We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Maine”
Review of York Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
York Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Spent two nights at The Inn. Our room was small but quaint. We ate in dinning room first night and food was fantastic. The next night ate in the pub downstairs....same menu,relaxed atmosphere and again great food. We were there in October so didn't do much walking but definitely will go back springtime and enjoy the ocean right across the road

Room Tip: We had a queen bed but they also offer king next door...we liked being in where the dining was locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teetee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 805 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great getaway. Nice stay, overlooking ocean across the road in York, Maine. Food at Captain's Gailey restaurant is great. Whole staff at York Harbor Inn are nice, polite, courteous, which makes for nice returns. Would highly recommend this Inn for everyone.

Room Tip: Great getaway for weekend or week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doriscNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was concerned when I found a deal on Groupon's for this hotel. Sometime you never know what you will get. But this was one of the best deals we got. It was a beautiful little old inn, so well kept and people were so warm and friendly. It was in a beautiful location right next to the beach in a lovely little town. One of the highlights of our New England trips. I would recommend it highly. Just my style, beautiful older home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorthRemembering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed for a 1-night getaway with a Travelzoo purchase, which included a deluxe continental breakfast, and a $25 voucher toward dinner. The Inn's staff was very friendly, and helpful throughout our stay. We received an upgrade to a larger room with a Jacuzzi (helpful for someone with lower back pain!) . . . much appreciated! Great location as we walked across the street and down the pathway for a sunset beach walk on an unusually warm November afternoon. Dinner in the pub was delicious from start to finish. And the 2 ladies at the continental breakfast were the best! Welcoming, friendly, telling us about the homemade baked goods and even heating them for us in the microwave - - to 'enhance' their flavors! We'd been for dinner on a previous visit, but had not stayed overnight, and after this visit, we'll look forward to our next overnight getaway!

Room Tip: Off-season weeknights may allow for more flexibility in choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredteacher12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Guest Relations Manager at York Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments with regard to your recent visit to the York Harbor Inn! We always enjoy the opportunity to upgrade our guests to larger rooms upon check-in, when available. We are so happy to enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I stay here every time I come to York and have never been disappointed. The staff is so warm and friendly and helpful. There's cookies waiting for you when you check in and newspapers in the morning. I love the crooked narrow labyrinth that leads to your room. And I love that the rooms have old fashioned charm but modern touches like enough outlets for all my gadgets and a flat screen TV. And the ocean right out the window. The continental breakfast in the sunny restaurant--that ocean view!--is 100% yummy. Edie takes you on a culinary tour, pointing out the house made granola and fresh baked coffee cake with directions to warm it in the microwave. At night, I like to eat in the downstairs pub. Try the lobster pizza and chicken under a brick. Nothing to complain about at this wonderful inn!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank annmariehood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights using a Groupon special during the week of Nov. 4th and wished we'd stayed longer. We had a cozy room with an ocean view and a fireplace in the Yorkshire bldg. We decided to have dinner there both nights and if we'd stayed longer or in the area we probably would have had another dinner there. We had drinks in the main bar, the bartender made the best Manhattan I've ever had except for the ones my husband makes for me. My husband had the best martini he's ever had at a bar/restaurant, and almost as good as the one he makes for himself. Dinner was excellent both nights. The staff was excellent but the best we encountered was the staff at the included continental breakfast. They went above and beyond and had wonderfully warm personalities. We highly recommend the inn as well as the restaurants. Be sure to take a walk across the street to the little park, it's beautiful.

Room Tip: The steps to the rooms in the main inn are quite steep. Be sure to check the location of the room y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmkathy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Both the location and customer service at this property are impressive. We stayed for one night with a groupon and were offered a variety of rooms (view, fireplace,etc.) which is impressive when staying on a discount - and it was a steal. When we wanted to use the hot tub, the staff came running to unlock it and bring us towels. The views are spectacular. We ate at the pub which had decent food and variety at a fairly reasonable price. The room was quaint with the highlight being a large bathroom complete with a jacuzzi and one of the best hotel showers I have ever encountered!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
416 reviews
3.3 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
385 reviews
8 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
7.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
523 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Harbor Inn

Address: 480 York Street, P.O. Box 573, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range: $128 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — York Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Historic Oceanfront Inn has been featured on the Travel Channels "Great Country Inns". Award winning gourmet ocean view dining plus casual fireplaced Ship's Cellar Pub. Outdoor hot tub open year round. Many rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi spa tubs, decks and ocean vistas. Free Wireless Internet Access. Exquisitely decorated, fine dining, the perfect place to stay in Southern Maine. Complete conference facilities. One hour north of Boston. Near beaches, golf & shopping. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your York Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Harbor Hotel York Harbor
York Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing