We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, Low-Key Tapas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guardado's

Guardado's
Reserve with OpenTable
Guardado's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 356 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Spanish, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Old Georgetown RD
Transit: ride-on 34
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great, Low-Key Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Have been enjoying Guardado's since its opening and have never been disappointed. Excellent and diverse tapas, including a good range of seafoods, meats and vegetarian-- the shrimp tapa is addictive and I'm very fond of the vegetables with chorizo. Salads and cheeses are most enjoyable, too. Cocktails, sangria and wines are excellent and well-priced. Overall pricing is excellent and the space, while modest, is welcoming. Guardado's isn't fancy, but it more than delivers on satisfaction and value-- have never had a bad meal here and have always had a good time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANetliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    30
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Intimate, low-key place on the "other" side of Bethesda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This little place was recommended by friends who live in the neighborhood. We stopped in before heading to the movies for a bite to eat, not expecting anything much. And we were very pleasantly surprised. We ordered a half-dozen or so tapas, and all were very well prepared. The waiters are extremely friendly, and will give you their opinion on what to order if you ask. The wine was good, and it was extremely reasonable. It was a nice departure from all the trendy new spots opening up in DC (I'm not complaining) - just a cozy, understated spot, with solidly good food. I will definitely go again when I'm next in the neighborhood.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tradewinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is a dump. Walked inn at 6ish and there was not a soul in the place. The hostess was terrible. We showed her a belly deal which was set to expire a week from that point and she snared saying in a very snobbish tone "we don't accept that anymore". She hands us the happy hour menu which was printed on a wrinkled piece of printer paper. She continued to give us dirty looks until we decided to leave. I was disgusted with this place because it makes me angry when the purpose of a hostess is to serve you and make you feel welcome. She managed to completely invert that to the extent that it be and a chore to stand there another second. Just don't go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Back Street Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Good little Spanish (not Mexican) place - had black paella which was excellent! Good value at happy hour. Ordered from daily special menu. No al fresco which would be a plus. Wouldn't find without TripAdvisor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Z3959HIjohnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding service; food was good but needed more seasoning.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Friends have ben recommending Guardado's' for a while and we went this week for the first time. Nice cozy place with outstanding and very friendly service. Food was good but everything we ordered (soup and 4 different tapas) needed more seasonin. We'll try again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guardado's also viewed

 

Been to Guardado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing