We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crisp winter air makes a walk across the sand exhilirating!”
Review of Long Sands Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Crisp winter air makes a walk across the sand exhilirating!”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

In winter, we love the solitude, the crashing waves and hard packed sand devoid of people!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lenthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    134
    28
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adirondack Foothills of NY State
Level Contributor
178 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Favorite beach of all!”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We've been coming for over 20 years and of all the beaches we've visited up and down the Atlantic Coast, this is our favorite. We love to walk in the surf and figured up and back (around the rocks at low tide) is about 3miles! High tide forces a walk on the sidewalk above the restaurant (the only one beach-side) A great workout! Sand has a nice texture ... not coarse like some beaches in the mid-atlantic area. Not many shops along this beach, but that's ok. The shops are in the village a short bike ride away. Several motels to choose from; cottages and cabins to rent. We go off season to avoid the crowds. Great places to eat at the north and south ends of the beach and a couple in-between. Daily routine includes sunrise walk, then coffee at the General Store, bike ride to Village to Golden Rod for B'fast; shop a bit; back to the hotel to change into swimsuits and head to the beach again! This is the LIFE! (Thunderstorms? go to the nearby outlets, art shops, theater in next town, etc)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ADKphotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Buxton, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Long Walk”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Best off season when it can be crowded -- wonderful walkng beach.

Helpful?
Thank CrazyAuntMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersworth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is my favorite beach.”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I go here in the summer at least once a week. Sometimes it's hard to get parking if you don't get there early but this is by far the best beach around. It doesnt offer to many shops but if you looking for a place to just relax for the day, this is it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Halacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
260 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Wonderful off season, gorgeous sunrise, fantastic for dogs walking - or watching”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is one of my favorite New England beaches to visit off season. In season it is quite busy, room rates are high; it's pretty but peace is in short supply. Off season it is peaceful open; dogs are allowed and come frolic in great numbers, and it is sheer joy to walk the beach at sunrise. Nice views of The Nubble lighthouse. Fun watching the surfers (yes, even in winter) and more recently the SUPs (Stand Up Paddlers).
It's an easy day trip from Boston, but if you want to say overnight, off-season rates are low and there is good availability of rooms. Some businesses close up, but many stay open.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank CamelCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Sands Beach also viewed

 

Been to Long Sands Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing