We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reminiscent of Italy!”

Positano Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #37 of 358 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $1 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Full service Italian restaurant with also four private party rooms and garden terrace for outside dining.
Damascus
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Reminiscent of Italy!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to have perfect weather and loved our table on the patio under the grapevines and trellis. Service was very good and our dinners were great (Osso bucco was elegant)! I've eaten here before, but it's been a while. Great value! ...I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    53
    28
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“feel like you're in Italy”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have been to Positano many times over our 40 years living in the Washington area so I thought it was about time I wrote a review for them. Had lunch there yesterday with a friend and
was again reminded how relaxing their outdoor area is and how exceptional their Italian cuisine is. The restaurant is off the beaten track from the main Bethesda shops and restaurant area
and is quieter in feeling. The outdoor area is charming and great for a romantic evening. The area makes you feel as if you are sitting in a centuries old Italian spot, complete with pots of flowers and hanging grapevines. Very charming. Their homemade pastas are very delicate and their sauces are superb. Prices are very reasonable for what you get. Italian is my favorite cuisine, and I cook it myself quite a bit so I am fussy about it. This is our go to place for Italian. I don't think you will be disappointed!.
.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolphin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“delicious food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We sat out on the front patio covered with vines and had a lovely meal. The wine list had many great choices and all our meals were fantastic - great seasoning and sauces.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tkr718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great restaurant for family occasion. Friendly to all ages. Amazing eggplant Parmesan and tiramisu. Attentive service and unbelievable prices. Unique spot for events.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ejcdcole78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
“Anniversary Party”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

After extensive research, we finally decided to have our anniversary party at Positanos. I am sure glad that we did! From our very first meeting with Jimmy, (who refers to himself as the "Chief Everything Officer"), we felt at ease with the planning of the party, something that can oft time be a source of anxiety. Jimmy took us under his wing with suggestions regarding the menu, timing of the events during the party, location within the restaurant, and numerous other issues that always arise when having a party for 60 people.
We used the Old Positano Room and it was perfect. The Italian motif of the room is very welcoming and makes for a fun experience. The food was excellent. Among other entrees, we offerred Rockfish to our guests and received nothing but rave reviews from those who chose that as their entree. The service was also very good.
One of the criteria for chosing a location was the pricetag for the event. Positanos was very reasonable. For instance, there was no charge for the use of the room, the cost of the "adult" beverages was based soley on the amount consumed and the charge per person for the food was much less than required by other facilities, especially considering the quality of the food.
All in all, a wonderful evening.
We also ate several meals at Positanos prior to the event and tasted various alternatives to offer to our guests as entrees. Not an easy decision as everything we tried we liked...chicken piccata, various veal meals, filet mignon, the sauces.
I would highly recommend Positano's to anyone, whether it be for an evening out or a large party... the food is excellent, the atmosphere is inviting and the price is right.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Positano Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Positano Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing