We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restaurant!”

Positano Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #39 of 360 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $1 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Full service Italian restaurant with also four private party rooms and garden terrace for outside dining.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Wonderful Restaurant!”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We met another couple here for a casual dinner and left VERY impressed! The food was excellent, the service was superb and the ambiance is very comfortable and quite beautiful!! There was absolutely no pressure to leave our table. We stayed for almost an hour after dinner just chatting it up with old friends. The owner/manager even brought us a free shot of limon liquor before we left. It is a true Italian-style restaurant. Laid back and very easy to have a great time. We will be back many times, I'm sure!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katelall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    53
    28
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darnestown, Maryland
1 review
“A Most Pleasant Evening”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We (my wife and I) dined at Positano Ristaurante Italiano on a Saturday evening in April. We were promplty seated in a very comfortable corner banquette in an elegant dining room. We had a superb waiter who did not rush us, which is not the norm in Washington area restaurants. Our meals were superb and reasonably priced. In all I would have to say the evening was a delight.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMitch19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
“Fun & Friendly -- Great for Entertaining”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I think about the veal piccata even when I'm not at the restaurant. And the fresh vegetables that come with it are done to perfection. When friends and family are in town, Positano's is our first choice. We've dined there on New Year's Eve, Grandma's birthday, graduation, and any other excuse we can come up with. We are always greeted in a friendly, even humorous, way, shown to a comfortable table, and waited on very professionally. The staff are always there when you need them and yet they are never intrusive. The arrival of dishes is well timed, and there's a general air of organization and efficiency. The ambiance is that of a excellent neighborhood restaurant in Italy, and it's a wonderful place to drink wine with friends while browsing the menu and to linger over coffee and dessert after dinner.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiningBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The biggest shrimp i have ever seen in a restaurant!!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Family owned and operated..... glad to support these guys! Where do these get these shrimp? Best italian food in bethesda!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spsmag242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Comfortable Restaurant”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Positano Ristorante Italiano is a gem of a restaurant with a beautiful, comfortable courtyard ideal for lunch or evening dining. The service is friendly and efficient and the food consistently good.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tfascenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Positano Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Positano Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing