We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Inn at Tanglewood Hall!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Ranked #1 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Litchfield, New Hampshire
1 review
“Loved the Inn at Tanglewood Hall!”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My wife and I can’t say enough positive things about this Inn and about Su and Andy’s hospitality. As we approached the front door Andy had little doubt who we were and welcomed us by name. We learned quite a bit from them about the history of the Inn and of the area. They were ready with maps and a marker to show us the best routes to what we wanted to see, as well as recommendations of places to visit and eat. We purchased the Clay Hill Farms package and went to the restaurant for dinner the first night. It was a great place and a perfect meal. Can’t recommend this place enough. Service was excellent and everything was cooked to perfection. The most enjoyable meal of recent memory.

We stayed in the York Harbor Suite and loved it! It was much larger than I expected, with a bedroom, a sitting room and an enclosed porch with lots of windows. The bed was very comfy. The room was really clean, as were the common areas. I was very impressed with how well maintained the Inn is. I do a lot of work in my own home and know how difficult it is to pay attention to details, and this old Victorian home is very well kept. It had the feel of an old home, but the cleanliness of a new home. The hand painted floors in our room were impressive. After our trip to Clay Hill, we enjoyed the warm evening on the front porch, where there was a hammock and several chairs. For breakfast it was just warm enough to enjoy eating on the porch as well, as there are tables on it, too. It was very relaxing. Breakfast was delicious, too! They are very good cooks. We got to try a few new breakfast dishes, but also have bagels and English muffin, among other things. There was always hot coffee and tea available and hot cocoa, with a variety of juices.

I’m someone who is used to staying at hotels. This was my first stay at a bed and breakfast and the experience was so much better than at a hotel. Champagne and chocolates were included, as it was our 10th Anniversary. I hope to have another stay in the near future. Thank you, Su and Andy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    11
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were headed back to York, Maine, and trying a new B&B. It was a treasure to find the Inn at Tanglewood Hall: an impeccably-cared-for historic home, comfortable and warmly welcoming, with a charming and subtly whimsical decor. The breakfasts were superb: thoughtfully selected and expertly executed -- from "eggs in a cloud" to scrumptuous baked oatmeal -- accompanied by discreet and sensitive accommodations for those with special diets. And the atmosphere created by the host and hostess was the most relaxed, homey ambiance we've ever experienced. Su and Andy could not have helped more with individually tailored suggestions for restaurants, the stunning Cliff Walk and drives up the coast to Portland's vibrant harbor and its famous Head Light (gorgeous lighthouse/view). We really feel we've found our Maine B&B "home" for all our future trips. A true keeper.

Room Tip: You have to view them online, better yet in person... we had the very comfortable Captain's room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardinal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The outside is very overgrown so our first impressions were of concern. However, the inside is fine. All the public spaces that we saw were well kept. The room we had was small but comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was ok, can't say it was great but certainly there were the usual choices and one hot item. The Innkeepers were helpful in telling us of local sights and suggested the Cliff Walk which was lovely. They do own two small dogs so probably not a good spot if you have animal allergies or aversions. Otherwise, it is a decent place and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapestry24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sakkl, Owner at Inn at Tanglewood Hall, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
We personally strive to provide an exceptional experience for everyone who visits Tanglewood, and are disappointed if we were unable to do so. We sincerely apologize for the condition of our yard, which indeed had reached its pinnacle of scraggliness during the series of storms that had battered the East Coast, the day these guests arrived. We even had enormous fairy circles of mushrooms erupting in the jungle grass! Unfortunately they left the very next day, when it was finally dry enough for us to be able to mow and trim, and adorn our grounds and home with a plethora of pumpkins, mums, and fall finery.

A Few Notes: Our heirloom wisteria, lilacs, hydrangeas, rhododendrons, forsythias, and other seasonal shrubs bordering an acre of natural woodlands and gardens are reminders as to why this enchanting estate has been called Tanglewood since 1889. These folks chose one of two smaller budget-minded rooms despite other rooms being available. The majority of our rooms are quite spacious (up to 550 square feet) and all rooms offer upscale amenities: sumptuous Tempurpedic mattress toppers, luxurious high thread-count linens, fluffy down blankets and pillows, flat screen TVs with DVD players, etc. We served our most requested recipe that day, an Egg & Cheese Puff with Artichokes, Sundried & Grape Tomatoes, Fresh Herbs, a Chipotle Aioli Drizzle & Mango Peach Salsa. Our two Shih Tzus, Kiko & Pippin are hypoallergenic, non-shedding, and their only desire is to be loved, as it is always our hope that everyone will love our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Went to a family wedding this past weekend in York Harbor, and stayed at the "Tanglewood Inn". Both my husband and I were extremely pleased with the Inn, in every way. The Innkeepers, Su and Andy were welcoming, warm, and extremely helpful with any local area suggestions or maps. Our room (The Billiard Room) was perfect - with the private porch, multiple windows and very comfortable bed. The breakfasts - oh my my - delicious. I asked for all the recipes. I loved how the Inn was decorated. We definitely recommend the Tanglewood, and hope to return there someday.

Room Tip: Billiard Room has a lovely private porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Save yourself the wasted time of comparing Maine Bed and Breakfasts; this one is the absolute standout for the entire York and York Harbor area. I spent about 2 hours on the web trying to find the best inn to stay at for my birthday getway with my husband and it didn't take long for me to figure out that Tanglewood offers what no one else does.
First, consider what you are paying for when you stay at a B&B; you have the bed, and then you have the breakfast. Not only is Tanglewood decorated in the style of the time it was built, it still retains most of the features that made it a popular stop on the historical homes tour in York Harbor. But it's the beds that are truly the eye-catching show stoppers here. Each bed has something unique and beautiful to offer, from the sleigh bed to the canopy bed to the four poster bed. Tanglewood has THE MOST comfortable temporpedic topped beds, with the softest and most luxurious sheets I've ever seen at an inn. Sumptuous and clean, the beds are truly masterpieces unto themselves.
Next, the breakfast at a B&B should be something special and Tanglewood delivers above and beyond the norm. Here you will find the standard muffins and bagels with juice and coffee, but Tanglewood serves scrumptious meals such as raspberry french toast, egg and tomato cheese puffs, frittatas, and much more! Read the list of their breakfast offerings on the webpage, and like me, you will be sold right then and there. The dining room is stunning, with a large farm style table that seats plenty, but it's best to take your personal tray out to the veranda and eat at a cozy cafe table in the breeze. Not only is the meal delicious, but you will be waited on hand and foot and will not want for ANYTHING. There is always coffee waiting for you, or fresh lemonade or even homemade cookies or trail mix to snack on while you're lounging in the hammock.
No other B&B I know of has these litte "extras" covered, and they are standard with your stay at Tanglewood. The hosts, Su and Andy are gracious, and do everything they can to make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. Not sure what to do on a rainy Saturday? Never been to the area before? Want to go for a hike but you don't have a map? Just ask Su and Andy, if they haven't already approached you about the myriad of things they can point you to with a map and some recommendations.
My husband and I greatly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to the next time we can plan a "getaway" up north. Thank you Su and Andy for everything!

Room Tip: Book early to reserve the room of your choice--all rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehoneymooners1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We loved our entire stay at the Tanglewood. It was our first B&B experience, Su and Andy were just wonderful! They were kind to map out some points of interests for us including on how to get there which is VERY important for out-of-towners like me and my husband. The home was beautiful, our room was amazing and the food was just heaven! The Inn at Tanglewood is such a gem for York Maine, please take the time to visit this wonderful gem. Say HI to Su and Andy for me!

Room Tip: The Billard Room has a private porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitelotus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Tanglewood Hall. Very comfy bed, clean and very hospitable.
Su & Andy were so helpful with maps & directions..great breakfast with terrific coffee!! Nice walk to beaches & views.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Harbor
0.6 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.8 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tanglewood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tanglewood Hall

Property: Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Address: 611 York Street, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience casual elegance by the sea in an 1880s grand summer cottage estate located in the centuries-old resort of York Harbor on the Southern Maine coast. Nestled amidst woodland gardens and fountains, once a York Historical Decorator Showcase home, and a short stroll to the Cliff Walk, long sandy beaches, and restaurants, Tanglewood Hall offers a soothing peaceful romantic sanctuary just over an hour's drive north of Boston, with Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and Portsmouth nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tanglewood Hall Hotel York Harbor
Inn At Tanglewood Hall York Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing