We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent final night in the US” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of York Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
York Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An excellent final night in the US”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We'd had two excellent weeks in the US and wanted a memorable final evening before heading back to Boston for our flight back to the UK - and this hotel and location gave it to us! We just happened to come across this Inn as we investigated the motels we'd found in the New England accommodation mag. We had a lovely room in the Yorkshire House and enjoyed a lovely meal in the dining room. Being able to walk to the beach and round the harbor was a definite plus and much better than being on the main road or near the Kittery outlets. There was ample parking and the breakfast was good. The rate we were charged was fine and compared reasonably with other accommodation. We had not problems with wifi and the connection was good enough to use SKYPE. Only two slight suggestions for improvement. When I asked about availability of food it would have been good to have been told that it was necessary to book a table in the restaurant. If we hadn't been willing to sit at the bar in the dining room to eat we would have had to wait at least 45 minutes for a table in the DR or pub. Whilst having coffee and tea and fruit available 24/7 in reception was nice it would have been good to have some facilities in the room - I had to get dressed to get the tea for our morning cup of tea in bed. If you are looking for a large chain type hotel which could be anywhere then this place is not for you. If you are looking for a family run Inn with character and friendly, helpful staff who are not all just out of college, then this place could be for you. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to see indiviual rooms being offered to make sure you are getting what you want. The rooms vary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    199
    71
    44
    24
See reviews for
95
449
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, RI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were looking for a nice summer weekend get away and surprisingly found it in York, ME. Once we saw the beautiful area photos and checked the local places to stay, we chose the York Harbor Inn. Before doing so, I read several reviews and found one common review listed... small rooms. The inn is from the late 1800's and still has that arichitectual charm. If you know this going into it, you will not be disappointed. In addition, I was able to find a great online special rate. The staff was tremendous. The cookies were ridiculous. Really. They had warm cookies upon check-in! The Ship's Cellar Pub was fun before dinner with free apps from 4-6, including one of the best meatloafs (yes meatloaf!) I have ever had and was still fun to end the night with live music and a night cap. Overall, York and its surrounding area lends itself to a relaxing weekend. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jejri418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Guest Relations Manager at York Harbor Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent visit to the York Harbor Inn and for sharing your experience with us! It is such a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind words about our hospitality, our Ship’s Cellar Pub and the special touches that help create a relaxing getaway.

We noted your comments about the size of our guestroom that you experienced and your reference to similar comments from other guests who have stayed with us before.

We thank you for your kind words and would like to take this opportunity relay that do offer a variety of guest rooms with varying sizes, attributes and amenities to accommodate many different guest’s desires.

15 of our 62 guest rooms are modestly sized and designated as our historic Country Inn Rooms and are priced accordingly. We also have many larger accommodations in our Yorkshire and Luxury Guest Rooms. Many of these rooms offer desirable amenities including ocean views, ocean view decks, heated tile floors, Jacuzzi Spa Tubs and fireplaces. We urge you and other guests to inquire about these rooms and to view them on our website photo gallery. We look forward to your next visit to the York Harbor Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
150 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband recently took me for a little get-away to York Harbor as a birthday present and after researching the area, he decided to stay at this Inn. It is in a very picturesque area right across from the beach and the landscaping is very pretty. When we arrived, the staff was extremely nice and they offered us an upgraded room with an ocean view. The room was quite small but it had a decent sized bathroom. However, the bed was very hard and small so it was difficult to sleep. I must say the staff was always very pleasant but the quality of the room was poor for the amount of money that it cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our particular room was a second floor "Yorkshire" room. The room was a decent size with a queen bed, but only 1 chair. It did have a large bathroom, but most of it was an empty area containing another chair. Without this section, the bathroom was average to smaller, with a small sink and countertop area. Our room did have a jacuzzi tub/shower. If someone in your party is over 6 feet tall, they will have a hard time in the tub/shower. The water pressure is only OK, but the shower head is a bit low for washing/rinsing your upper body and head. Also, because of the tubs slant the shower head doesn't protrude out far enough. So, even for me at 5'9", I found it a bit hard to rinse my face and hair.
Next, we had a queen bed that was extremely uncomfortable. My wife had to sleep on the edge of the bed because I was "stuck" in the pit, unable to move. I would continually end up back in this soft spot, regardless of how, or where, I tried to sleep. I did not sleep much at all because of this. Note, my wife is 115 lbs and I am 173 lbs, so the mattress problem is not due to our size. Lastly, if you want WI-FI, DO NOT book room #36. The free wi-fi continually connected/disconnected. I was unable to get online at all from the room, and had to use my 3G cell phone to research things to do. When I called, the front desk told me that "Comcast had a server outage in the Chicago area that has effected the entire east coast." Chicago, really, that's what they said. Sorry, but I am not that dumb. As soon as I stepped outside of my building I was able to connect with the York Harbor Inn's
wi-fi.
I have some medical problems, one being a moderate back injury and need at least a DECENT mattress to sleep on. For this reason I only booked 1 night here, and I am glad that was all. We left the next morning so I didn't complain to the staff.
Overall, I must say that the room, and the buildings and grounds, were clean and nicely kept. The staff were nice enough, if I can just forget about the "Chicago wi-fi" thing (but I just can't). I keep try reminding myself that these are very old buildings, but I guess my wife and I are not "INN" people, especially for the special internet price of $219

Room Tip: Outside of trying a room first for mattress comfort, and wi-fi if you need it, I can't offer any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richg635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHIGM, Owner at York Harbor Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your observations with us. We hope you will take the time to read our comments that follow.

As a large Country Inn with numerous adjacent buildings that range from historic to new, we have the opportunity to offer different levels of accommodations. Our offerings range from modest and cozy Country Inn guest rooms, to our mid-level Yorkshire guest rooms which offer a varying degree of amenities, to our Luxury guest rooms which are our largest and have King Beds, Fireplaces, Jacuzzi Tubs, heated tile floors and water views or water view decks. All three levels of guest rooms are priced accordingly.
In light of the comments posted about this particular room, we inspected the room in detail and we would like to share our observations.

The mattress in this room is new and had been installed within the last six months. It was part of a larger capital improvement plan to upgrade all of the mattresses throughout the entire inn. We have selected one of the top mattresses utilized in the industry- The Serta “Presidential” Pillow Top mattress. They have been very well received by our guests. This being said, we understand that mattress comfort can be subjective. Some individuals prefer a more firm mattress, while others may enjoy the soft comfort that this particular style offers. We are sorry that this particular style was not appreciated by our guest.

Regarding the shower height question, in this particular bathroom the height of the shower head measures 6’2” above the floor of the tub. While this may not match every person’s height, we do believe the design and comfort level of this Jacuzzi and shower combination is up to industry standards and is very workable for all of our guests.

At the York Harbor Inn we are very happy to offer complimentary wireless internet access to our guests, unlike many of our competitors and the large corporate chain hotels who often charge for this service. On rare occasions we may experience an interruption in service, either from an internal hardware breakdown, a disruption from our wireless vendor’s equipment, or a disruption form our internet service provider- as most everyone who utilizes the internet has experienced. We make every effort to rectify any disruption in service immediately. In researching this particular incident, we found that there was a short verified ISP interruption around the time in question. We were told by our ISP that an issue originating in Chicago that had caused internet difficulty throughout the East Coast. This is the information we were provided and thus passed it on to our guests at the time. We also found that one or our pieces of equipment had to be reset, This may or may not have been caused by the short outage in service. We are sorry that this outage occurred and hope our guest understands the situation was not in our control.

We are determined to exceed the expectations of our guests and we appreciate all comments, both positive and areas in which we can improve. We are grateful for both. We hope this report sheds some light on this review.

Thank you.
Garry Dominguez
Innkeeper
York Harbor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked this for a two night stopover but were so impressed by our first impressions that we quickly decided to stay for five nights and use the hotel as our base in Maine and New Hampshire.
The hotel is beautifully situated next to the beach and a public garden and consists of a number of adjoining white clap board houses. The bedroom was was tastefully appointed and the sun deck had a direct view onto the beach.
Although there were no drink facilities in the bedroom free coffee and bottled water was available at the reception desk.
The room itself was immaculately clean and spacious.
Continental breakfast was served in the main dining room with lunch and dinners available in the same place or in the pub on the lower ground floor.
Service was attentive without being intrusive and portions, by European standards were gargantuan so I would recommend caution in ordering to any fellow brits. Three courses would probably finish you off for the day. Fortunately split orders or starters were available as 'stand alone' meals without any problems.
I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation whatsoever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the York Harbor Inn for two nights as part of a relatively large wedding group. The staff there was very accommodating, getting us water and ice from the bar (no ice machines) and there are cookies at the front desk at check in.

We saw a few rooms since we were with a group. The rooms in the main Inn were all pretty tiny, but that was expected in an old building. They were very clean though, which is more important. The bed was too soft for my husband and I to get a great night's sleep, but others may like that. Not too many frills, but a quaint inn and a nice stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My mom and I shared a room at the York Harbor Inn for one night because we wanted to start our Maine vacation a day early. We stayed in the newest property, the Chapman Cottage, which was wonderful. We had a small room on the third floor but it had a HUGE deck which was such a plus!! We had a delicious dinner with great sevice at the Cellar Pub in the Inn's main building which was an easy walk, and the breakfast served in our building in the morning was fantastic - be sure to try the coffee cake and the chef's honey! Loved the whole experience and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: In the Chapman Cottage you can get a 2nd floor room which is larger with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erinsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.2 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
3.3 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
6.8 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
17.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Harbor Inn

Property: York Harbor Inn
Address: 480 York Street, P.O. Box 573, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — York Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Historic Oceanfront Inn has been featured on the Travel Channels "Great Country Inns". Award winning gourmet ocean view dining plus casual fireplaced Ship's Cellar Pub. Outdoor hot tub open year round. Many rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi spa tubs, decks and ocean vistas. Free Wireless Internet Access. Exquisitely decorated, fine dining, the perfect place to stay in Southern Maine. Complete conference facilities. One hour north of Boston. Near beaches, golf & shopping. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your York Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Harbor Hotel York Harbor
York Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing