We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rate one night visit.”
Review of Stage Neck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stage Neck Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top rate one night visit.”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Arrived early in a raging storm. Room service Ruben and fries were outstanding. Pool and hot tub were spotless clean. Nice room (327) looked over the entrance to York Harbor. Breakfast the next morning was outstanding and they very graciously kept the buffet open about 30 minutes extra because we had some friends joining us.

I absolutely would return. We did not try the spa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of the inn. So glad that you enjoyed everything while you were here during your recent visit with us. Next time you will have to try the spa. I am positive that you will find both the services and the staff there just as nice! We look forward to your return.

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    81
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
123
191
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

You don't need the swimming pool or warm summer days to enjoy this wonderful inn off season.
We just returned from enjoying the mid-week special package here. Four course dinners with lobster and oysters in a beautiful ocean setting, visits to the Kittery Outlets for Christmas shopping, and visits to the Nubble Lighthouse for a photo for our Christmas card. With an extra day, a visit to Portland for shopping and the Portland Museum of Art or Portsmouth.
Sit by the fire and watch the waves break over the rocks next to the decorated Christmas tree.
It doesn't matter what the weather! And...wonderful breakfasts all included in the package as you watch the ocean and a changing sky with the lobster boats going out for their catch.

Room Tip: First come, first serve for rooms directly on the ocean - and no extra charge if you are off=season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Many thanks for visiting the Stage Neck Inn during our off-season. You are right, whatever the season, the inn offers something very special. The mid-week package is really such a wonderful and popular package. One can't beat the offerings of food at both dinner and breakfast.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed at Stage neck Inn several times over the last 10 years; and every time we return, it's a special experience. The location is breath taking, especially during an ocean storm, the facility is imaculate, the food is excellent, and the staff very accomodating. We arrived mid week on a cold November day. Our ocean front room overlooked storm driven waves that pounded on the rocks right below our room. There was a roaring fire in the large lobby fireplace where we sat and enjoyed their freshly made chocolate chip cookies and hot cider. It was nice to see Mark Foster, Stage Neck's owner, and chat with him about the property. Mark is a consumate professional who is dedicated to putting out a quality product every day. He does not compromise and it shows. If it's a relaxing experience in a beautiful location that you're looking for, head to Stage Neck Inn. We will continue to do so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit. It is nice to know that you have stayed with us many times over the years. We really do appreciate your patronage. We also appreciate all your great feedback. As for the owner of the inn, he is definitely dedicated to providing a quality product. With the constant upgrades and the fact that he keeps improving the accommodations, etc. it is no doubt that we have become a popular destination. Of course, the lovely location of the inn and the views speak for themselves.

I am glad that you will come back and visit again in the future. Thanks again for your kinid words.

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

With a view of the Atlantic Ocean on the East, and lobster boats a short distance away on the York River view to the South, the inn enjoys the absolute Best Location. And it is also as hospitable a getaway as can be found anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downtownathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your review of the inn. So glad that you enjoyed the hospitatlity. We pride ourselves in providing the best in Maine hospitality, and we so enjoy knowing that we made your vacation memorable. Here's hoping to have you as guests again in the near future.

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

When you arrive at Stage Neck Inn the desk personnel is friendly and helpful. Our oceanview room was spacious and clean. There is a charming common area where you may have hot beverages, a cookie in the afternoon and lively conversation with other guests. There are two restaurants served by the same kitchen. Harbor Porches is provides an ocean view while the Sandpiper Grille is a cove view. Delightful surroundings along with most helpful and gracious staff in dining room and bar. Food was delicious for all meals. Great hot breakfast and very dinner menu. They have a plan that includes dinner which is a good buy. No refrigerator in room. Otherwise a wonderful first experience. We hope to visit again. They have many repeat clients. I can see why.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mothermarie725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your review of the inn. The ocean view rooms are, indeed, lovely. So happy that you enjoyed the food and the staff. As for a refrigerator, we do have one in all the closets of each guest room. Unfortunately, you must have missed seeing it.

We hope that you will return in the future. Thank you so much for staying with us!

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Stage Neck Inn is the ultimate Maine vacation/weekend getaway spot. The view from our oceanfront room was breathtaking. Only about 20' from the handrail and the beautiful rocky shoreline. Phoebe (the General Manager) and all of the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We ate several meals there and all of them were excellent. The central meeting/fireplace area was a spot to have coffee/tea along with cookies in the afternoon. It became a very cozy place with the fire going in the evening to enjoy an after dinner drink. We saw a lot of people enjoying the indoor pool and spa also.

They give you 2 half price drink tickets for every night that you are staying to use at the Sand Piper Bar. It is a really nice place to get to meet the friendly bartenders and the other guests.

It was our best vacation ever. We will definitely be back next year!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront and Harbor View rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARO50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback! So glad that you enjoyed all that the Stage Neck Inn has to offer. Our new renovated indoor pool has sure been such a wonderful amenity for our guests, and our spa is very popular, as well.

It is so "heart warming" to know that your stay with us was your best vacation every!! We look forward to your return next year!

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived in a rainstorm and were so glad to find how welcoming this place was. Nice room, with everything you want plus a great view over the bay. Beautifully quiet with the sea lapping against the shore. The food was excellent and the staff were really friendly, with Jason in the morning a real eccentric superstar. I can see why they get regulars coming back. Great old fashioned service, like newspapers outside in the morning, and what a New England hotel should be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sargonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
757 reviews
17.5 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
8.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
373 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
533 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Neck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Neck Inn

Property: Stage Neck Inn
Address: 8 Stage Neck Road, Route 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stage Neck Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stage Neck Inn is situated on a peninsula, surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, The York River, and York Harbor. One of only 13 properties in the country to have consistently earned AAA’s Four Diamond Award since 1976, there are extensive amenities for the size of the resort … indoor and outdoor pools, a beach, clay tennis courts, 18-hole golf, a day spa, two restaurants, lounge, and deluxe guest rooms with private baths and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stage Neck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Neck Hotel York Harbor
Inn Maine Neck Stage York
Stage Neck Inn York Harbor, Maine
Stage Neck York Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing