We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Beautiful Oceanviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand View Inn and Cottages
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
ft meyers fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location! Beautiful Oceanviews!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My family has been going to the Grandview for several years and we love it! Nice and clean comfortable rooms with large balconies to view and feel the ocean breeze. Staff was very friendly and most helpful. We really enjoyed the beautiful beach across the street and the lovely heated indoor pool.
We will return for many years to come.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vettwftmeyersfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
25
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed at the Grandview last weekend... I'm so glad I didn't listen to some of the bad reviews. The owners were very nice letting us have early check-in. The view was awesome and we were steps away from the beach, great balcony. The room was adequate and VERY clean. If you are looking for the Ritz then you should stay at the Ritz. We didn't use the pool since it was a beautiful weekend. The trolley stops outside but we also didn't use that. All and all it was a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Harbor, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This place is awful! We arrived on Friday afternoon and were looking forward to a nice couple of nights at the beach. For over $200 a night, we expected a nice hotel. The rooms are old, dark, dingy, and had the feel of a boarding house and not a $200/night hotel. They make you pay in advance and do not offer refunds which I am not sure is totally legal, but now I understand why. The beach is not just a few steps away. Across from the hotel is nothing but rocks. You have to cross a very busy road and then you have to walk for about 1/4 mile to get to sand. We ended up leaving this place, forfeiting our deposit, and driving further north. We found a lovely place in Ogunquit at less than 1/2 the cost, and we didn't have to cross a busy road to get to the beach. Do not book a room here, keep driving north! You'll be happy you did!

Room Tip: Do not book a room, especially on the 3rd floor. There is a wood staircase, very narrow, so there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lakelife4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York Harbor hotels

North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

For $215 a night there must be better options. The people (owners?) were nice, the room large but outdated, dark and dingy. Wifi works if you stand outside the office and the heated pool was ice cold. No shampoo, hair dryer etc. Flat sheets only on the bed. The only really redeeming quality was the location. If this room was $150 I would rate it better for the value.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SocialSavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I had no idea this place had an exterior "tenement" staircase of 3 stories. I am a fit 55+ but my friend is 81. I was terrified that he would fall. While they advertise ocean views from every room, the views are onto an ugly, rocky beach through phone lines. Rooms are very basic--not even a clock radio, shampoo or hair dryer (for more than $210??) The rooms never are dark at night as there are flood lights on the balconies outside. It was clean, but I would never go there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bella1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Rooms suck. No hot water, no clock, hair dryer, screen slider, wifi(as advertises). 200.00 a night I was expecting a nice motel. Rip off. Not to mention had to walk up three flights of stairs. 3 people , 2 washcloths. Next year we will call earlier and stay at the anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smveilleux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I have been going to York Beach since I was a little kid-first with family and then with my kids when they were young. Nowadays we go back every summer for a couple of weeks and bring the grandkids along as well. I have driven by the Grandview hundreds if not thousands of times and never gave it a second thought. This summer after having spent our two weeks at Long Sands (we rent a house) the weather was so amazing that I just had to get back. On such a short notice there were not many options but the Grandview had openings so I rented a room for my myself, my wife and our teenage daughter. I was completely impressed by the cleanliness of the entire place. The room although somewhat outdated was very clean and bright and the bathroom was just as clean. The entire property is well maintained-the lawn and flowers are manicured and easy on the eyes.
The pool was great for an afternoon dip and the owners were great.
The balcony and view cannot be beat! Sitting there in the morning or at night the sight and sound of the ocean directly across the street is amazing.
We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kodak5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
1.3 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
102 reviews
3.1 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
680 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunrise Motel
Sunrise Motel
#6 of 9 in York Beach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Inn and Cottages

Property: Grand View Inn and Cottages
Address: 800 York Street, Route 1A (Long Beach Ave.), York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand View Inn and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Grand View Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Inn And Cottages Hotel York Harbor
Grand View Inn And Cottages York Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing