We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Ranked #1 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chardon, Ohio
1 review
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived at the Inn just after dark and pulled into an enchanted garden! The tiny lights nestled in the trees, gardens and porch area are absolutely delightful! We were greeted by Andy, Su and Pippin and walked into a home that is stunningly beautiful! It was like stepping back in time, when homes were warm and charming! Our room was warm and inviting and the canopy bed had a nestling mattress! Breakfast each morning was delicious, and Andy always had wonderful ideas of where to visit, with detailed maps to guide you! We have stayed in several B&B's, but The Inn at Tanglewood Hall is our favorite! Treat yourself and spend a few nights - you will love it!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    11
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Can't say it all in 200 characters, but here goes. Two nights at Tanglewood Hall and it couldn't have been better. Andy and Su are real, down to earth people. The room was clean, warm and very restful. The breakfast was delicious and Andy was spot on with his directions and "what to see." We would go back in a heart beat and HIGHLY recommend Tanglewood.

Room Tip: Do miss out on the ginger cookies:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

To us a relaxing getaway from the hustle and bustle of life is something my fiance and I need to treat ourselves with every so often, and staying at the Tanglewood Inn was just that. We are a young couple in our late twenties and the Tanglewood Inn has become one of our favorite places to take our mini vacations. This September we came for our second stay to celebrate our Anniversary and can't wait to visit again to celebrate many more. When you first arrive to the Inn you immediately feel welcome. As you drive up to a beautiful home filled with character, the driveway leads you to park next to a small flower garden. A gigantic wrap around porch that they magically illuminate with lights and lanterns in the evening draws you inside. You are immediately greeted by Su & Andy, as well as their cute dogs Pippin & Kiko! They are fantastic hosts who do all that they can to allow you to have an enjoyable stay. Andy is always interested in answering any questions you might have about attractions and restaurants in the area. He will give you a map and any specifics you may be wondering about. This year we decided to stay in a different room then last year. We chose the York Harbor Suite which was so wonderful. The suite is spacious, cozy and tastefully decorated with hand painted artistic touches. We had our own bedroom, bathroom, living room and screened in porch! Although it was only the two of us, we got good use out of each room in the two nights we stayed. Each night falling asleep to the sound of ocean waves crashing...waking up to a crisp fresh breeze and filtered sunshine streaming through our bedroom window. The scent of hot coffee and breakfast wafting down the hallway and enchanting us to get out of our cozy bed! This is exactly what we were looking for and that's why we decided to return to the Tanglewood. Breakfast each morning was amazing and they were so accommodating. I have strict dietary restrictions which can often make traveling difficult. They were able to make a fantastic breakfast both mornings that catered to my needs and allowed everyone else staying at the Inn to also thoroughly enjoy their meal! This is a big plus to me if you are someone who suffers from allergies or dietary restrictions. The Inn is surrounded by wonderful attractions that are close by including the beaches Short Sands & Long Sands (walking distance), shops, restaurants, icecream bars, beauty spas, the Wild Kingdom Amusement Park, Animal Kingdom and Nubble Lighthouse. To top off our fantastic stay in York, Maine this year... we actually got engaged at Nubble Light! Staying at the Tanglewood, Su & Andy helped to make our engagement weekend even more perfect. We highly recommend the Inn and will definitely return in the future. The Inn is clean, cozy, relaxing, romantic and welcoming. If you are looking for a quaint trip by the ocean, I recommend trying something new and booking a room at The Inn at Tanglewood Hall!! Thank you Su & Andy for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veggirl690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just got back from a 3 night stay at the Inn at Tanglewood. This was our first stay at a B&B and we will definitely return to the Inn. We found the hosts, Su and Andy to be very friendly and helpful. They have a wealth of knowledge of the area and gave us great tips and suggestions of where to go and what to see. We stayed in the Billiard Room and it was fabulously decorated with lots of charm and antiques. The room and bath were very clean and the bed was nice and comfy. The extra little touches in the room (philosophy shampoo and conditioner, throw over the arm of the sitting chair, two types of pillows, magazines to read, wine glasses, mints, nightlight in the bathroom) made us feel right at home. The private porch was our favorite place to drink coffee in the morning and the gas fireplace was absolutely awesome on the chilly nights!! Along with Andy's special breakfasts in the morning, we also enjoyed sharing stories with the other guests at breakfast too. The "fairy" lights that lit up the gardens and parking area were magical!! We had a memorable stay and look forward to returning to Maine and the Inn at Tanglewood again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at The Inn at Tanglewood Hall in York Maine. What a gem! Su and Andy were the perfect hosts, friendly, helpful and enthusiastic about their home and area. We stayed in the Captains Quarters, a lovely room on the second floor. Comfortable, tastefully decorated, and quiet. We were warmly welcomed and given a tour of the house. The living room was inviting, and the front porch was restful, beckoning us to sit and relax. Our hosts were very knowledgeable about the area. Andy would sit and go over maps, suggest activities, and recommend restaurants. The brochure with directions for hikes was very helpful! Our breakfasts were fabulous! Delicious and beautifully presented in the dining room, with trays to take to the porch. We also enjoyed the house dogs, Pippen and Kiko, very well behaved, a very nice touch to make us feel at home. The Inn was full (6 rooms) while we were there, and everyone seemed to enjoy the ambiance, time on the porch (in spite of rain), and comparing notes on the day before heading out for dinner. Even with 12 people, it was still quiet in the rooms and comfortable. We look forward to visiting the Inn again, it was a perfect get-away for our anniversary.

Room Tip: The Captains Quarters was nicely decorated and quiet. All rooms seemed to be private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patf70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Inn at Tanglewood the last of July and loved it. The Inn dates to around 1897 and is located in York Harbor, a town we preferred to the more "touristy" close town of Ogunquit. It is in a very convenient, nice quiet location right on scenic Route 1A ; in fact it is right on the coast yet secluded and private, surrounded by lovely trees and gardens. Andy, one of the owners, was very quick to provide maps, directing us to the less traveled routes, avoiding the heavy traffic to Kennebunkport, etc. And he pointed out the way to the cliff walk to the small Harbor Beach -- a super scenic lovely walk along the rocks just down a path in easy walking distance from the inn, which sits actually between two beaches, the small Harbor Beach and longer Long Sands Beach.
The rooms are super clean, beds are comfortable, the owners, Andy and Sue are eager to answer questions and point out area attractions and give excellent directions. To us, the main thing about the Inn, though, is the tranquil location with the lovely gardens, the chairs on the lawn, the hammock, the large wrap around porch, where you can rest and enjoy conversation and eat your breakfast if it's a nice day, since the hosts not only provide delicious food but have the inside table set with trays so that you can take them out on the porch and eat or eat inside as you choose. Every morning there were friendly folks from different areas of the country with whom to share breakfast and easy conversation, a big plus in our opinion over the usual less-intimate buffet at a hotel. At night when we returned to the inn after having dinner at beautiful Clay Hill Farm, we were greeted by sparkling lights in the trees around the Inn - "laser fireflies", Sue told us when we inquired what they were and how they did this lovely nighttime show. And I cannot fail to mention their "greeter", Pippin, the cutest little Shih Tzu ever! He is so friendly and adorable. I wanted to bring him home with me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imatravellvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just stayed here this weekend. Since we had to be at a wedding Friday evening, we decided to make a nice getaway weekend out of it. The Inn was in a great location and was just a beautiful spot. Our room was very nice and comfortable and the front porch was our favorite place. Breakfast out there in the morning was relaxed and delicious. Our favorite thing was to come back at night to this cool set of holographic lights that Su and Andy installed out in the front garden and parking area. It shed all these litle points of green lights all over the trees and shrubs, creating a most amazing little light show. An awesome little bonus feature at a very nice B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.6 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.8 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tanglewood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tanglewood Hall

Property: Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Address: 611 York Street, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience casual elegance by the sea in an 1880s grand summer cottage estate located in the centuries-old resort of York Harbor on the Southern Maine coast. Nestled amidst woodland gardens and fountains, once a York Historical Decorator Showcase home, and a short stroll to the Cliff Walk, long sandy beaches, and restaurants, Tanglewood Hall offers a soothing peaceful romantic sanctuary just over an hour's drive north of Boston, with Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and Portsmouth nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tanglewood Hall Hotel York Harbor
Inn At Tanglewood Hall York Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing