We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ship's Cellar Pub was A+”
Review of York Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
York Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We took an impromptu trip for the night and ended up setting in York. We didn't stay at the Inn since we wanted to be directly on the water but we did very much enjoy our dinner & drinks at the Ship's Cellar Pub! The menu was filled with fantastic options and there was no shortage of beers on tap. We will specifically come back to York just to dine here again. I also appreciated the fact they offer free wifi to guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayTeaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 782 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

We returned to celebrate our anniversary. The Inn has never been better. Location and view where we stayed were splendid. The traditional inn charm and amenities have been retained. We have always found the staff to be gracious and accommodating. The Chef has incorporated gluten free items into his menu since our last visit which was very helpful to us. The menu is varied and delicious.
There are new additions to the properties and additional rooms that will allow for groups that wish to stay together. The innkeeper has clearly thought this entire process through and is to be congratulated. Hard to imagine a more relaxing trip.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the inn and can have a room with a balcony on the oceanside, you may not get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The service varied from very good to average, depending on where you were and who was on duty. Food was very good. You cannot beat the location - across from the ocean. Nice place for a quiet, relaxing get away. When they are hosting events, parking for overnight guests can be a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestchesterP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the York Harbor Inn for two days in July for a wedding. We had a great time and definitely would like to return for a little bit longer. Our stay was definitely too short. The hotel overlooks a picturesque park and the ocean. If you're looking for one of those unique New England Inn experiences, this is a great choice. The street outside can be a little busy, but other than that, we felt as if time slowed down and we were removed from the hassles of daily life.

The rooms are all a little different, with all the uniqueness of an old hotel. Our room (#7) was plenty spacious for a couple. It didn't have much of a view, but that didn't bother us, as we don't tend to spend a lot of time in our room on vacation. The bathroom is tiny and the sink is actually in the bedroom. The arrangement was a little awkward, but that comes with "unique" sometimes. The older furniture and four-post bed lent a nice older colonial feel to the room. The only thing we didn't care for is the noise level of the air conditioner. The housekeeping staff were very friendly, with a cheery hello each time we passed in the hall.

The lounge is very nice with rustic woodwork, floors and fireplace. I don't know how old the building is, but it certainly has all the markings of the real deal in terms of authenticity. Drinks are a little on the pricey side, but you're paying mostly for location in this case. The view from the lounge to the park and ocean is worth the extra price.

The wedding reception we attended was in the function room at the rear of the inn. For roughly 80-100 people, it was about right. Too many more and it would have started to feel cramped.

If the lounge was nice, then the downstairs bar was gorgeous. It's styled in a nautical theme to make you feel as if you're aboard an old schooner. The woodwork alone must have cost a fortune. We didn't eat there, but some of our friends commented that the food was decent.

The breakfast buffet is good for continental fare. Nice muffins, fruit, and cereal. We didn't look into ordering any more than that since we pretty much ate our fill. The staff were attentive and friendly.

Overall, I'm sure faults can be found with this inn. I'm not saying this was a perfect stay, but any complaining I could do would be nitpicking. It's easy to accept imperfections when you're at a great location with good staff.

Room Tip: Better views are more toward the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the place stay for tranquil yet elegant vacation! Beach is just across the street with gardens and grassy hills. Breakfast brunch was just right...rooms are cozy--bathroom with tub was welcomed!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Guest Relations Manager at York Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

On behalf of our Innkeeper, Garry Dominguez, we would like to thank you for your recent visit to the York Harbor Inn!

We appreciate your kind words and we always hope that our guests enjoy their accommodations and the beautiful surroundings along the Seacoast.

We look forward to having you return soon!

Paul Gagnon
Guest Services Manager
York Harbor Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived on a Monday in York without a reservation and liked the location and looks of the Harbor Inn. We looked at several rooms in the Harbor Hill Inn and Harbor Cliffs buildings. The Cliffs building is older, less modern and has unique rooms of various sizes and shapes. The HH Inn has a more standard feel, with a modern bathroom with oversize spa tubs, 4 post king bed and some views of the Ocean from the 2nd floor. We chose the HH Inn room because it was more modern, had a view, and we perceived it would probably be quieter than the Cliffs building (I suggest you take a look at rooms in different buildings to see what you like). We were happy with our choice and stayed another night rather than move to a local B&B. The staff is cooperative, friendly, and helpful. Free wifi, coffee and soda refills are available. Continental sytle breakfast was included and served in a designated room in the HH Inn building full of comfy chairs and couches. Bagels, sweet rolls, bread, fruit, cereal, fruit juices, newspapers, coffee....only thing missing was a protein but the homemade granola made up for it. There is a beach you can walk to from the Inn and a park across the street. You can also take a walk and see many beautiful houses nearby. We had one dinner at the Inn and had a marvelous meal of Haddock. Great service and food in a pleasant atmosphere. Our waitress got my highest service rating (and tip). Overall, we were very pleased with the York Harbor Inn.

Room Tip: Some rooms/buildings have carpeted floors and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Guest Relations Manager at York Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your most recent visit to the York Harbor Inn! We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your accommodations, dining and the hospitality that we offer.

We were so happy to be able to have you select the guest room that you felt most comfortable with and we thank you for your most positive comments with regard to our Luxury Harbor Hill House.

We truly look forward to your return!

Paul Gagnon
Guest Services Manager
York Harbor Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The dining room and bar were very nice. The meals were excellent and the staff was attentive.
Early bird 3 course meal ($19) before 6 PM was also good. Breakfast staff went all out to make it a nice experience.

The room in the main building was terrible. The antiquated Window AC was so noisy that the TV
Had to be turned way up. Then there were the roof top units outside the window that added to the noise. The bath and shower were minuscule and claustrophobic. Not even close to the rooms pictured on the website. For the money, stay elsewhere, but dine there.

Room Tip: Find out what room and request a picture of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Readytogonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Guest Relations Manager at York Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the York Harbor Inn. We truly appreciate the kind words with regard to both our Dining Room Menu as well as our attentive staff.

Please do note that as a Country Inn with 62 guest rooms, we do offer a variety of lodging options. Indeed, many of the guest rooms in our Main Inn are cozy and charming and are priced accordingly. Our Front Desk Staff makes every effort to describe our guest rooms at the time of reservation so that we may place our lodging guests in the most comfortable rooms available.

We do offer larger rooms with King Bed, Jacuzzi Tub and water views as well as guest rooms with fireplaces and other amazing amenities. We encourage our guests to inquire about the accommodations that will ensure a most enjoyable getaway to the Seacoast!

Thank you,
Paul Gagnon
Guest Services Manager
York Harbor Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
406 reviews
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
3.3 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,050 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
699 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Harbor Inn

Address: 480 York Street, P.O. Box 573, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range: $139 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — York Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Historic Oceanfront Inn has been featured on the Travel Channels "Great Country Inns". Award winning gourmet ocean view dining plus casual fireplaced Ship's Cellar Pub. Outdoor hot tub open year round. Many rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi spa tubs, decks and ocean vistas. Free Wireless Internet Access. Exquisitely decorated, fine dining, the perfect place to stay in Southern Maine. Complete conference facilities. One hour north of Boston. Near beaches, golf & shopping. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your York Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Harbor Hotel York Harbor
York Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing