We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“English?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Jack's British Pub - CLOSED

Union Jack's British Pub
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Madison, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“English?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Lots of big screen TV's with some EPL and Champions league games if you want it (I do). The food is generally good and a decent selection of draft beer including London Pride. They get pretty close with the bangers and mash to real UK pud food too. Younger crowd generally but pretty quiet mid week unless there is game on when it get's busy. Last night they had $1 Miller Lite bottles all night if drinking colored water is your thing. The staff are attentive and service is good. Bethesda has loads of choices for places to eat but if you're on a budget and want some atmosphere I'd recommend Union Jacks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank duncanhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    18
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seven Corners, Virginia
Level Contributor
561 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Happening Place on Saturday Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were looking for fun place to hang out this Saturday night in Bethesda and came upon this little jam. This place is favored by a rather younger crowd, so you're almost guaranteed to get good deals on drinks. Bartenders are awesome and work their butts off serving fast drinks. There're a lot of people on a dance floor and about the same amount around the bar, so it might take some time for you to get some service. I haven't noticed any altercations or overt unfriendliness among patrons, but there was a cop hanging by the door.
All-in-all, I would recommend this place for great time on Saturday night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avid Partier says this place is for knuckle heads”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Okay Okay I will say the DJ is very good! The bartenders specially Jet is amazing. The atmosphere is thugs on thugs (the girls, not ladies)

I wouldn't be surprised if this place ends up having a metal detector soon.
I think this place stays in business because it has a bigger dance floor than any of the places in Bethesda or surrounding area. They also have pool tables on one side of the place.

In the past year I have been here twice, I try to avoid this place like the plague. I have been confronted by some drunk girl talking alot of trash and trying to start a fight with anyone every single time! For instance this past weekend I thought a guy was bothering a girl on the dance floor that I was dancing next to, so I asked her in a friendly manner if she was okay? Then her friend "Jenny from the block" jumps in "Is there a problem?" I said "no" she said "because you were saying.." So I had to her the guy was bumping into all of us and he seemed to be harrassing her alot so I wanted to be sure she was okay, if not I would get security. She was so ready to throw her fists at anyone.

No time for this drama and this place has lots of it. The boys not men are of an aggressive nature, you can't just dance with your friends because you will be groped. It's really gross.

This review is based on my expierence from the past two years. Last time I will go there for sure. I will choose a smaller dance floor and a adequet DJ (Tommy Joes) over this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvgreatdeals D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch rules!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Happened upon Union Jack's on a Sunday morning. From the sidewalk, saw a very appealing brunch table in their below-sidewalk pub, with an amazing sign that promised that brunch for less than $8.00! The brunch was worth every penny: nice assortment of pastries, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs (tasted real, not processed), bacon, sausage, French toast and syrup, and lots of coffee. Friendly server and a British sports bar atmosphere made this an enjoyable place for a hearty Sunday breakfast. This is worth seeking out on a Sunday morn!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt14617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good nieghborhood place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a good place when you want to be in a happy crowd and want substantial, not gourmet, food at a decent price. Lots of young people here who clearly were looking for a good time. Great service, large portions (including drinks), friendly atmosphere.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Jack's British Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing