We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect one night getaway”
Review of Stage Neck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stage Neck Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect one night getaway”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Last minute overnight weekend visit to the Stage Neck Inn. Hadn't been there since 2002, and it was even nicer than I remembered. It was a cold February Saturday, but we had a beautiful harbor view from our room. Still great to be right on the Atlantic, even in the winter! Entire staff was very friendly and welcoming. Room was clean and pretty, and the bed was comfy.
We had drinks at the bar, and then dinner in the dining room. Seafood dishes were absolutely delicious!
Breakfast buffet on Sunday morning was yummy as well. Surprised at all the fresh fruits layed out. Great experience overall, I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean/harbor view if you can. It's worth it... eat there as well, the food is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tag1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the inn. We are glad that you made a last minute decision to return, especially since you had not been at the inn since 2002. Over the years, we continually make upgrades to the public areas and the guest rooms, not to mention we have added the spa and re-designed the indoor pool.

Our seafood is such a specialty. Glad that you enjoyed the meals. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    80
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
119
190
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tuftonboro, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This has it all, great views, very nice clean rooms ans a wonderful staff. This was our first visit and we will be back. The resturant has some beautiful views, the menu has alot to offer and the food is outstanding. Visit the bar ahead of time the bartender makes a great drink and can give you a lot of insight to the surronding area. The entire staff is friendly and helpful.. Take time for breakfast before you leave, you willnot be disappointed.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views, all rooms are clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotdognancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Yes, the views from every window at the inn are, indeed, outstanding. We all never get tired of looking out the windows, for everywhere you see, there is either the ocean, the beach or the harbor. Also, we are glad that you enjoyed all the food offerings. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the staff.

Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit.

Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

You can't beat the view...the staff is outstanding...and the food is incredible...My husband and I try to visit the Stage Neck at least 3-4 times during the year...it is just such a relaxing place to visit...the beautiful foyer with the fireplace and a good book how can you resist...I highly recommend this hotel.. Melanie at the bar is great along with several others who have been there for a long time so you know the owners treat their staff outstanding...I can't wait to get back there...

Room Tip: I like the corner rooms which seem to be a little larger...but really most rooms are great...we spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we thank you for visiting so many times throughout the year!! It is such a relaxing place, and thanks for mentioning the wonderful front foyer with the large fireplace. It is times like now in the winter that one can feel quite toasty and comfortable up there.

We are also pleased that you enjoyed our Maine hospitality. We certainly do have quite a few staff members who have been with us for some time now, and that is what makes the inn, for sure.

We thank you for your favorable feedback, and we look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed here on more than one occasion and in different seasons. The rooms are spotless, the staff very welcoming and if you love the sounds and beauty of the ocean this is definitely the place to try. The spa and the massage therapists were wonderful. The buffet breakfasts were outstanding and dinner was quiet and relaxing. If you go in the summer, besides the beach and shopping you should definitely take in a show at the Ogunquit Playhouse. It will be a trip to remember for sure!

Room Tip: One side of the hotel views the parking lot, harbor and beach area; very pretty and more activity th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at the inn again. We appreciate your patronage and thank you also for your nice review. So glad that you enjoyed all the amenities. The spa therapists appreciate your kind mention of them, as well. We receive always such great comments about the spa and the staff there. Thank you for commenting.

Whatever the season, there is something for everyone. We look forward to your return!

Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is very welcoming from the start and has a superb location on the coast. The rooms were comfortable and spacious and we had a good view of the harbour. The restaurant was fantastic - delicious food and very courteous and helpful staff. The bar and restaurant do close quite early though. We'd definitely go back if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the inn and thank you for your nice review. The harbor view rooms are a favorite for many. It is a real special treat to be able to see the entrance to the harbor and see the boats coming in and out of the harbor.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again in the near future.

Phoebe Apgar-Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Arrived early in a raging storm. Room service Ruben and fries were outstanding. Pool and hot tub were spotless clean. Nice room (327) looked over the entrance to York Harbor. Breakfast the next morning was outstanding and they very graciously kept the buffet open about 30 minutes extra because we had some friends joining us.

I absolutely would return. We did not try the spa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of the inn. So glad that you enjoyed everything while you were here during your recent visit with us. Next time you will have to try the spa. I am positive that you will find both the services and the staff there just as nice! We look forward to your return.

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

You don't need the swimming pool or warm summer days to enjoy this wonderful inn off season.
We just returned from enjoying the mid-week special package here. Four course dinners with lobster and oysters in a beautiful ocean setting, visits to the Kittery Outlets for Christmas shopping, and visits to the Nubble Lighthouse for a photo for our Christmas card. With an extra day, a visit to Portland for shopping and the Portland Museum of Art or Portsmouth.
Sit by the fire and watch the waves break over the rocks next to the decorated Christmas tree.
It doesn't matter what the weather! And...wonderful breakfasts all included in the package as you watch the ocean and a changing sky with the lobster boats going out for their catch.

Room Tip: First come, first serve for rooms directly on the ocean - and no extra charge if you are off=season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Many thanks for visiting the Stage Neck Inn during our off-season. You are right, whatever the season, the inn offers something very special. The mid-week package is really such a wonderful and popular package. One can't beat the offerings of food at both dinner and breakfast.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
741 reviews
3.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
366 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
6.9 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
454 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Neck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Neck Inn

Property: Stage Neck Inn
Address: 8 Stage Neck Road, Route 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stage Neck Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stage Neck Inn is situated on a peninsula, surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, The York River, and York Harbor. One of only 13 properties in the country to have consistently earned AAA’s Four Diamond Award since 1976, there are extensive amenities for the size of the resort … indoor and outdoor pools, a beach, clay tennis courts, 18-hole golf, a day spa, two restaurants, lounge, and deluxe guest rooms with private baths and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stage Neck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Neck Hotel York Harbor
Inn Maine Neck Stage York
Stage Neck Inn York Harbor, Maine
Stage Neck York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing