We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude! Rude!! Rude!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Beach Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Scarborough, ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Rude! Rude!! Rude!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2006

People are correct when they say that the grounds are nice and this property is impeccably clean. However, treating customers with common courtesy goes a loooong way and these owners don't seem to think that people deserve to be treated with such. We were going to have dinner with another couple staying at a different property. They walked to meet us at our hotel. Gary, one of the owners, rudely told our friend she could not go to our room to let us know it was time to go. We happen to be sitting on the porch. The owner then shouted at us saying "Mr. ____,
you take care of this or I will!" Had I not paid cash I would have been out of there instantly. When I returned the key, I politely said I would not return because of this incident and Mrs. Grosseman's (the owner) response was "Don't worry...you're not invited back."
Long Beach is lovely and there are plenty of other places to stay that don't come with such rudeness. These people should NOT be in this industry.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
36 Thank saavytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    13
    6
    5
    29
See reviews for
35
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

DO NOT STAY HERE. Worst experience ever. The women- she may even be the owner is the rudest person I have ever talked to. I would never give her my business. She clearly does not care or want it. I would rather pay 5 times as much to stay at a place that wants the business.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
25 Thank 12222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York Beach hotels

Rockland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2006

We recently vacationed at Long Beach Motor Inn, it was a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. The Grossmans keep their place immaculate from the rooms to the gardens.
They are very friendly and will do anything to make you feel part of their family. We are looking forward to returning this fall.
Lorrie and Clint

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank lorabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

My wife just called the Long Beach Motor Inn to check rates and availability. The represenatative was rude and not helpful at all. We don't care if the cost was $5 a night, we will not stay here and will never recommend it based on this experience. Apparently, this is standard behavior from this motel based on other accounts. Try The Anchorage Inn next door.

  • Disliked — Terrible/rude customer service.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't bother.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
18 Thank dpall74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2006

We have been staying at the Long Beach Motor Inn for the last 4 year for our summer getaway. Our annual sisters vacation wouldn't be the same anywhere else. Gary is our host and he goes above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. The lawn is pristine and the flowers are beautiful. The swimming pool is always sparkling clean and very relaxing. The kids feel right at home playing shuffleboard, badminton, and baseball on the back lawn. The rooms have a kitchenette which is so convenient when traveling with a family. The inn is directly across the street from Long beach where we swim, play ball, and take in the sun! Our last trip was on Memorial day and we're returning tomorrow from Connecticut for another memorbale week at the Long Beach Motor Inn!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank thesisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2006

No.Attleboro,Ma. WE'LL BE BACK ! We have been coming to York Beach for 25 years and better and in that time we have stayed at several places. Now we will look no further. The Long Beach Motor Inn is by far the best stop on the beach. The rooms are as well kept as the grounds. I think the Grossmans have thought of everything. You will find a paper in the door every morning and music at the pool in the afternoon. Familys with children will find this place ideal, there is grass to play on with shuffleboard and of course the heated pool for those of you who can't get used to Maine water. It is also ideal for couples who are looking for some alone time,peaceful and quite. There is one complaint... we had to go home. I would like to thank the Grossmans for their high standards and shareing their home with us. We also enjoyed the stories and pictures the Grossmans shared with us that showed what hard work can achieve. Keep up the great work you do and are looking forward to our next visit. Diane and Denis

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 15, 2006

I visit the York Beach Motor Inn on the beach of the atlantic ocean every year and would not consider any other hotel, Inn or resort in Maine. A great experince on the ocean, very clean, beautiful veiw and polite and accommodating staff. Everything you would want from a great vacation that is located near all points of interest that York has to offer. You would be cheating yourself of a great experience in York Beach Maine not to enjoy staying with the Grossman family@York Beach Motor Inn.

Helpful?
26 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
1.4 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
360 reviews
1.8 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
733 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Motel
Sunrise Motel
#6 of 9 in York Beach
64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Motor Inn

Property: Long Beach Motor Inn
Address: 271 Long Beach Avenue, Box 615, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Long Beach Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Long Beach Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Motor Hotel York Beach
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach York
Long Beach Motor Inn Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing