We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven.... I'm in heaven”
Review of York Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
York Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

The following things were perfectly lovely about our one night stay at the York Harbor Inn:

Bed and sheets
Chairs
Balcony
Bathroom
Staff
Coffee
Muffins
Pastries
Fruit
Dining room
Beer
Cocktails
Lobster
Ravioli
Ship Cellar Pub
Beach
Sand
Parking
Views

I truly cannot say that anything we had or did was below perfection! Every detail was covered. Every. Single. One. Thank you so much to the staff for making our first trip to Maine so wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for York Harbor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 767 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were very excited looking forward to our stay at the Inn. When we finally arrived after sitting in 4 hours of traffic, the very friendly and helpful staff told us we had been upgraded. The room was not in the main building but only a few steps away. We first had dinner in dining room with a spectacular view, then checked into our room. We were pretty surprised to find the room was not as described, very old and some what run down, the heat was broken and not able to turn off, so my husband and I pretty much sweat the entire night even with the windows open. The front desk staff had offered to move us but we were so tired we said we would stick it out. That was a bad decision on our part. The next morning the same front desk staff was on and told us they had taken the room charge of our bill. It is a lovely old Inn in need of some much needed repairs, but the value does not match up to the cost of the rooms

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Guest Relations Manager at York Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

On Behalf of Our Owner and Innkeeper, Garry Dominguez:

Thank you so very much for your recent visit to the York Harbor Inn and we truly appreciate your taking the time to inform us of your experience. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your lodging experience with us, and we thank you for your kind words regarding your dining experience.

The inn offers a variety of guest rooms ranging from our more modest in size and price up to Luxury guest rooms, many with King Bed, Water views and Jacuzzi Tubs. Most all of our guest rooms have been recently renovated or redecorated with new décor and updates. We have current plans to continue with the remaining few yet to be done.

We were glad to upgrade you to a luxury room. The timing of your visit coincided with the only “heat wave” of the early season- ( late April, early May, reaching over 70 degrees for a day and a half). The air conditioning system in this Luxury Guest Building was still programmed for heat mode, and given the 70 degree day lasted only 12 hours, the building never had a chance to “catch up” so to speak, to the surprise short lived heat wave. We also were happy to offer another room in another building, as well as a fan for your room since you chose to stay rather than move rooms. As a side note, these guest rooms do face the Harbor and offer a wonderful breeze to cool down the rooms.

I’d like to emphasize that in the spirit of our philosophy of 100 percent customer satisfaction, we were happy to offer a full refund to you at check-out in light of the unique circumstances of your visit.

I look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in this room and were appalled that they would even rent out this room, especially since the Inn had very few guests. Besides being small and dreary, the walls and ceilings were cracked and there were water stains on the wall and ceiling. The bathroom was very dated with a tiny vanity tucked in the corner and a corroded old light fixture. We left a comment card and held off writing this review in the hopes management would get back to us to say the room is due for refurbishment. But, we never heard back. Upon check out we were not asked how our stay was, which makes me think they were afraid to ask.
We ate at the Pub one night and while the atmosphere was nice, our dishes were not as described.

Room Tip: Do not recommend Room 36!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pfmMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Guest Relations Manager at York Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the York Harbor Inn and for taking the time to inform us of your experience. We do apologize for any inconvenience you had experienced during your stay as we always wish to exceed the expectations of our guests.

As a Country Inn with 62 guest rooms, we do offer a variety of lodging options, from our more modest rooms up to Luxury Guest Rooms, many with Jacuzzi Tubs, King Bed and water views. Indeed, it would have been our pleasure to relocate your guest room, had we known of your displeasure.

This Spring we have undergone a major renovation of a number of our guest rooms, including the room mentioned in this review (Room 36). We have enhanced our rooms with new décor and redesigned them to create a more comfortable and fresh look and feel.
To be specific, this particular guest room has been completely redecorated with a new custom upholstered headboard, the replacement of the Queen Bed with a King Bed, fresh paint, new window treatments, a new desk and new upholstered furniture.

We truly wish this renovation could have taken place prior to your visit.

We are fortunate to have received considerable positive comments from our guests in the recent months with regard to these updates and changes and we truly hope you will have the opportunity to visit with us again and be able to see the changes for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked this Inn as a birthday gift to my husband. We stayed at a different house next to main Inn. It was beautiful and all staff were very friendly. We ate in main restaurant and in the bar. Food was awesome at both locations. Our room with a fireplace was cozy and the porch looking at the ocean was a perfect relaxing spot. We had never been to Maine before and this is a perfect location as you can ride up the coast and see the beach towns and resorts then come back to a quiet place.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NYtater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Guest Relations Manager at York Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the York Harbor Inn and for taking the time to let us know of your positive experience during your stay! We truly look forward to having you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed in the main inn. We had an ocean front room with a balcony. The view was wonderful. The room only had a queen bed which was fitted under slanted ceilings. Both made it somewhat uncomfortable for us. It is an older inn so we should have expected that but the room was also on the small side. We discovered the next morning that the sofa was a pull out. The second night my husband took that and I got the bed. So much for our romantic getaway! There was a lovely gas fireplace in the room along with two comfortable upholstered chairs. All the staff was very accomodating. The restaurant was excellent and had a wonderful selection of meals. The servers were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceeclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My partner and I had booked a room here, then somewhat later decided to get married while we were in that area. We had never been there before, and didn't know what to expect. I can honestly say that the service, food, amenities and location were top-notch. The staff was very friendly (this also includes gay-friendly) and bent over backwards to please. There are ocean views from the dining room and pub (downstairs, you must see it) and the location was so nice that we had our ceremony nearby and took the 5 guests to lunch in the pub afterward. The pub has been completely outfitted with beautiful wood cabinetry and accents, and there is a cozy fireplace at one end. I would heartily recommend the historic York Harbor Inn whether you are getting married, or just vacationing.

Room Tip: Our room was purchased through Travelzoo and turned out to be on the small side; however, we loved t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Guest Relations Manager at York Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you so much for your visit to the York Harbor Inn and congratulations on your Wedding! It was such a pleasure to have you visit with us and for us to share in your most special day. We truly look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Traveling from Camden Maine to Boston. However we were tired and decided to stay in York Harbor. A couple we met recommended this Inn and told us about a coupon for a great discount. We found the coupon and decided to drive to the Inn. It was very pretty from outside and faced the water. To our surprise we were able to book a room with queen size bed facing the water for $69 plus tax. A great deal!! Jason, at front desk was very polite and helpful and answered all our questions. We received coupons for two free drinks at their restaurant/pub. In the morning we received a very nice complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
404 reviews
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
3.3 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
575 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
616 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Harbor Inn

Address: 480 York Street, P.O. Box 573, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range: $149 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — York Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Historic Oceanfront Inn has been featured on the Travel Channels "Great Country Inns". Award winning gourmet ocean view dining plus casual fireplaced Ship's Cellar Pub. Outdoor hot tub open year round. Many rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi spa tubs, decks and ocean vistas. Free Wireless Internet Access. Exquisitely decorated, fine dining, the perfect place to stay in Southern Maine. Complete conference facilities. One hour north of Boston. Near beaches, golf & shopping. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your York Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Harbor Hotel York Harbor
York Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing