We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all cost” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Latch Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Latch Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2007

Senility has set in for the elderly owners of the Sea Latch Motor Inn. If you want a damper placed on your vacation plans, or if you are looking to see truth to the myth that all New Englanders are rude, stay here, and you will agree. Vacationers beware! Accomodations are very minimal, diry, and the odor is unbearable. This place gives true meaning to "motor coach Inn." You would be better off sleeping in a motor coach or your car than this establishment. Not a good place for families due to lack of respect and poor values.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
34 Thank beach_bunnie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    20
    12
    16
See reviews for
45
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2006

My husband and I spent a 3 day harvestfest weekend in York and at the Seal Latch. A great room with a King Bed and a front deck overlooking the beach, where we could see the Cape Neddick light house as well a Boone Island Lighthouse. Nice, well furnished, clean room. Michelle, our housekeeper was very accommodating and gave us extra towel, etc, when we asked. The rest of the staff were all very pleasant, and we enjoyed the friendliness of the coffee shop.
The Harvest Festival in the colonial part of York was fun and interesting, albit a bit crowded at time, but very enjoyable. With all the food stalls and the pig roast, we didn't get a chance to try any restaurants. Next time maybe.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2006

I stayed here with my 2 boys for one night this past summer. I was quick to learn the bathroom was not cleaned from the previous guests. I went to the front desk and was handed a bottle of cleaner and was told to please "clean it myself". I informed the owner with a phone call and received a $200.00 credit toward another stay along with a letter stating they were appalled of the action of the front desk attendant and the cleanliness of the room. in all fairness I attempted another visit only to find much of the same filthy rooms. I will never stay there again and would advise anoyone in search of a nice visit to the Oceanside to stay at The Cutty Sark, it was clean and the owners were very nice, thats were I ended up staying.

  • Liked — Nothing at all, it was very dirty and outdated as well.
  • Disliked — Pubic hair on the toilet and urine as well.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at the Cutty Sark,right up the street.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
54 Thank kostiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York Beach hotels

Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2006

My family and I just came back from a 5-day stay at the Sea Latch and we definitely recommend it! I was concerned about the motel after reading some of the reviews here but we had a wonderful time and will definitely be going back there! We found none of the problems that others mentioned -- the motel was clean, the rooms small but very clean, the air conditioning worked wonderfully (and this was during the week that there were over 100 degree days), the pool was very clean, and the people at the desk were very courteous! I don't know why others mentioned they had problems -- we never did and are recommending it to everyone we speak with! A high percentage of the other guests we spoke with were repeat guests -- some had been coming for many years. The Sea Latch is a very family-friendly place with lots of families staying there for the second (and third) generation! Stay There!!!!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank sunsunsunsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2006

I can't believe any review whom liked this place, I totally agree with the others before
that were posted, do not stay here. It is highway robbery, not worth
the cost of the so-called ocean view, that can be viewed if you dare go
on the wobbly third floor patio. The pool? Yuck, dirty, very dirty. The
rooms smelled musty. Was there even a phone in the room to use? Can't
even remember seeing one. Oh yea, and the little coffee shop was out of
anything by 930 am........ok take a chance if you want, but don't say
you were not warned first.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
57 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2005

This hotel should be condemned. It was terrible, what we thought was going to be a great trip, was a nightmare. What the web advertises as a fresh water swimming pool, well ok if you like green water. We stayed in the Manor house, the pictures on the website must of been taken a long time ago. It didn't look like that. It was dark, dingy, unclean, gross. The door on the screened porch didnt work, the balconey was unsafe, the towels were little, the small fridge didnt work, the water trickled out of the faucet, the rugs were dirty, the hall had dead moths on it. OK do I need to go on? I think maybe staying at the Bates or the Roach Motel may have been better than this. Don't waste your money.

Helpful?
57 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2005

The location is great (right across from the Ocean), but the motel itself is old and not in that great of shape. We could barely unlock our door and had a hard time locking and unlocking it every time we went out. Plus the rooms do not face the ocean, so I was very disappointed. I had thought I would be able to sit outside my room and gaze at the water, but I couldn't see it because the rooms faced in. The room itself was small and kind of musty smelling. I might go back, but I doubt it.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank bcabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
1.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.8 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Latch Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Latch Motor Inn

Property: Sea Latch Motor Inn
Address: 277 Long Beach Avenue, Route 1A, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Latch Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Latch Motel, located across from Long Sands Beach in York Beach, Maine, boasts a stunning, scenic view of the ocean and offers a diverse choice of accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, cottages and suites. New for 2014, our Manor House has been replaced with a brand new, three-story, all-suite building.In addition to the on-site amenities including a swimming pool, free parking and free hot breakfast at the Lobster Cove restaurant, the York Beach area offers a wealth of attractions to keep you entertained, satisfied and wishing summer in New England could last forever. During your stay you may consider lounging on Long Sands Beach, visiting York's Wild Kingdom or nearby Nubble Lighthouse. And don't forget about the dozens of shopping opportunities at the infamous Kittery Outlets.Between the feel of the sea breeze, the warmth of summer air, the smell of the ocean and the sound of the waves lapping the shore, the memories of your visit to York Beach Maine will surely become lifelong treasures.We are family-owned and operated and our goal is to make you feel at home, while you're away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Latch Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Latch Hotel York Beach
Sea Latch Motor Inn Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing