We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Latch Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed one night with my son and his friend on the way to my class reunion. I grew up here but it was my son's friend's first time ever at the beach! Chose Long Sands because it is beautiful and this hotel gave us the perfect setting. Steps to the beach and all that beautiful surf. Rates were reasonable for the middle of July and everyone was super nice. Free breakfast at a great restaurant down the street with was just fabulous. The rooms, well, they were stuck in the early 80's or before but they were clean and comfortable. Again, sooo worth it for the great spot on the ocean with a gorgeous view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank folsomstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    20
    12
    18
See reviews for
46
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place has a great location, but it has not been maintained. It looks worn, old and tired. We tried saying there again this year, but not so good. Seems a little cleaner this time, but it seems like the owners are just limping it along year after year, waiting for some poor fool to buy it. I suppose it could be worse, but that's not saying much. By the way, they have VERY limited hours if you want to use the laundry room, so be aware of that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaLatch_CND, Public Relations Manager at Sea Latch Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our location. We're happy to announce that we did, in fact, tear down our old Manor House and replace it with an all new 3-story, all-suite building. We would love to have you back as a guest this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York Beach hotels

Exeter, NH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Steps from the beach and restaurants. Reasonable rates even in the high season. Staff is super nice. Rooms are - ummmm, average at best. Exterior lock didnt work well, beds felt like they were about to break but hey its the beach and its cheap so......

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are awesome - amazing sunset views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brayden T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielson, Connecticut
Level Contributor
123 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed just one night. They accomdated us even though they generally like people to book at least 2 nights. The room was clean, comfortable and with great AC. King bed was comfortable, fridge kept everything very cold and the shower was clean, though we had some trouble with water temperature - going between hot and cold and not much in between.

The location is PERFECT. ♡ long sands

the breakfast at lobster cove was included and delicious.

Staff were helpful with info on fireworks, parking , ice and corkscrew.

The chairs outside the room were nice to sit out at night. We didnt use the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndeborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After reading previous reviews I was not expecting to enjoy this place as much as we did! I made a last minute reservation to stay for one night with my mom and 5 year old son. We were expecting the worst and are SO happy with what we actually got!

The location is superb! Directly across the street from the beach. We arrived early and even though we couldn't check in right away, they let us park there so we could go over to the beach.

Once we were done at the beach, we dipped in the pool for a few minutes. It was lovely. It is a very deep pool though, so if you have small children be careful. Even the shallow end was about 4.5 feet.

Our room was average. It was clean which is the most important thing. The bathroom was smallish and hey do need to replace the shower heads, but otherwise everything was fine. We definitely enjoyed sitting on the deck (we had an upstairs room) with a glass of wine before heading out to dinner. The view is spectacular.

The people were very friendly, and I will definitely stay here again for a last minute trip to the beach.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank KatieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tish c, Front Office Manager at Sea Latch Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Sea Latch Motor Inn. Just to let you that the pool is getting a much needed facelift. We are reducing the depth of the pool to 5' in insure safety. A new shower room and toilet facilities are also part of the project.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Located directly across from Long Sands Beach, this hotel certainly looks nice, but needs some serious updating. I found the rates to be WAY too high for the quality. $170 a night should not have a broken ice machine, a warm mini fridge (no ice cube trays), and mold in the bathroom. When we asked for pool towels, we were told just use the ones in your room. Then we were told that we should have brought our own beach towels. There are no phones in the rooms, and the TV is a small 19 inch. Now, given the location, this wouldn't normally be an issue - as you're there for the beach. But remember that this is Maine...and there are rainy times. Also, the free hot breakfast is a $6 voucher for the Lobster Cove restaurant. The Jacuzzi is your bathtub, with jets. Barely big enough for one, no less two. Deck chairs look nice, but are weathered, with moldy spots on many. Staff was pleasant enough, but not knowledgeable when we asked if there was a pub or sports bar nearby. On the plus side...the sound of the ocean was lovely, the location is good, Bed was comfortable, and linens were clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our entire family started taking week long trips to York Maine back in 1990 and we have been going back consistently (with the exception of one or two years) since then. We have stayed at the Sea latch since that time and made some incredible memories here dating all the way back to Hurricane Bob in 1991.

The Sea Latch has never disappointed us. Right across the street from the beach, nice pool, good friendly service, great people staying there as well. We have stayed everywhere from the hotel rooms, to the big house room, and now prefer to stay in the cottages for the week. We've never been disappointed and we have always had a blast!

Thank you Sea Latch for the 25 years of great family memories, here's to many more!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyler_M10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
1.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand View Inn and Cottages
Grand View Inn and Cottages
#3 of 4 in York Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Latch Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Latch Motor Inn

Property: Sea Latch Motor Inn
Address: 277 Long Beach Avenue, Route 1A, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Latch Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Latch Motel, located across from Long Sands Beach in York Beach, Maine, boasts a stunning, scenic view of the ocean and offers a diverse choice of accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, cottages and suites. New for 2014, our Manor House has been replaced with a brand new, three-story, all-suite building.In addition to the on-site amenities including a swimming pool, free parking and free hot breakfast at the Lobster Cove restaurant, the York Beach area offers a wealth of attractions to keep you entertained, satisfied and wishing summer in New England could last forever. During your stay you may consider lounging on Long Sands Beach, visiting York's Wild Kingdom or nearby Nubble Lighthouse. And don't forget about the dozens of shopping opportunities at the infamous Kittery Outlets.Between the feel of the sea breeze, the warmth of summer air, the smell of the ocean and the sound of the waves lapping the shore, the memories of your visit to York Beach Maine will surely become lifelong treasures.We are family-owned and operated and our goal is to make you feel at home, while you're away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sea Latch Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Latch Hotel York Beach
Sea Latch Motor Inn Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing