We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place in downton Belair” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savona

Savona
Ranked #2 of 157 Restaurants in Bel Air
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the heart of Bel Air on the corner of Main Street and Pennsylvania Avenue, you won't be able to miss us! Experience the sights of downtown Bel Air's revitalized Main Street while sitting at the windows of our store, all while enjoying a delicious panini and quality glass of wine. Life doesn't get much better than that!
Lakewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place in downton Belair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very good food, very fresh and full of flavor. Limited seating makes it difficult to dine in, so carry out is recommended. The paninis are the best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    23
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“By far, the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The sandwiches at Savona are the best and so reasonably priced! The wine selection is outstanding! Savona has catered a party for me, and the guests were so impressed with the deli meats, cheeses, salads, and desserts! The sunshine logo is so very appropriate because, Maria, the owner brightens everyone's day with her smile and caring attention to all of her customers. Great food...great atmosphere...great service!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Italian sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The staff is so nice and the sandwiches delicious. Great bread, great meat, great cheese. We will pick up sandwiches there for carry out. Great platters for meetings, etc.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank arthart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“FRESH food -- Friendly staff -- Fabulous deli -- Fair prices -- GO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I've enjoyed great food here on 3 of 3 visits, and would go more often if they were open later!

Surprise: They serve the BEST ROAST BEEF I've had in years. So tender, it almost melted in my mouth. And absolutely zero grizzle.

Rare in Bel Air, Savona serves fresh, delicious, high-quality whole food. I've had above-average cheese and excellent veggies here. Extensive menu in a little venue. All the repeat customers (loyal fans) happily strolling to the counter may be overheard in warm, friendly conversation with the owner and/or practically salivating about getting their favorite item(s) again. The atmosphere in this full-service deli is very welcoming.

One evening a gentleman was offering wine-tasting. This vendor was very pleasant to talk with and we liked one of his three offerings very much.

This is *not* a deep-fried, churn-out-the-grease, no-substitutions, processed-food-only joint like most Harford County restaurants. Don't over-think the fact that it's "an Italian place." It's not an American "greasy spoon" with sweaty cooks and kitchen heat pouring into the seating area. It's REAL Italian, the food is REAL GOOD, and the seating area is climate-controlled.

Ambiance is subdued, casual, and positive. Lighting is fine. Restroom is clean.

During the brief wait for your food, you can browse through pictorial books of Italian cuisine or the lovely architecture of Italy. That's if you're not mesmerized by the displays of imported specialty pastas & crackers, nice bottled wine selection, or caught up in some friendly banter...

The super staff will cheerfully customize menu items to suit your taste. Wanna load more fresh veggies on that wrap? Heavy on the _______, but no ______? Whatever you'd like to swap in or out, you can truly have it your way. Many hearty sandwiches are about $8.00.

Their party platters must be yummy...

A few negatives:
- Their tap water tastes horrid and truly needs a filter.
- The few tables are very small, so this place doesn't work for large parties. Singles, pairs, or parties of three are very happy.
- Some empty tables had leftover crumbs every time I was there. Disinfecting tables between patrons needs to become a priority. (This establishment is not dirty overall; in contrast, I felt comfortable on each visit, not creeped out.)
- Closing at 6:30 p.m. or earlier is disappointing, but the staff needs to put their feet up sometime...

That aside, I certainly look forward to my next meal from Savona! Quality fare in a friendly atmosphere...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ms K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrettsville, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The food is authentically Italian--the subs are made with wonderful meat and cheese and the wonderful smells are everywhere here. There is a wine shop and I would recommend a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savona also viewed

 

Been to Savona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing