We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad really” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sands by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Goshen, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not too bad really”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We got to Maine early and needed a room, so I checked this one out. I thought it was a little bit high for the time of season, and quality but I was tired of driving. I will tell you that the young lady who checked me in could not have been nicer. She was always smiling and accommodating, very helpful. I think the pool is in a terrible location as it makes parking in the front a bit of a pain, and my rental car was even really tiny. I don't know how SUVs were able to easily maneuver in and out of the parking. I didn't want to park in the back because I was tired and have a 2 and 4 year old to unload. The room wasn't too bad, we all slept comfortably. The location of this hotel is excellent. There is a park, shops and restaurants within walking distance and I'm betting it is even better during peak season. I would recommend staying here if you have a coupon to knock off a few $$.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBradley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review. We are glad that you tried out the Sands by the Sea Motel and enjoyed a comfortable stay. I have to say that the location of our pool is quite perfect in our opinion, especially since its the only pool on Short Sands Beach and a 1 minute walk from the shore. If we replaced the pool with another parking lot, then there would be no pool at all. If there was no pool at all, then Im sure many customers and kids would be very disappointed :^(. Im pretty sure your kids probably didnt mind driving the short distance around the pool so that they could infact actually have a pool to use. A very beautiful pool might I add. We are glad you were able to find a parking spot up front and close to your room. Also, please keep in mind that we offer discounted days every month we are open called "Sand Dollar Specials". We give $10.00 and $20.00 off on many different days in June. All you have to do is mention the Sand Dollar Specials when you book and you can use the discount if it applies. Remember that for next time. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    42
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
83
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have to agree with the review "over rated". I too expected more from the on line photos. We were there for one night as we drove our way up the coast. Our room was clean and the beds very comfortable but it is very old and the floors seem to be listing towards the sea. Perhaps in season it would fit the needs for beach people. We were there pre-season so could have done better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patonfairmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Excellent location. Friendly staff. Small but very clean room. Parking at room not guaranteed .it is , on a first come first serve basis. However, plenty of parking room at the side and back of the property.

Room Tip: Excellent location, directly across from beach, within walking distance of commercial area. Small ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamusr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your review. We will always appreciate your kind comments as well as your constructive criticisms. We hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pownal, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

GREAT rooms, Clean & Comfortable. GREAT staff, friendly, courteous, outgoing, they appreciate your business and tell you so. Customer Service at its best! Great pool area. Location, location, location. Walking distance to the beach (across the street) shopping and restaurants. We'll be returning soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Your review was really uplifting and validating. We appreciate your nice comments so much and are so happy you enjoyed your stay. The staff works very hard to keep these rooms clean and our customers happy and it means a lot when you let us know we are doing a good job. Give us a ring anytime you're ready to come back and thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I had the chance to rent the Sandpiper suite for the weekend and all I can say is amazing!!!! Two bedrooms and two baths offered a high level of privacy in the room and the deck overlooking the sea was beautiful. I would live here in a heartbeat. If you have the extra cash, stay at the suites at the Sands, you won't be disappointed. Cheers!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
The Sea Rose Suites of York really are an excellent option for those who only demand the very finest in accommodations when they travel to York Beach Maine. We're so glad that you were so pleased with them. I know the feeling of wanting to move in permanently, unfortunately they are only available by the week or night. If that owner ever wants to sell we'll be sure to give you a ring first! Thanks so much and we hope to see you again soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We came in on a Friday without a reservation. We were allowed to rent a room for $99 a night most likely because we were coming before the season started. Clean, and the beach was literally across the street. 10/10 would come again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMalster155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks so much for the encouragement! We always try to work with our guests when we can and we're glad we were able to accommodate you. Take care and come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I and our 8 year old twins stayed here in July 2012 in one of the side buildings -- a full-kitchen condo on the second floor with a "view". Our surprise was by the pictures on the web site, and some of the marketing commentary ("the nicest place on York Beach!") you would think you were staying at a nicer place. This was a motel, situated in downtown York, where your "view" was mostly of the public beach parking lot that led to the small horseshoe shaped public beach. The 2 room condo itself was small and narrow, with over-sized furniture in it for the space available, and as a family of four we felt a little cramped in there I will admit. It looked like it had recently been renovated...not gorgeous, but up-to-date enough, although the wall decoration was sparse. A few things (forks, towels) were missing in the condo. We did get towels from the front desk....no forks though. The shared deck space is really big, which is nice, and afforded enough privacy.

We found out these condo rooms reside next to one of the downtown restaurant/bars that play live music at night, and we heard the "thump, thump" of the drum beat most nights we were there.

The pool was over-chlorinated, but the kids enjoyed it. It sat in the middle of the motel parking lot, which I guess is typical of motels. The waterfall they picture on their site is a lot smaller than it looks and the pool is not as nice as it is pictured either.

All in all, we felt this hotel was over-priced and oversold from what we expected given the web site. If we were a younger partying couple, looking for a place in the middle of the action and within walking distance to the beach (willing to trade location and action for luxury), this would be a very good match. But as it was, we felt disappointed by the quality and the "view"/location of our room, based on what we expected.

Room Tip: There are regular motel rooms, but the suites are in a different building down the street from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorkingMom2Twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We have never, in 8 years, heard of anyone stating that one of our 2-bedroom luxury suites were "cramped", especially for a family of only 4! These units are huge and that comment absolutley confuses and shell-shocks me. The website gives clear pictures of the views off the decks with the beach parking lot included and we cannot control the fact that there is parking out in front of the beach. It is what it is. All of our other patrons seem to go on and on about the view. We are all still taken, even after all this time, by the view whenever we have to go up to one of these suites. The views are beautiful and I'm sorry you didnt have the ability to enjoy them. The idea that the condos "were not gorgeous, but up to date enough" is completely preposterous and entirely ludicrous. That comment alone gives us a clearer picture of the type of individual that left this review. These units are a labor of love and quite tip-top and modern in every way and we challenge anyone in the area to show us suites more luxurious and modern than the Sea Rose Suites of York. Your review was tiresome and inaccurate in almost every way. I found your review to be one big bore. No one would ever be denied a fork for god sake. Thanks for your incredulous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.1 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
3.1 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands by the Sea

Property: Sands by the Sea
Address: 15 Ocean Avenue, PO Box 300, York Beach, York, ME
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like being able to check into a clean, friendly, ocean front motel with a beautiful pool and close proximity to not only the beach, but the shops, restaurants, park, trolly, amusement park and even a Wild Animal Kingdom, then you've found the right place! Come see us at the Sands by the Sea Motel where all of your troubles and worries will melt away as you first arrive and view out over the majestic Atlantic Ocean, which is visible from most of our comfortable accommodations. We have a range of standard rooms, 1-bedroom suites, 2 or 3 bedroom cottages and even the Sea Rose Luxury Condominium Suites. We look forward to seeing you in York Beach at the Sands by the Sea Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sands by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands By The Sea Hotel York Beach
Sands By The Sea Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing