We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to come home”
Review of Stage Neck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stage Neck Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had been away for a few years even though we have been visiting The Stage Neck for thirty years. It is as good as ever when we visited the first week in August. The setting for the hotel right on the Atlantic Ocean and the York River in York Harbor, Maine is just beautiful. On the grounds by the town beach, is a fresh water pool and two clay tennis courts; there are many golf courses in the area as well. 15 minutes north of Portsmouth, New Hampshire and 45 minutes south of Portland. The dinning room provides three meals a day as well as cocktails and meals can be had in the bar. Breakfast buffet is included in the price of the room. Just a wonderful summer resort (understand the fall season is just as beautiful).

Room Tip: rooms on the ocean side, York River, do not look over the parking lot. corner rooms tend to be bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

So happy to read your review of the inn and the fact that you did come back and stay with us after having been gone for a few years! We thank you for your patronage.

As for the fall season, it is just as beautiful as the summer season.

Look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 419 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014

Our weekend at the Stage Neck Inn was absolutely wonderful. Beautiful accommodations, great service, and a spectacular view. I would recommend this resort for couples and families. Staff are willing to provide special requests and they make you feel very special. If you have previously been there they warmly welcome you back. Wonderful with family members with special needs.

Room Tip: Although the views facing the ocean are priced a little higher it is worth the extra expense. Depend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of the inn. So glad that you enjoyed everything. It is, for sure, a great place to bring families. There is something for everybody.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My family and I had two rooms for four nights over a long weekend starting Friday 8/8/14!

Where to start?! WOW, WOW, WOW!

The property is beautiful. Amazing views! The flowers out front are lovingly maintained too!

The rooms are updated, modern and very clean.

Indoor pool and outdoor pool are awesome and clean too.

The lawn area outside the dining room has gorgeous views of the open ocean and a river into the harbor. A wonderful place to sit and relax with a book!

Our rooms were on the first floor that had decks that overlooked beautiful flowers and had a privacy fence so we could sit out and relax. (if i ever get to return would want to try for ocean front!)

The daily (included!) breakfast buffet was EXCELLENT! All four of us were happy with the selection! (when can all four agree?! We agreed on that!) The hostesses and servers at breakfast were all wonderful and pleasant!

Tracey in housekeeping was wonderful too. She made sure to leave us anything we needed!

My Mom kept remarking how helpful and kind everyone was that worked there!

From making the reservations over the phone to check out this morning everything was perfect!

Thank you Stage Neck Inn for a happy stay!

K.Gould

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrappingmytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for staying with us this summer. So happy to know that you enjoyed the property and all that it has to offer.

The flower beds this year have sure been beautiful. I will be mention this to the owner's wife who is totally responsible for the lovely array of gardens.

We look forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This place is amazing.We had to choose another hotel since the Anchorage Inn on Long Sands was full.Don't get me wrong this place isn't by far a second choice destination at all...I think it's a first choice for now on.The staff were friendly and professional the wait staff at the restaurant were also friendly.
The rooms were comfortable and had flat screen TV's and yes they have a coffee maker in the room.The view was of the parking lot but the views on the property are AMAZING! There are two pools,one indoor and one outdoor near tennis courts also on the property.There is a gym and you can order a massage for yourself too.Breakfast buffet included too,not just coffee or doughnuts...a full spread.
It has a beach near by and several sunning areas on property with great views of York Harbor.Long Sands and Short Sands are a short drive away to downtown York.
I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Stage Neck Inn to anyone staying up in York.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

So happy to know that you had a great time at our resort. It seems that you experienced all that the inn has to offer. Thank you also for recognizing our staff. They are a friendly bunch and we all work as a team, for sure!

Glad that we will be your first choice from now on. Thanks for highly recommending us.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Wanting to get away for three nights to the Maine coast, without a long drive from Boston, the York area seemed perfect, both from prior memories and recommendations of friends. While there are many nice places to stay in York and the southern Maine coast, the Stage Neck Inn seemed to shine in all of its reviews on Tripadvisor and similar sites. So I figured it would be worth a try.....

Boy was that the right decision...... I just came back today from three wonderful days there- this place hit all the right marks!

The location is great- on a small rocky peninsula (once an island) at the entrance to York Harbor, with beautiful views of the Atlantic, the river, and the mansions lining the coast in the York Harbor area. There is a nice beach also right next to the Inn, and an oudoor pool, indoor pool, etc.- but for me, what I craved, and got, was a relaxing place to just soak up the views with a good book, or take a quiet walk along the nearby Cliff Walk with its views. Stage Neck has very comfortable accomodations with nice amenities, and I splurged for what will now be my favorite room at the Inn- Room 206, which is a King Corner suite- you have a beautiful view from within, but also walk right out onto a little patio area right next to the grassy lawn on the top of a small cliff, an area nicely supplied with Adirondack chairs and such. But while the ocean front rooms have the best views, none of the rooms has a "bad view"- many of the rooms face the river, which is also scenic, and even the so-called beachfront rooms face the beach and part of the harbor across a well-landscaped parking lot.

And this spot really is a great to watch nature go by- as you'll see in a few pictures I've attached, in our 3 days we got to see a dramatic storm roll through, a rainbow over the ocean, and beautiful sunrises (or sunsets in the other direction over the harbor).

As you may guess, I definitely plan to come back here in the future- but its not just all of the above which is bringing me back- it is the fantastic staff that I encountered throughout my stay. And what I mean by fantastic is a staff that really goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful, all the while doing their job well- everyone from the front desk staff and the reservation staff all the way down to the dining and housekeeping staff. People just seemed down to earth and eager to be helpful.

So needless to say, the Stage Neck will be seeing more of me in the future........

Room Tip: Ocean front for the best views- 2nd floor for direct grounds acess, or 3rd floor if you prefer a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OakSquareMayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for staying at the inn recently and thank you for your lovely review! The corner ocean front room is a favorite for many. So happy that you got the chance to stay in that room. You are right though, there are other wonderful rooms overlooking various areas of the harbor.

Thank you also for posting some great pictures and for recognizing our super staff members.

We look forward to your return.

Best Regard,
Phoebe Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I needed to take a quick trip to York, Maine, for a family event and decided to stay overnight at the Stage Neck Inn. The view from our room was very nice, overlooking the ocean. We checked in around 7:00 p,m and had dinner in their restaurant. My husband had the appetizer Mussels and I had a Caesar Salad, and then we both had the Sole with White Wine Caper sauce. It was excellent! Their breakfast buffet was also very good, with a wide selections, of eggs, yogurt, muffins, fruit, etc.

If we head back to York, we will definitely stay at the Stage Neck Inn.

Jo Berman

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you so much for staying at this inn this summer. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we sincerely thank you for your lovely review of the inn.

We are quite happy to hear that you enjoyed both a lovely dinner upon your arrival, along with enjoying our wonderful complimentary breakfast buffet the next day. As for the dinner items you chose, all our very popular and well received.

We so look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed for only 1 night since it is quite expensive. I definitely wanted an oceanfront room and we paid for it which earned a very good, rather than excellent. But, the room was spacious and the view extraordinary. King size, comfy bed, clean bathroom, nice patio which led to the the lawn. I'm glad we stayed here once but wouldn't again because of the cost.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cece L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for staying at the inn recently. We are happy that you enjoyed the ocean front guest room and all it has to offer. The summer time months are certainly our high season. We do, however, offer other water view rooms on the harbor side of the inn, as well as limited water view rooms on our beach side for a lesser price.

We would very much like to have you as a guest again in the future. Please view our Facebook page for specials during the off-season time of the year.

Thank you again for staying.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
814 reviews
3.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
389 reviews
6.6 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,069 reviews
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
6.9 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Neck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Neck Inn

Address: 8 Stage Neck Road, Route 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range: $165 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stage Neck Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stage Neck Inn is situated on a peninsula, surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, The York River, and York Harbor. One of only 13 properties in the country to have consistently earned AAA’s Four Diamond Award since 1976, there are extensive amenities for the size of the resort … indoor and outdoor pools, a beach, clay tennis courts, 18-hole golf, a day spa, two restaurants, lounge, and deluxe guest rooms with private baths and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Stage Neck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Neck Hotel York Harbor
Inn Maine Neck Stage York
Stage Neck Inn York Harbor, Maine
Stage Neck York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing