We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
350
88
30
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
350
88
30
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast buffet tennis courts turn down service service charge outdoor pool ocean front private beach york river haddock donuts get away workout room first floor cliff walk beautiful location new england bathroom door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 490 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although we didn’t stay at the inn, this stop for lunch was fantastic. The restaurant overlooked the York bay and it was possible to see lobster boats come in and depart. There was a patio, but it was raining. Our lunch was delicious from soup to entrees. Beer and wine list, perfect. There was no rush by our server...so we able to enjoy the atmosphere of the inn. Hoping to return soon

Room tip: We didn’t stay at the hotel, but the rooms looked inviting.
Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageNeckInnTeam, Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Richard;

Thank you for choosing the Shearwater Restaurant at the Stage Neck Inn for your lunch. I'm pleased you enjoyed your dining experience and that you've taken the time to share this with us!

The views are breathtaking from anywhere in the Inn and sounds of the ocean are soothing, making any stay comfortable and relaxing.

I hope you'll join us again very soon!

Regards,

Brenda Hembrow
Manager - Stage Neck Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice that everything you need is right on site! Got a couples massage that was excellent! The breakfast was included and outstanding. The service was A+. Dinner options were minimal, so we went elsewhere the other night. Food was great! Not a huge fan of our view overlooking the parking lot, but could not afford the ocean suites. So, we just went down to the ocean. lol. We didn't realize the outdoor pool include beach chairs, etc. Oops. Next time!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jlukefisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageNeckInnTeam, Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review to be shared with other TripAdvisor participants. I realize there are many choices along the coast and am pleased you chose the Stage Neck Inn.

The entire Stage Neck Inn staff work diligently in every area of the Inn to ensure our guests have the best possible experience while with us, whether it be dining, lodging or the the SPA at Stage Neck. I'm happy that we met your expectations and have passed along your comments to the Staff.

I hope you'll join us again in the very near future!

Regards,

Brenda Hembrow
Manager - Stage Neck Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed the oceanfront corner king suite on the first floor. It was amazing. The views were so beautiful. We could sit on our patio and watch the boats passing by. At night it was so relaxing to listen to the waves crashing on the rocks. Even the 2am moon reflecting on the water made a great photo. The bed was soft, just the way I like it. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The lunch/dinner menu was limited. We had the lazy lobster for dinner one evening and we didn't feel like we had the meat of an entire lobster. But what we did have was tasty! Everyone on staff was very nice. We will visit again!

Room tip: I can't imagine staying anywhere other than the oceanfront corner King suite! Amazing!
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jayne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageNeckInnTeam, Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, Jayne, for taking the time to write such a wonderful review to be shared with other TripAdvisor participants.

The entire Stage Neck Inn staff work diligently to ensure our guests have the best possible experience while staying with us. I'm pleased that we met, and hopefully exceeded, your expectations.

There are many choices along the coast and i'm glad you chose the Stage Neck Inn and hope you'll join us again soon!

Regards;

Brenda Hembrow
Manager - Stage Neck Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019 via mobile

We stayed two mid-week nights near the end of August with two children sharing our room.
I would recommend this hotel with very little reservation. It’s a beautiful, quiet & relaxing location, even with a family in tow!

The room was large enough to accommodate all of us, sharing beds. The linens were quite comfortable, everything about the room, beds, bathroom etc was kept very clean with additional nightly turn down service. The included breakfast was a full American buffet, you will not be left hungry! We enjoyed the walkable pool, beach & even the indoor pool facilities. Lunch & drinks poolside were a welcome splurge with friendly service. Towel service is also included, though you need to make up the chairs yourself. Dinner was the only thing not the best at this hotel. Service was somewhat lacking & food choices were limited. Food was well prepared and good but not excellent. We enjoyed the daily lobby cookies & tea/coffee. The roads surrounding the hotel are few and very quiet, even during a busy summer week. Lots of activities to do around and short drive away from the hotel. Busier Ogunquit town was only a 20min drive away if you want something away from York.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank AiyanaAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageNeckInnTeam, Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Alyana;

Thank you for taking the time to give the Stage Neck Inn such a great rating and especially for the lovely comments to be shared with other TripAdvisor participants.

The Stage Neck Inn staff work diligently, in all areas, to ensure our guests have the best possible experience while staying with us as well as visiting us to enjoy our fine cuisine. I'm pleased you enjoyed the breakfast buffet but am disappointed your dining experience in the evening wasn't up to the standards we worked so hard to achieve. I thank you for letting us know about your experience and have passed this along to the Dining Room Manager, who takes all comments very seriously. It is through comments from guests like yourself that we're able to step back and look at our processes, and in this case, entree's and service, and make the appropriate modifications to ensure we meet and hopefully exceed our guests expectations.

I've passed your comments along to the Stage Neck Management team and we look forward to your future visits.

Regards,

Brenda Hembrow
Manager - Stage Neck Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019 via mobile

The Stage Neck Inn has amazing views on the sea with sand beach and lawns to relax. That’s where the value stops. The indoor pool was not usable with cloudy water, closed for half of our stay. ( that’s the second time that’s happened.)
Guest room adequate, but not worth over 545 a night. Shower diverter didn’t work, was reported, and not fixed.
Dining room was good on service, and poor on food prep. Caesar salad was drenched in too much poorly premade dressing and boxed croutons that resembled stones. The crab cake was more breading and was served having been allowed to get cold. Coffee was old having sat too long. Not what you’d expect at this type of place. The topper was when asked for some bread with meal was told it was on the menu at a price.
Breakfast was mediocre. An insect sitting on top of bowl of yogurt on buffet. Hash was warm, not hot, as was the case on all foods that should have been served hot. Scrambled eggs were rubbery and tasteless. All together a poor showing.
Stage Neck inn relies on its location to carry the day and over charged with inferior attention to detail and care. Internet service very weak in the guest room, unable to stay connected.
The extra $2. Per person per day is a small but indicative mindset of the place.
They have a spa with good massage services. We asked about manicure and pedicure bookings and were told their tech was on vacation. ( really - Labor Day week in August at night season?) this place comes touting itself as very high end. It isn’t!
It’s a missed opportunity to create a great resort in an extraordinary location.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank lrbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageNeckInnTeam, Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Thank you for bringing your concerns, regarding your recent stay, to our attention. The entire Stage Neck Inn staff works diligently in every area of the Inn to ensure our guests expectations are not only met, but exceeded. I'm sorry that we fell short and did not meet the high service standards our Inn is known for.

Our housekeeping and maintenance staff are trained to thoroughly inspect each guest room as they are serviced as well as the indoor and outdoor pool, fitness room and other Inn amenities. I appreciate you bringing your concerns to my attention and I will certainly be addressing these with the Stage Neck Inn Management Team.

We continue to change our menus and offer suggestions based on our guest's requests as well as strive to provide efficient and timely service! I've forwarded your comments on to our Executive Chef who will review these with his staff and make modifications as necessary to provide our guests with the best possible dining experience.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope you'll give us another opportunity to live up to your expectations and the high standard Stage Neck Inn is known for. I'd be happy to talk with you directly!
Please feel free to contact me at any time. I sincerely look forward to talking with you.

Regards,

Brenda Hembrow
Manager - Stage Neck Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews