We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Charming”
Review of York Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
York Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

The Maine beaches in August can be so populated with tourists that they're aren't even places tp park in order to visit a towm. Not so in York. This is a wonderful place to stay. My wie and I stayed here for two nights a few weeks ago at the Harbor Inn House. Spacious and cozy. An addition of a small refridgerator would be the only improvement I could think of. Just steps away from a gorgeous park overlooking the Atlantic, complete with a cliff walk. Get spoiled here! The resatauarant and bar are both excellent as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fahren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 805 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2014

Was struggling to find pet friendly coastal place to stay for our visit to Maine August 2014. Stumbled upon the Harbor Crest Inn and called to book. Staff was incredibly friendly. Our room was wonderful. Even had it's own covered porch! The inn is beautiful and large. Breakfast was fantastic and had a large selection of home made pastries, yogurts, fruit, breads and more. The Chapman Cottage next door has very good food. Harbor Crest Inn does not have a restaurant. I highly recommend this inn. We will be returning next summer and won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Best room is by far 505. Has it's own covered porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank suzertte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Really great views across the bay and only a minute or two to the beach through the park opposite

Food quality is excellent and a full continental breakfast is offered.

Hotel is split into 3/4 different buildings but all appears to be well laid out and reasonably easy to find your way around

Rooms, certainly the one we had, are spacious and the bathrooms of an excellent standard.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a break by the sea in a beautiful location in southern Maine.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank berkstripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We were visiting York, Maine on 26th just for one night, stayed at York Harbor Inn, room was clean and comfortable. This inn is one of the converted from older home, it feels dated back to 20-30 years so do not look for one of the five star hotel environment . Staff was friendly during the breakfast time. Overall we were happy with it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cisnorth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Booked at the last minute and we scored here. About $200 bucks for the night, a fantastic dinner in the main building and a very well put together room. The breakfast room off our hotel room was a perfect way to choose our next stop.

From the front desk to the server for dinner, all were very enjoyable and interesting folks.

Room Tip: many choices from quiet to ocean front. Give them a call even if the web site says they are booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DFrydenlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed at the inn and was expecting an incredible meal but was very disappointed. The wait staff was very gracious and apologetic but it should never have happened. Our room was just big enough with a beautiful view of the ocean and our bathroom had a large tub with jacuzzi and heated tile floors. What this place lacks is a place to eat outside. It was a beautiful day and we went across the street for lunch because they had a beautiful screened in dining area right on the ocean. Also, for the money we spent I expected a better breakfast and fresh muffins not frozen. Overall we enjoyed our stay but will plan to eat somewhere else if we stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueskyday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Guest Relations Manager at York Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the York Harbor Inn and for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal. Although I am unclear of the circumstances, I am happy to hear that the wait staff was able to assist.
We are also happy to know that you enjoyed your accommodations and although we do not offer outdoor seating for luncheon, our Ship's Cellar Pub offers a nautical decor and a full menu. In addition, we do offer outdoor porch seating in our Tavern at Chapman Cottage (one half mile from the Main Inn), which looks over a beautiful rolling green lawn. There we offer an amazing array of small plate items, salads and full entrees beginning at 4:00pm.
Our Continental Plus Breakfast offers Coffee Cake, Muffins and Pastries, all made in house and not frozen. We also offer house made Granola, Honey harvested by our Chef from his on site beehives.
We truly hope you will be able to visit with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

First, I have to mention that the general look and ambiance of the inn are very nice, this is a charming place, well maintained, inside and outside. Now, the problem we had is that they gave us a room with a double sized bed, I'm 6 foot tall so the bed was way to small, then I also asked for a mini -fridge upon reservation, but there were no fridge in the room when we arrived. After checking inn we asked for one and never got it. Then, even worse, we might have been in the only room like that but we didn't have A/C. We were in ROOM 27, and since we didn't have A/C we had to leave the windows open at night, which could have been nice, but right below was a sort of backyard and the kitchen, so there was A LOT OF NOISE all night long, doors slamming incessantly and some freak cutting wood or something like that. In fact, even if the staff was friendly on site, we would have appreciated to be guided when we made the reservation, but the guy didn't ask for anything while he should've explained all the choices available. So if you plan to go, you have to ask many questions when you call for reservation, ask for a queen sized bed, ask for A/C, ask for everything you might need and request a copy of that in your email as a proof, this way you are probably get what you asked and paid for!

There is a small park and a beach in front of the inn, it really is awesome and not too crowded. If you are looking for a quiet location, as we were, it is perfect. So, as the title says, I would go back, BUT...! I now know that I have to ask precisely for all the things I want.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yanick_Blain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Guest Relations Manager at York Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the York Harbor Inn and for taking the time to inform us of your experience. We do apologize for any inconvenience you had experienced during your stay as we always wish to exceed the expectations of our guests.
As a Country Inn with 62 guest rooms, we do offer a variety of lodging options, from our more modest Country Inn guest rooms up to Luxury Guest Rooms, many with Jacuzzi Tubs, King Bed and water views.
The style of guest room you had during your visit was a Country Inn guest room in our Main Inn. Some of these guest rooms do run on the smaller side. We do make every effort to describe the varied guest rooms and ultimately find the one that matches our guests needs. Room 27 does have a queen bed and an air-conditioning unit on the wall which is part of the entire building system for heating and cooling. We will check but have had no complaints about the operation of the A/C unit in that room.
We would like to apologize that there was not a refrigerator in your guest room per your request. We will absolutely follow up on this with our desk personnel.
In addition, your room was located nearer to the Kitchen. It is an active kitchen, and our staff does recognize that there are guest rooms in the immediate area. We will be sure to remind them to take extra care when performing potentially loud kitchen activities.
We truly appreciate your thoughtful observations and we do hope that you will consider joining us again soon. Please do feel free to contact me at any point to discuss this experience. pgagnon@yorkharborinn.com or 207-363-5119 x292

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
416 reviews
3.3 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
385 reviews
8 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
7.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Harbor Inn

Address: 480 York Street, P.O. Box 573, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range: $128 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — York Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Historic Oceanfront Inn has been featured on the Travel Channels "Great Country Inns". Award winning gourmet ocean view dining plus casual fireplaced Ship's Cellar Pub. Outdoor hot tub open year round. Many rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi spa tubs, decks and ocean vistas. Free Wireless Internet Access. Exquisitely decorated, fine dining, the perfect place to stay in Southern Maine. Complete conference facilities. One hour north of Boston. Near beaches, golf & shopping. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your York Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Harbor Hotel York Harbor
York Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing