We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect beginning to our New England trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Ranked #1 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect beginning to our New England trip”
Reviewed November 16, 2009

My sister and I took a self-guided tour through New England this fall and the Inn at Tanglewood Hall was our first stop. We instantly felt at home!

From the peaceful location and the delicious homemade breakfasts to the overall outstanding hospitality - it was an excellent way to start the trip. And having never been to Maine before, we were thrilled to get suggestions on where to visit, what to see and how to navigate our way around the area each morning before we ventured out. We would recommend this inn to anyone visting the area!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World23Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    11
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Lane, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We’d like to extend most heartfelt thanks for the warm welcome & gracious hospitality. You were so helpful with directions and quite attentive to our every need. This was our first visit to Maine & our first bed & breakfast—you create an atmosphere of comfort, peace & enjoyment that is a perfect “home base” from which to explore your beautiful York Harbor & surrounding areas. Your home is lovely & we found the Garden Canopy Room a cozy, relaxing haven with many special touches. The only troublesome part of our visit is having to tear ourselves away to return to PA! But we leave, taking treasured memories with us, & hoping to return again soon! Thanks for the wonderful experience at the Tanglewood!
~Jeff & Donna
Green Lane, PA 10/09

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikerchick41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

It was not without tears that I left Tanglewood. We absolutely loved our stay; the inn is so comfortable and inviting with all the beautiful lights strung to greet us as we arrived back from our daily travels. Su is the consummate trip planner and we really appreciated her advice on all the wonderful excursions she suggested, as well as the places to avoid. We found ourselves in an area (by missing a turn) Su suggested that we avoid and were laughing because she was right...it was awful! Andy, was wonderful as he helped to introduce perfect strangers to one another in the morning at breakfast and spark conversation as to who had done what the day before. Just before we left, we were fortunate to have another tour and learn more about the history of their home. York Harbor is truly a beautiful place to visit and staying at Tanglewood was the highlight of our trip to the East Coast!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathiRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We arrived at the Inn on Friday night and were immersed in the experience as soon as we walked through the lit garden and opened up the front door. The sights and smells of country and home assault your senses. I brought my girlfriend here as a Birthday surprise, and was she ever surprised! The furnishings are beautiful, the house in impeccable condition. Our favorite features: Su and Andy, the Innkeepers with lovely manners and insightful advice on things to do and places to go depending on your individual tastes, the veranda overlooking the lit garden where you can snuggle up with a bottle of wine, and the gas fireplace in our room that flickered against the ceiling as we lie in the 4 poster bed…

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

This was our second stay at The Inn at Tanglewood Hall & we felt very welcome when we arrived after a very long drive. It was great to see Su & Andy again and we looked forward to the relaxing & peaceful environment.....It is situated in a great location, you can walk to some restaurants & beaches which are a short stroll away if you don't feel like driving....
Su & Andy were very helpful in suggesting things to do. VERY knowledgeable of the area, we welcomed all advice from them. They are warm & friendly....very easy to talk to! Oh, & then there's Keiko! The most enthusiastic canine greeter! We loved seeing Keiko every morning whose only request was a belly rub! The breakfasts are FANTASTIC, plentiful & DELICIOUS! The rooms are comfortable with plenty of storage for your personal belongings....we stayed in The Cottage this time, and our son (who we picked up from camp) had his own space...it is like a mini suite. We stayed in The Library last year which is also a lovely room. We will always return here, it is a special place where we feel very welcome and very much at home. Thank you Su & Andy for your hospitality & friendship!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mms127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My boyfriend and I were in York for a wedding and decided to make it a romantic getaway as well. Being at Tanglewood was the perfect ambiance! We had lavish breakfasts every morning and Su and Andy (and Kiko) were captivating to talk to over our morning tea. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of B&B. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bounce2684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

My wife & I very much enjoyed our recent stay at The Inn. Su & Andy provided a welcoming orientation upon our arrival to their beautifully appointed Inn. The house is a 19th century renovated structure that provides a blend of beautiful antiques & first class furnishings in well appointed rooms.
A terrific breakfast can be enjoyed on the front veranda overlooking the lawns & gardens that surround the building.
Su & Andy provided excellent recommendations about restaurants in the area & places of interest to visitors.
All in all, the Inn offers very comfortable accommodation in a marvelous setting.

  • Liked — The rooms & the building
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandJudy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.6 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.8 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tanglewood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tanglewood Hall

Property: Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Address: 611 York Street, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience casual elegance by the sea in an 1880s grand summer cottage estate located in the centuries-old resort of York Harbor on the Southern Maine coast. Nestled amidst woodland gardens and fountains, once a York Historical Decorator Showcase home, and a short stroll to the Cliff Walk, long sandy beaches, and restaurants, Tanglewood Hall offers a soothing peaceful romantic sanctuary just over an hour's drive north of Boston, with Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and Portsmouth nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tanglewood Hall Hotel York Harbor
Inn At Tanglewood Hall York Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing