We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't reward bad behavior”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Edgewood Aberdeen
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bel Air
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We were to stay here for one night at the end of June. It was the final leg of a business/leisure trip. We left Burlington, Vermont in the late morning and stopped off a number of fun places. At 6 p.m., I called the hotel to confirm our reservation for the evening and to make sure we were guaranteed for late arrival as we were still aways away. Sure enough, we didn't drive in until a little after midnight. Since I had called earlier to confirm, I wasn't too worried. Well, I should have been.

The person at the front desk informed us that they had overbooked and that no rooms were available. Tired from a long day, all I could do is to stand there with a look of disbelief. He said that he would call next door and set us up in a room at the Country Inn and Suites. So, we drove to the Country Inn. The woman there wasn't the friendliest person in the world. At one point, she asked what kind of room we wanted. I answered incorrectly -- I said I wanted a room comparable to what we would have received at the Springhill SUITES. When we entered our room, yep, no suite. At this point it was after 1 a.m., so we just went to bed -- although I must admit I did not sleep at all -- I was angry. In the morning, I have never seen such a poor excuse for a breakfast. I didn't mind too much until we trucked back over to Springhill to try to figure out our bill. I saw its breakfast -- very nice -- made me more angry. The man at the front desk was exceedingly rude and when we asked for the bill, said that we weren't in the system because our reservation had been cancelled. So now, we don't know what our bill is, they swiped our credit card at Springhill the night before, and we weren't being treated well.

I don't think I would have quite so angry if I hadn't taken the time to call earlier in the day to confirm my reservation and to inform them that we would be arriving very late. In this day and age, this is inexcusable. We travel a lot -- all over the country -- and will try to avoid any sort of Marriott properties for the time being. I will NOT reward bad behavior.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank nefariousvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Edgewood Aberdeen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 162 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2009

Stayed for one night. Looked like a growing area. Lot of construction and new buildings. This hotel looks pretty new from outside. I got a room on the first floor and it had a plasma/LCD tv. Was a very nice room. Nice front desk staff. No problems. The brand is kind of a mix between a courtyard and a residence inn. I enjoyed it. Very practical.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank ratking23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

In may, 15-22nd , 2008 four of us stayed at springhill suites for a week,to attend a college graduation and sight see the area. We were in a suite that easily fit four adults without running into each other constantly, the little kitchen area, desk area, lounging area with additional tv was like a little apartment away from the 2 queen beds with half wall separation. The bath area was very convenient for us with the shower and toilet in one room and the sink area away from it. made it easy for 3 women and one man to prepare to go anywhere. The breakfast was good with many choices including waffles and sausage and eggs,, and many breads, fruits etc., yogurt, juices, bottled water, coffee,,,all good. The service was superb at the desk and maid service, in fact, they hated to see us leave, like old pals. I certainly would and will stay at springhill suites if the occasion arrises again. Easy walk to cracker barrel and a new little strip almost done, almost on the property. Did not have trouble getting to other places to eat with rental car. The hotel is fairly new and decorated very nicely and user friendly. Thanks to the staff of springhill suites.
Retterath, Schanz and Geisen from North Dakota

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imnotcrabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Nice hotel, it has expanded in the past 2 years and is in a growing area. They are currently building a wine Bar/Restaurant next door to the hotel. Good location one mile off of I 95 and about 30 minutes north of Baltimore.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Celling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

My family stayed at this hotel for one night. We were very impressed with how clean it was. It is a new hotel with modern decor. The hotel's windows open for fresh air. We would definetely stay there again.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank CAB1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

This SpringHill Suites was definitely a good deal, and convenient to the highway. The room was spacious and very nice, with a microwave, small refrigerator, and a pleasant seating area set apart from the bedroom. The free breakfast was somewhat below average compared to other free breakfasts we've had at other Marriotts and Hampton Inns. The halls seemed to be under renovation (at least I hope they are) because the wallpaper in the stairwells was half peeled off and the trim on the corridor walls was partially off, leading to a less-than-attractive appearance. The people were friendly, however, and the room was great!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodchucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Stayed here while my son was at a Cal Rikpen baseball playoff. All the marriott suites are nice that I have been in. The service was friendly and attentive. The rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated.

Everything looked new and the room came with a small fridge. Nice mattress, sheets and plenty of pillows.

There was cigarette smell in the room the entire time even though smoking is not allowed. I was sure where it came from since we were on the third floor.

Breakfast was free and the selection was ok. The dining area was small and tended to be overcrowded. They had a small indoor pool and workout area.

I would stay here again. Great room for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank allmotorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Air
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bel Air East at I-95 Riverside (Aberdeen)
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bel Air
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Edgewood/Aberdeen-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Aberdeen /Edgewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Edgewood Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Edgewood Aberdeen

Address: 1420 Handlir Dr, 1420 Handlir Dr, Bel Air, MD 21015-6600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bel Air
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bel Air
Price Range: $153 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Edgewood Aberdeen 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your SpringHill Suites Edgewood Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Edgewood Aberdeen Hotel Bel Air
Springhill Suites Bel Air
Edgewood Aberdeen Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing