We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, enjoy it every year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Latch Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Charlemont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, enjoy it every year!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our family rents a cottage there for a week each year. The location is great and for a family looking for a place to stay and play, it's nice. The cottages show some wear and tear but are a nice getaway with full kitchens. Beds are a bit small for larger guests but decent overall. The hotel rooms are older and a bit on the smallish side, but a good value in a tourist spot compared to others lodging options. Family run operation with pretty good service but limited amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nexdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaLatchME, Manager at Sea Latch Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding Sea Latch Inn. We're glad you enjoyed our location and the surrounding area. Since your last visit, we have added 31 new rooms, refurbished the pool, and have started adding new coffee makers to every room which should be finished by this fall. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    20
    12
    18
See reviews for
46
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at the sea latch right before our first born was due. The rooms where clean upon arrival. Woman at the front desk ( Jamaican woman) extremely nice and helpful. White woman upon arrival at the front desk not so personable. Had a great stay location was beautiful. Cleaning lady did not empty trash when cleaning our room on the second day. No coffee maker in room and front desk area did not open till 10 am where you could get coffee.:( other than those few things the stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lkissbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaLatchME, Manager at Sea Latch Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding Sea Latch Inn. We're glad you enjoyed our location. Our housekeeping manager reviewed the room and spoke to the housekeeper regarding the missed trash can. Our front desk manager spoke to the front desk staff. Our front desk opens at 8:30 am, however at 10:00 am they close the office to open the pool. We have started adding coffee makers to every room and this task should be completed by fall. We hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I am currently staying at the Sea Latch... Been coming here for over 25 years... They added a new building in the middle of their property that books for $325 per night in season that is way too much for families. They also lost many of their parking spaces and they do not have room assigned parking so you could spend $200 to $350 a night and have to hump it to your over priced room. Not good if one is disabled or the weather is bad. The front desk help do not wish to service the guests. I heard them say to another guest who was requesting an extra blanket... You have enough blankets...the location of the motel is the draw... The price... Old rooms.. And arrogant staff will be their downfall .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaLatchME, Manager at Sea Latch Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about the Sea Latch Inn. Our all-new Manor House and pool provides an opportunity for us to appeal to a greater number of guests, particularly our new ADA (handicapped) room and suites, the ease of entrance to the building and the new elevator. The new building has been well received by new and repeat guests.

Parking has been dramatically increased from 53 to 83 spaces (of which, 5 are handicap parking and 46 spaces are grassy paver parking). This has resulted in a reduction of pavement and an 18,000 square foot increase in grass area.

One thing that we are very pleased about at the Sea Latch Inn is the range of accommodations we provide and that we are able to maintain competitive rates ranging from $140/night to $370/night throughout the summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Sea Latch has a very freindly and homey feel. Found the hotel on line by chance and it looked reasonable clean and was across the street from beach for just a weekned stay.
Upon check in was greated by very freindly smiles and given keys and a local tourist map and the room included free breakfast at local restaurant down the road.
Was told we can ice for our coolers to go to beach ($1.00 for a bag).
Room itself is a little dated but was clean and roomy even had a small fridge. On way to beach we stopped by the lobby to get ice and see if they had any plastic knives. They didn't but offered us regular one to use for the day.

They are doing construction on property adding my condo style rooms so pool was closed.
Think the renovations will be a great thing as the regualr rooms are a little outdated.
Cant wait to go back once contruction is done and stay in new units..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lincolnlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaLatchME, Manager at Sea Latch Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding the Sea Latch Inn. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to say that our construction phase is completed. We hope you will come back real soon to stay in our new building and swim in our refurbished pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Sea Latch was directly located across from the Beach.....Gotta love it!!! The rooms are clean, with comfortable beds. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful when we had questions. Love the vouchers for daily breakfast. It's not the Ritz, but I go there for the beach and I want to be as close to the water as I can...works well for me!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

If you are looking for a good location to the beach, this is excellent. If you are looking for a nice place to stay, this is not it. The rooms are tiny and dated. My husband actually felt claustrophobic in the room. I would describe it as your typical older motel feel inside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaLatchME, Manager at Sea Latch Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Sea Latch Inn. We heard you! Since your last visit, we have built a new 31 room, 3 story, elevated hotel. We have refurbished the pool and have added over 30 new parking spaces. However, we are not finished yet, there will be more positive changes coming to the Sea Latch Inn! We hope you will come back to visit us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Royalton, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We've been staying at the Sea Latch most summers for many years. We love that it's kid-friendly, handicapped accessible, and right across from the beach. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are comfy and clean, and the cottages were our kids' favorites back when they were little. We'll be staying again this summer, can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaLatchME, Manager at Sea Latch Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you taking the time to review Sea Latch Inn. We're glad you enjoy coming back each year to visit us! We hope you enjoyed the new changes that have taken place (such as the new three story Manor House with elevator and new refurbished pool). However, we are not finished yet. There will be more positive changes coming to Sea Latch Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
1.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand View Inn and Cottages
Grand View Inn and Cottages
#3 of 4 in York Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Latch Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Latch Motor Inn

Property: Sea Latch Motor Inn
Address: 277 Long Beach Avenue, Route 1A, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Latch Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Latch Motel, located across from Long Sands Beach in York Beach, Maine, boasts a stunning, scenic view of the ocean and offers a diverse choice of accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, cottages and suites. New for 2014, our Manor House has been replaced with a brand new, three-story, all-suite building.In addition to the on-site amenities including a swimming pool, free parking and free hot breakfast at the Lobster Cove restaurant, the York Beach area offers a wealth of attractions to keep you entertained, satisfied and wishing summer in New England could last forever. During your stay you may consider lounging on Long Sands Beach, visiting York's Wild Kingdom or nearby Nubble Lighthouse. And don't forget about the dozens of shopping opportunities at the infamous Kittery Outlets.Between the feel of the sea breeze, the warmth of summer air, the smell of the ocean and the sound of the waves lapping the shore, the memories of your visit to York Beach Maine will surely become lifelong treasures.We are family-owned and operated and our goal is to make you feel at home, while you're away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sea Latch Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Latch Hotel York Beach
Sea Latch Motor Inn Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing