awesome burgers, sweet potato fries, and the rosemary garlic fries are to die for.

Great service, speedy, cooked to order, and they will doctor up your burger how ever you want it. Fun place to hang out as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmd46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Burger Hands Down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

BGR ..the burger joint at the Atlantic Station in Atlanta has the best burgers I've every eaten. Hormone free, angus beef, handmade, made to order, and if you happen to enjoy turkey rather than beeflike turkey no worries you're in for a treat. Customer service was top notch. I ate the Southwest burger with the mango salsa on the side and no mojo sauce. I ate it slow to savor the taste. The price is high but you get what you pay for. No run of the mill burger joint. They do sell beer if thats your thing. There is nothing fancy about this place but its a burger joint remember. BGR will be a must have whenever I'm in Atlanta .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bdanasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burger Joint also viewed

 

Been to The Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing