We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, clean, but a little small”
Review of Sands by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sands by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice location, clean, but a little small”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Sands by the Sea is in a great location, you can walk to the beach, shopping, and dining. Their rooms are very clean but they are a little small. However the closet and dresser helps significantly so the room isn't too cluttered. The pool is also very nice, but doesn't seem to be heated as it was about the same temperature as the ocean across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. It is much appreciated. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself while staying here at the Sands by the Sea Motel. Please keep in mind that if room is a concern (depending on how many are in your party), we do offer all types of different accommodations from standard rooms to spacious suites, cottages, luxury condos and studio kitchenettes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    42
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
83
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
484 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Family vacation spot that exceeds expectations every year! Location alone is ideal, but GM Tate Duffy and his staff (led by Chris and Paul) "raise the bar" with support, cleanliness, and attention to every detail imaginable. I challenge anyone to find a place that combines all Sands does in one "package!"......Already counting days til next visit!

Room Tip: View from the corner rooms is breathtaking, and Sea Rose suites are "affordable luxury: at its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachK2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I visited York Beach for a family wedding and stayed at the Sands by the Sea for two nights. As soon as I checked in I knew I had made the right choice. Chris the manager was extremely nice. The room was immaculate. There were two double beds, a refrigerator, microwave and clothes hangers that you could actually remove from the closet. The view from the room was towards the pool and the ocean across the street. There are chairs outside every room and it was pleasant to to sit outside in the evening. It was very nice to open the windows and smell the sea air at night. The motel is centrally located to everything. Very nice little shops and restaurants to choose from. Its great to park your car and be able to walk to everything. A nice little place to stay in the village of York Beach. Would definitely return again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level have a nice view of the beach across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
What a nice review! Thank you so much for your enthusiasm regarding the Sands by the Sea Motel. Your comments and advice for all the potential TripAdvisor readers was great! We're always trying very hard to make our guest's experiences comfortable and pleasant and we're so glad that you enjoyed all the little things we do for our guests as well as our location. It means a lot that you chose us to stay with on vacation and also that you took the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It is much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon. Take care and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We had another perfect stay here. The location can't be beat. The ocean is literally across the street. All the shops and restaurants are right around the corner. The hotel is very clean and perfect for your basic necessities. The rooms are small and the bathroom is very small, however for as much time as you actually spend in the room, it is perfect.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lgray15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed our motel, our location and its proximity to the beach. We would also like to thank you for your great review. Our standard rooms are actually quite competetive in size compared to all the competition this close to the beach, but we also have suites, cottages and luxury condos that are larger in size if space is ever an issue for you in the future. We hope that your third, fourth and fifth stay will be as great as your "second stay". Take care and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just got back from our second, now annual, stay at the Sands by the Sea. We had a amazing three nights. If you are going to York Beach, look no further, this is the place to stay. You simply can't beat the location. Friendly staff(they all care about the guests), super clean grounds, close to everything. You park your car and never need it again. The beach is across the street and they also have a nice pool if that's what you prefer. Room has fridge and microwave, nice cold ac after a hot day at the beach. Beds are fine, twin pull out was adequate. No complaints from us, we will return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shedawg1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We love that you have started an annual family tradition in York Beach and that it includes us! We're so excited to be a part of your families memories. The list of things that you were happy about really motivates us to keep on going with all our improvements. We're so glad you noticed. We wanted to thank you for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My family and I booked two rooms for a few nights to enjoy the Fourth of July weekend. I must say it was nothing but the best from the Sands! Both rooms were immaculate, I must say I've never seen such clean motel rooms. From check in to check out the staff were so friendly and helpful. We had stunning views of the fireworks, the beach and the pool. I even got to take in a beautiful sunrise right from my room! You can't go wrong booking a few nights here. The location is superb! Just a few steps away from the beach, quaint little shops, nice places to eat and of course York's Wild Kingdom! Our favorite part of the motel is the pool! Always clean, refreshing and relaxing! We will be back soon! Thank you Samds by the Sea for yet another great vacation :) the Brammer-DiFiore family

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks Jen,

We always love having the Brammer Family down to the Sands! Thanks so much for your review. You didnt have to do that, but it makes us glad you took the time anyway. It was great serving you guys this year again and please let us know when we can be of service again. Take care until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for three nights over the 4th of July holiday. It was so convenient to the beach, fireworks, in town stuff for the kids, etc. The owner and general manager were so nice and helpful. Some minor things- the room was very clean, and the bathroom looked like it had just been redone. However, there was not a single towel bar or hook to hang towels on! And we had 3-4 wet beach towels and bathing suits to hang daily as well. Our room was a studio suite, and it could have used a privacy curtain between the queen bed and pull-out couch. There were also no curtains or shades on the windows. They were small, but people could still see in, and the sun would come in at 5:00am! But the room was away from the main road, so it was quiet. And my kids loved the pool. The whole hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.1 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
3.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
3.4 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
1.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cutty Sark Motel
Cutty Sark Motel
#4 of 9 in York Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands by the Sea

Property: Sands by the Sea
Address: 15 Ocean Avenue, PO Box 300, York Beach, York, ME
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like being able to check into a clean, friendly, ocean front motel with a beautiful pool and close proximity to not only the beach, but the shops, restaurants, park, trolly, amusement park and even a Wild Animal Kingdom, then you've found the right place! Come see us at the Sands by the Sea Motel where all of your troubles and worries will melt away as you first arrive and view out over the majestic Atlantic Ocean, which is visible from most of our comfortable accommodations. We have a range of standard rooms, 1-bedroom suites, 2 or 3 bedroom cottages and even the Sea Rose Luxury Condominium Suites. We look forward to seeing you in York Beach at the Sands by the Sea Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sands by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands By The Sea Hotel York Beach
Sands By The Sea Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing