We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gorgeous beach”
Review of Short Sands Beach

Short Sands Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A family-oriented beach that includes a playground.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“gorgeous beach”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stopped after breakfast for a walk on the beach. So nice. Centrally located to parking, shops and restaurants.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mainegirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    102
    37
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Perfect for families...spent our 35th wedding anniversary with our kids and grand kids ...had a great time...great beach, stores, restaurants , shops and great park .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheri18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small and pretty”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Beautiful beach, but like it's name it is short. It gets very crowded on the weekends. You can park your car and walk to a variety of restaurants and stores.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank deniselamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just the right size”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Small cute little beach. Scenic. Park, playground, lots of shops, arcade, candlepin bowling restauraunts, a zoo and amusement park, all with in a 5 minute radius walk. Paid parking with restrooms. This can be a relaxing place, with just the right amount of entertainment/night life to keep the kids happy too. I have been going here since i was a little kid. Now, 35 years later, i am still going with my daughter, and i plan on going 35 years from now too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Short beach is not as beautiful as the neighboring beaches. The crowd is interesting - a mix of young and old, across different demographics.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Short Sands Beach also viewed

 

Been to Short Sands Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing