We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Small Pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pairings Bistro

Pairings Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Pairings Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 157 Restaurants in Bel Air
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $70
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: RT 924
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Small Pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I visited Pairings Bistro for the first time with my wife and three friends. You have to make sure that you have reservations because I would estimate there are only less that 30 seats, with another ~10 at the bar, and if the weather cooperates there are another dozen or so outside (it was raining when we arrived so outside was not an option). The meals are a sort of Mediterranean take on small plates. They offer lots of options for appetizer and desserts all built around what they call seasonal plates. The seasonal plates are small but beautifully presented and quite delicious. Each of the offerings have recommended pairings of wine, but they have many beers too. To make things a more reasonable on cost, you can create your own prix fixe with 3, 4 or 5 courses. If you plan to have an appetizer and a dessert, this is the way to go. The menu is online (http://www.pair)ingsbistro.com/) and you should check it out before you go. Not a good place to take the kids, but a great place to eat and share an evening with friends or family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    36
    20
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best adult dining option in Bel Air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Don't take your kids here. This is a good place for a great meal with a friend or a date. Make reservations, don't expect to be able to just walk in.

Bel Air has lots of dining options, and most of them are corporate chains. This is the exception.

A great bistro, with thoughtful menu options that are creative, fresh, and tasty. Everything is paired with a wine, and you can easily get a buzz here. Be careful if you are driving.

The menu changes, and every time we go it is something new.

This is not a place where they do it your way. They do it their way. Their way is good. If you are the sort of diner who likes to customize an order, you really should go somewhere else.

Amazing food. Best kitchen in Bel Air. Great wine selection.

I would say this is the best place to eat in Bel Air.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I tried them for the 1st time a couple years ago when they hosted a Valentine's Day special at Rockfield Manor. I was so impressed, I had to visit the actual restaurant. I've been back now at least 5 times and everytime has been a delightful experience! The food and service are impeccable. The wines are perfectly paired to the courses and the ambiance is very quaint and intimate. Great place for a romantic dinner or even just a dinner out with friends.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kewiggins2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hidden Secret in Harford County!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have dined there 6 times in the last year and keep going back. The menu always has something new and inventive, and we have never been disappointed in the taste. It is our "go to" place for date night or a special occasion. Getting the wine pairings with the prix fixe menu is the way to go. It's an opportunity to taste new wines and try smaller portions of several items. Pairings is a great place to relax and it's the perfect atmosphere to linger over a delicious meal with good company.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank funseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Pairings is a favorite destination for a really good dinner and a great glass of wine.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poikelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pairings Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Pairings Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing