We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but amenities and service are lacking...”
Review of Stage Neck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stage Neck Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Once a year, I try to do a weekend trip with my mom and sisters. This is our "girls getaway." We try to stay at locations where there is a nice spa for some pampering. The Stage Neck heavily advertises it's Spa treatments and packages on it's website, but it was impossible to get any services. I called ahead of our arrival on Saturday, but was told that there was no availability. When we arrived at the hotel, the spa was closed. I continued to pursue the possibility of getting some manicures (something we were all looking forward to), but was told that an individual was not available to provide the service. I was even willing to drive to another spa where the Spa manager was located which was about 20 minutes away. They were also unable to provide the service. Needless to say, we never experienced any of the wonderful spa treatments listed. We were also disappointed by the size of the indoor pool. Even 4 to 5 people would created a crowded situation. There are some positive attributes, however, in that the inn is located in an absolutely beautiful location. It's a great place to walk or just sit on the lawn and watch the ocean. Just hope that the weather is nice as the indoor activities are pretty lame.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTFamily08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2010

I am very dismayed to hear of your disappointment in regards to our spa services, or the lack of availability in treaments you so desired and requested during your recent stay with us. Our spa is, typically, so accommodating and we receive such rave reviews about all of our varied spa treatments. I only wish that you could have experienced them.

Having a small spa, as we do, can certainly have its' disadvantages when last-minute spa treatments are requested. Thus, we have a strict policy when taking room reservations to always mention to our incoming guests about advanced spa reservations. It is advised that this be done days in advance of arrival. I certainly do hope that you had been told this, as well!

I can only hope that you will give us another try in the future, just so we can allow you that pleasurable spa experience you so desired. We appreciate your business, and I do hope that
you enjoyed all the other aspects of the inn. Our sincerest apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Stage Neck Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 404 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2010

My husband and I spent last weekend at the Stage Neck Inn. Outside it was cool and rainy, but as we sat by the fireplace with a cup of coffee and a good book all that bad weather was forgotten. We have only been going to the Stage Neck since 2006, but since then we have stayed there more than a dozen times. The Stage Neck is the perfect place to get away for a few days. The rooms are lovely, the food is excellent and the staff makes you feel like one of the family. The hotel knows that to keep you coming back you have to kick it up a notch while keeping it much the same. They never fail at the Stage Neck.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AReaderofBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2010

We thank you so much for your recent review of our inn. So glad that you enjoyed your stay. Even though the weather was cold and rainy, you made the best of it. Our fireplace is, indeed, a great place to sit next to. Hope to have you as guests again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

wanted to "escape"for an overnight. chose the Stageneck Inn for its proximity to Boston. The package seemed enticing- and it was. The room by the ocean, great 4course meal and breakfast,cleanliness and class- with the most warm, congenial and accomodating staff-Dawn-at the front desk, Peter- Maitre'd and Chris-waitstaff. A little bit of heaven all 'round- just what the doctor ordered! Thank you Stageneck- everything and more than we anticipated..

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lordhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2010

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for staying at the inn, and we are glad that you enjoyed everything. I will pass on your kind words to my staff. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Was planning a short two day trip. Originally found the Stage Neck Inn on the internet but before making the reservation drove to Maine to see what else was available. Our first stop was at the Stage Neck. From here we never looked anywhere else. The Inn is located off the beaten path at the end of a long drive over looking the ocean. Was actually very beautiful.. Upon going into the lobby there is a large sitting room with a fire place and windows over looking the ocean. Very quant, serving tea and cookies. The place this time of year was virtually empty. Was able to make a reservation for the next day for a message and spa treatment right at the Inn. There is a small indoor pool and hot tub, suana, and excercise room. The Inn offfers meal plans and other packages. We only purchased the plan which included the breakfast, which was nice. The rooms are clean and have about everything you need. Iron, ironing board, blow drier, refrig, in room safety box, bathrobes, etc. The bath and shower are only standard but this didnt withdraw from how nice the stay was. The tip for everything is included which is a turn off, but convienent because you don't have to worry about anything. Would and plan to go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Af23772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2010

Thank you so very much for your review of our inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and do hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

My husband had a quick business appointment in Southern Maine so we decided to combine that with a little getaway by the ocean. I researched several oceanfront properties here on tripadvisor and in the end selected the Stage Neck Inn. I based it on the positive reviews I found here and I am glad we found it. We really liked this Inn and had a fun relaxing three nights there. Since all the oceanfront rooms were already booked we selected a Harborview room and were quite pleased with it. In fact these roooms are closer to the water and look out to see the river meet the ocean! The views here are stupendous! It was so Maine to me hearing the waves crash against the rocks 24/7!! Our room was well decorated and in excellent condition. We had a good size patio with chairs and a table. Of course during this time of year we only walked out on it on occasion. The staff here are well trained clearly and most accomodating. They seem to want to do it right and go that step beyond. We had a B&B rate and the morning buffet is quite good and abundant. Of course having a good breakfast in the beautiful dining room looking out to sea can't be beat. In the afternoons they serve cookies, coffee and tea by the roaring fireplace-perfect for a February stay! It is also a good way to get to meet other guests. Just about everyone we met were repeat customers many years over-which in itself says something. The food at dinner is also quite good and varied. My husband particularly enjoyed the Thai mussle appetizer and I had a rack of lamb to die for -perfectly cooked and presented. They do offer a package that includes a four course dinner. This proved to be too much food for us-but if you enjoy fine dining, multiple courses and a long unrushed meal I would recommend it. There is just something special about this Inn-warm, comfortable and most hospitable-that does set it apart from the rest. Clearly we highly recommend the Stage Neck Inn and we plan to return again and again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Stayed here on one of the off season promos ($99 lower beach side) and had an enjoyable time. Room did not feature view of ocean but some nice views from the large common room with fireplace off lobby, fire going all day, tea-coffee and cookies served in the afternoon. Took some nice walks on the beach in jackets, ate at the hotel restaurant which was just so-so.
Breakfast (included) in the morning was very good. Overall a nice stay

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolsenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Service and food impeccable! Accomodations OK- First impression was that the hotel is very nice but definitely could be updated in the lobby etc. Roons were much nicer than I expected from my first impressions walking in. Beautiful views of the harbour!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgreenRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2009

Thank you for your review of our inn. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
767 reviews
17.5 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
3.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,036 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Neck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Neck Inn

Address: 8 Stage Neck Road, Route 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range: $219 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stage Neck Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stage Neck Inn is situated on a peninsula, surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, The York River, and York Harbor. One of only 13 properties in the country to have consistently earned AAA’s Four Diamond Award since 1976, there are extensive amenities for the size of the resort … indoor and outdoor pools, a beach, clay tennis courts, 18-hole golf, a day spa, two restaurants, lounge, and deluxe guest rooms with private baths and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stage Neck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Neck Hotel York Harbor
Inn Maine Neck Stage York
Stage Neck Inn York Harbor, Maine
Stage Neck York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing