We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Good atmosphere, Good (Not Spectacular) Food”
Review of La Tolteca

La Tolteca
Ranked #13 of 158 Restaurants in Bel Air
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Service, Good atmosphere, Good (Not Spectacular) Food”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

After living in Bel Air for many years, I have been to La Tolteca several times. The service is fast and friendly. The atmosphere is warm and authentic down to the furniture. The food is very good. I love the tacos, beans and rice and the chips and salsa are great and seem to be homemade. But having been to Mexico many times and tasted food from several regions, I would say that some of the dishes are missing an aspect of the flavor that reminds me of the true Mexican cuisine that I've had in Mexico. I would say this place errs more on the side of Tex-Mex, which is what many Americans are used too anyway. For example, I once had a steak burrito that had the texture and flavor more like pot roast than seasoned grilled steak and the enchalada sauce lacks any authentic mexican spice and tastes more like a marinara sauce. So all in all, I think this place is great and I eat there on occasion, but I wouldnt say its a place you would be willing to drive 30 miles just to get a taste.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mikemike0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    41
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bel air
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican food, unfriendly service”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The food is average, service unfriendly from most servers and they CHARGE for carryout containers!! When I questioned it the server said "it helps with the cost of the to go containers". Ridiculous! I understand that there are a lot of costs in running a restaurant, but this is a sure way to chase your customers away.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The place is pretty good. Fair prices and the food is always good. The shrimp enchiladas are the best. Still the one in Aberdeen I think edges this one out just a tad, but if I'm in Bel Air this is a strong possibility for lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Standard Mexican Fare”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

If you want decent Mexican food this place has it. Not fancy just your average Mexican food. Service is very good and the food comes out quickly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thekauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprising find!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Their fare is very authentic. Prices, taste and portions make this a good find! Literally hidden in the La Quinta.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ToughOlBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tolteca also viewed

 

Been to La Tolteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing