We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Holiday Party” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Positano Ristorante Italiano

Positano Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #20 of 347 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $1 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Full service Italian restaurant with also four private party rooms and garden terrace for outside dining.
Greenbelt, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business Holiday Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

As the activities coordinator at my job, I am constantly on the lookout for new and fun places to have office parties. A co-worker recommended this restaurant so we decided to have our party at Positano this year. It carries a classic italian look with murals of Italy on many of the walls and is a beautiful restaurant. The restaurant has several party rooms for both large and intimate parties as well as a regular dining room. This year our party hosted 94 people and there was room for a 3 man band as well as a photo booth for fun pictures. The decor for our party was elegant, warm and very inviting. The wait staff was wonderful and kept everything flowing smoothly all evening, from the serving of hors d'oeuvres to the main entrees and dessert. They were efficient, kind, and professional. For our entrees we chose 3 selections; the Manicotti, Chicken Parmigian, and the classic Italian & Meatballs. The food was fantastic and everyone enjoyed their meals. Everything was served on time and was fresh and hot. Our head waiter, Jaime, was fantastic and working with Jimmy, the owner, was great. We could not have asked for a better party. I definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    52
    23
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I Truely a great time I went with my family for a lovely peaceful dinner. They had great hospitality felt we where at home. Very good crispy calamari for appetizers and great pasta dishes too over all a lovely place

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LP98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best traditional italian restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you are craving some traditional italian food this is the place to go. Fantastic food, great atmosphere and flawless service. Best Italian restaurant in the bethesda area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arsalan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mclean
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for rehearsal dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our son had his rehearsal dinner in the Old Positano Room at the Positano Ristorante in Bethesda, Md., mid-November, and it was perfect!
The service and food were excellent, and the first-floor room is private (door closed to restaurant) -- that allowed for mingling and talking without bothering others. There is a bar and dining space for more than 100 people at round tables of 8-10. Wine prices are quite reasonable. It exceeded our expectations.
The pasta is homemade and should not be missed! Thanks for the memories!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank janemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Family Affair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My dad & I have been going to Positano for years, and have come to know owner Jimmy & his Italian staff well. They always know what we like. Early June, 2011, Dad's wife died and we suddenly needed a place to accommodate our family of 18. Arranging it took just one brief call. Everybody at Positano pulled together to make an exceptional evening for us. Nice private room, no fixed menu or drink minimum. Jimmy just said we'll ready for you and they were. Fine food & familiar people helping us. I'll always be grateful. Another +++ is the kitchen's off-menu versatility. Ask for something special, they will make it for you. An Old Country place with Old Country pride.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Positano Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Positano Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing