We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place To Stay..”
Review of Sunrise Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Whitman, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Nice Place To Stay..”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We visited the Sunrise Motel located in York Maine on Sept 9th for a a three day visit. We were given a coupon for a hot breakfast each day at the nearby Lobster Cove restaurant included with our room rate. Both places were enjoyable. Our room with an efficientcy unit was cleaned daily. We were able to use a grill out in front of the motel in a designated area and enjoy a picnic table with an umbrella, there are also lawn chairs. Being directly across from Long beach the view was spectacular, especially seeing the sunrise and the sunset. The rates were modest. The only thing I think should be replaced are the front drapes as they were thermal and were showing signs of being worn, plus they need a decent way to close the picture window drapes facing the parking lot and the beach either with a pulley system or a rod to close and open..this was missing so everytime I went to close it would come off the hook. The efficientcy area stove, refrigerator,microwave, coffee pot has pots,flatware, dishes, kitchen cleanup linen which is changed every day. The cleaning crew did a very good job..I have no other comments except if we go to York Maine again this would be our #1 consederation. The management is most helpful and pleasant also.

Room Tip: They do have off season rates..go on line and check it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jonibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    10
    1
    6
See reviews for
23
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

After searching the internet for weeks, we decided to try the Sunrise and hope to make this an annual trip. We picked the best week, the last week of August, few crowds and incredible weather..kept the screen door open the whole time in the room. For an older motel, the room seemed updated and immaculate. You can tell how clean a room is by the smell...there was no smell, just clean! Perfect location...close enough to the beach and just on the edge of the rocks...the best of both views...and yes, the Nubble Lighthouse is in clear view from the balcony! We are an older couple and the third floor, private balcony and butler pantry was perfect for us. We could have paid twice the money further down the strip but would not have enjoyed ourselves anymore! And having breakfast at the Lobster Cove meant a lovely walk to and from in the beautiful ocean air!

Room Tip: If you are a couple, try the King suites on the third floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MiniRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Myself, Daughter and her three childen (tripletts) stayed here August 25, 2012. I have stayed at many hotels/motels in the York area. This Motel was by far the best! The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. The view was spectacular!! We are looking forward to staying at this Motel this Fall!! Thank you to all the Staff!

Room Tip: Third floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Sunrise Motel in mid-August. We had an ocean-facing room with two full-size beds. The cost: $230 per night.

Upsides:
- immediately across the street from the ocean
- full, unobstructed ocean view
- very short walk to beach access
- fridge and microwave
- free wifi (but weak)
- clean

Downsides:
- uncomfortable, unstable-feeling beds
- dated decor
- one pillow per person provided for 4 people.

I always judge a hotel/motel/inn first and foremost on how well I can sleep. So it's for the uncomfortable beds alone that I don't rate the Sunrise more highly. For $230 a night, the beds should be much better.

Room Tip: Third floor has private balconies...but they cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KHalvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed here off season for one night. Everything was alright, but much nicer rooms can be had off-season at other hotels for the same rate or similar.

Rooms are a little worn/dated, bed was not comfortable, wifi didn't work. But it was clean and safe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My husband and I decided to do something special for Valentine’s Day this year. Already familiar with the Sunrise Motel we went to their website. They are open-year round and we were able to find a really great package deal. We booked a two night stay and we got a room on the third floor with a king bed. We usually stay on the second floor, so when we took a room on the third floor I didn’t mind loosing the efficiency kitchen because we gained a private deck. The third floor room still had your basic fridge, microwave, and coffee maker; and seeing as I didn’t want to cook on my vacation I didn’t mind not havng the stovetop. I guess they call it a “welcome basket”, was in the room when we checked in. It was filled with all sorts of goodies; from a box of chocolates, candy, crackers, and all sorts of snacks. In the fridge we had a bottle of wine, cheese, and grapes. A cute little touch was inside the ice bucket, which held the two wine glasses, was a cute colored cardstock printout that had some wonderful quoted saying as well as a thank you from the staff. Included in the package was breakfast everyday day to the Lobster Cove Restaurant. Which was great because we love that place; great food, huge portions, and reasonable prices. The best part of the package would have to be the dinner that was included to Jonathan’s Restaurant in Ogunquit. The young lady at the front desk (Marie maybe?) was super nice and extremely helpful. We told her which day and time we wanted to have dinner and she called and made the reservation for us. We usually stay in the summer at the Sunrise but this was a nice treat for us to get away for Valentine’s Day. Our whole trip (including the two nights, breakfast and dinner, the whole deal) ended up costing us under $300; give or take. Even AFTER Maine taxes. So to stay two nights on the ocean and not having to cook or clean was WELL WORTH the money. I was happy to find the Sunrise had winter specials. Every time we stay at the Sunrise Motel the rooms are always extremely clean. This weekend was no different. We were pleased to see the motel making improvements as well. The new TVs are a great upgrade. I’m not familiar with TV sizes but I would have to guess it was either a 30 or 40 inch flat screen in our room. So in concluding my review I would have to say I recommend the Sunrise Motel to anyone looking for a great getaway. Clean and affordable (especially if you stay in the winter/fall time and get a package deal). They always have the nicest people working the front desk and they provide daily maid service. Which, let’s face it – most women don’t want to cook or clean on their vacation! We will definitely be coming back this summer, per usual. We don’t mind they don’t have a pool because you have the Atlantic Ocean right across the street!
*One last thing; I forgot to mention the Sunrise Motel included an extended checkout time for our romantic getaway. It was nice to sleep in and pack up later in the day. An unexpected treat because they don’t offer extended check out times in the summer.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have private balconies & a beautiful view of Nubble Lighthouse right from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelAdvisor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
223 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Nice motel right across the street from the beach. Great surise through my bedroom window. Surprised me how small it was. Staff very friendly. Our room was non-smoking but they provided ashtrays for the terrace which meant when we had our door open to watch and listen to the waves, our neighbors smoke came into our room. I know it is hard to restrict smoking but don't ptovide ashtrays. Rooms were nice with free wireless and small kitchettes. Our third floor room however, was only accesible by three flights of stairs. Lugging bags up three flights was tough. Overall a nice beachfront motel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TxAg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
1.8 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
99 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
733 reviews
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motel

Property: Sunrise Motel
Address: Route 1A & Long Sands Ave, York Beach, York, ME 03911
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeup to ocean views from every room at Sunrise Motel in York, Maine! Open Year-Round. Sunrise Motel is the perfect family getaway or vacation retreat to relax and play along the Maine coast. Just across the street from Sunrise Motel is Long Sands Beach, one of the longest beaches in southern Maine. Stretching over a mile and a half, Long Sands Beach is the largest of the four York area beaches. Located at the corner of Long Sands Road and Long Beach Avenue (Route 1A) in York, Maine, Sunrise Motel offers scenic ocean views from every room, as well as views of two lighthouses-Nubble Light and Boon Island Lighthouse. Sunrise Motel has 25 spacious guest rooms on three levels, with several types to suit your needs. Our Deluxe Ocean View rooms all have refrigerators and microwaves, while our Studio Suites are equipped butler's pantries and kitchenettes. In addition, all the guest rooms at Sunrise Motel feature free WiFi, as well as guest-controlled heat and A/C, flat screen TVs and in-room coffee makers and phone. Also included is a free hot breakfast-at a nearby oceanfront restaurant-for each day of your stay. Whether you prefer the convenience and easy access of our first level, the walkway deck on our second level or the more private third level, the staff at Sunrise Motel can assist you in choosing the right room for your coastal Maine visit. Every room at Sunrise Motel has a deck or private balcony with table and chairs where you can relax and enjoy the ocean views and scenic beach vistas. Sunrise Motel is minutes away from scenic sites, shopping and many dining options. York Harbor, Historic York and the York Cliff Walk are just around the corner, as well as Nubble Light and the Ogunquit Playhouse. Fifteen minutes south are the Kittery Shopping Outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sunrise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel York Beach
Sunrise Motel Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing