We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Overnight Stay”
Review of Sands by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our stay at the Sands by the Sea was very nice. We were visting the York Beach area for a family wedding, and the Sands was very conveniently located closed to the reception being held at the Union Bluff Meeting House. It was an easy walk to everything and the beach was directly across the street. Amazing views of the beach from outside our room....as well as, very nice clean pool. We were on a tight schedule and needed an early check in, in order to change and get ready for the wedding in Wells. The Sands owner, Tate, was very accommodating and arranged for an early check in at the time our reservation was made. Our room had 2 double beds and a sofa and was located on the street level. Comfortable for party of 4, A/C worked great, and our room was clean & quiet. We would definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to come back and spend more time in this beautiful area that has so much to offer. Great time & great memories!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 149 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

During the busy season I am sure the convenience is much more appreciated. I stayed off season and was very pleased. Even during the off season, the hotel was busy, but quiet. I lucked out when booking & got the BEST room. I had one of the 4 that are on the end of the building & actually have a beautiful ocean view. Because it was the off season, it was really quiet & I had my window open most of the weekend. Room was large. King bed was tight to the door, would not be able to get in & out of that side of the bed, but, otherwise, the room was very spacious. Very helpful staff. Very limited, tight parking in front of hotel, but there is a large parking lot behind the hotel which seemed relatively secure. Again, this was the off season.

Room Tip: Room #2 & #58 are upstairs facing the ocean. Room #1 & #57 are downstairs facing the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel had both good and not-so-good points. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Sands by the Sea to anyone who wants a place at the heart of Short Sands and is not expecting a luxury experience. We have stayed at various hotels on Short Sands, as well as Long Sands and would rate the Sands by the Sea equal to any we have experienced.

The Good: Great location; helpful, friendly staff; clean but very modest room; very good bed; pleasant, immaculate pool and deck area.

Not-so-good: The inevitable wear and tear of a busy beach-side hotel; rooms are quite small and show their age; smoking is allowed on the shared balcony and from time to time we had to close our window while our neighbors exercised their rights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Nothing Fancy?! Are you sure Patrick ? Apparently you missed our Sea Rose Luxury Suites. Oh No! You can book those year round too. Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We always appreciate the honest feedback and the constructive criticism. We try very hard to continuously provide the cleanest, most convenient and friendliest experiences possible. We are always doing more and more upkeep and will execute more improvements every single year. This past year I invested a considerable amount of capital into the Sands and I'm glad that you noticed the pool furniture, the new deck and the new bed sets that were replaced in all of our rooms. We are aware that some guests are looking for what you referred to as a "luxurious experience" and I have to call you out on your oversight because we off that too! I will have to say that I am sorry you did not inquire further about all that we offer here when you booked. Please check on our website and take a look at our pics of the "Sea Rose Luxury Suites" when you click on the new slideshow. They are top of the line and stand alone when it comes to what is offered here on Short Sands Beach. Hardwood floors, granite counter tops, flat screen TV's, full kitchens, fine appliances, open rooms, sliding glass doors and unbelievable views of the Atlantic Ocean on Short Sands from the private decks. If you have a sweet tooth for this, please let us know next time and we will be happy to share with you what we offer. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Sands by the Sea was great. Very clean, very professional staff and close to everything including the Atlantic Ocean. All new deck and pool, including the lounge chairs and tables. A real pleasure being there. Hope to be there more next summer. Thanks Sands.

Room Tip: Ocean view was nice. Leave the windows open at night and hear the ocean crashing on the beach. Loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Heed the negative reviews of this motel on this website,they are spot on and worse. Thin walls , no quiet hours, noisy and inadequate parking, no where near your room. Safety concerns abound! Trip hazards, sharp metal edges on refrigerator door just a few cases. Night manager was clueless! I felt like I was taken for a ride, a very expensive ride. Save your money and find another motel.

Room Tip: Stay in another motel if at all possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

I would like all TA reviewers to know that this man was very nicely asked to move his car because it was taking up 2 parking spaces and he was very upset by this. He claimed that there were "no lines painted on the pavement". He was right. There were no lines because the town literally just came in this past week and repaved the road and the apron of pavement in our parking lot that was destroyed during the "York Beach Revitilazation Project" this past Spring during construction. They have not yet come to paint the new lines. Although everyone else seemed to be able to figure it out, he was apparently very perplexed by the way that all the other guests had parked tightly and in a uniform fashion. Now, where the new pavement meets the crushed stone that covers the majority of the main parking lot there is now a small lip. This guest angrily exclaimed that "this was a safety hazard!" and "if I trip on this I am going to sue you!" Also, this mans son stayed in one of our suites and was quite happy with his accomodation and about his stay. He was very nice to my staff. I do not know why Mr. E has taken such a hard line against us. It is very perplexing, but like my short story has illustrated with his letigous comments, I think we are dealing with a somewhat overly emotional individual.

Firstly: At the Sands by the Sea we have a "First Come, First Serve" parking policy. There are 16 parking spaces right up front and more then 5 of them were directly in front of Mr. E's room, so when he says that "the parking is nowhere near the room" he isnt being entirely accurate at all. These front spaces, although coveted, are usually attainable if parking is a really big priority for you and/or members of your party. Around check out, dinner time or even throughout the day these spots will become available as people depart to anyone who wants them. The rest of parking is right here on the property and not even a 20 to 40 second walk from most of our accomodations.

Secondly: Our walls are made out of cinder block and brick and have that old school plaster wall and additional sheetrock on top of them, so no, our walls are in no way shape or form "thin".

Thirdly: We do in fact have "Quiet Hours". These hours are posted clearly and also in all the room directories. After 10:00 PM during the weekdays and after 11:00 pm on weekends and every morning anytime before 9:00am. So the idea that we do not have quiet hours is also inaccurate and untrue, Mr. E.

We inspected the fridge in your room and there is nothing wrong at all with your rooms fridge. All the fridges are the same and yours was no different. Talk about over reacting? Why are you trying to make it seem like a death trap?!

As far as my "night manager being cluess"....I would like for you to know that Paul has a college degree and 5 years under his belt at this motel. Not only is he one of the most intelligent employees Ive ever had working for me but he is also a very loyal and caring individual. Furthermore he is very astute and entirely clued in to what is going on at the Sands by the Sea Motel! If you go over a lot of these TA reviews you will notice people mentioning Paul and how helpful and kind he is. The tone that your review has taken is unwarranted and your insults to my staff are are rude and unecessary. Just because Paul politely asked you to repark your car does not mean that you need to take it as some sort of personal insult. Learn how to park a vehicle correctly by watching everyone else and how they park, if you cannot figure it out for yourself just let a staff member know.

Lastly: "A very expensive ride"? really?.....our rates at this time of year are $119.00 per night and you stayed for 2 nights. These are entirely reasonable rates. We are cheaper than the competition, primely located and very clean. No one was "taken on a ride" except for the reviewers who have to read your faulty review and my long response to it. Thank you for wasting our time. We will be happy to have your son return and thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at this place the last week in August. The king sized bed juts right up against the wall. No way to get out of the bed from the one side. The pull out sofa had springs popping out. Loved the no towels over the balcony rule. Not sure I get it though. Clearly they think theres a modicum of ambiance? To access the pool you have to walk thru the drive way parking lot. The last room on the first floor allowed us spotty internet at best and the joy of the street cleaner/blowing at 6am every morning. The daily cleaning was less then optimal. By Friday our bathroom stank like a public restroom. Because of these substandard accomodations we literally only slept and showered there. Not a place tp go back and relax or recharge at. Huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsbytheSeaMotel, Owner at Sands by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We were unaware that you had not enjoyed your stay. We would really have liked to know while you were here so that we could have helped make your stay more enjoyable. Maybe by switching your room or possibly fixing any problem that you might of had. We are here to help. As far as the street sweeper at 6AM, that is enirely out of our control. They do not come every morning however and also they get past our property rather quickly. We cannot change what the town does and their schedual for street sweeping. Atleast they make an attempt to keep our streets consistantly clean. As for the location of pool and having to walk through part of the parking lot to access it, I have never in 11 years had that complaint. The pool is literally a stones throw from any one of our rooms and having to walk across the driveway to acess it is not necessarily an obsticle. We show clearly how our property is set up on our website. You can see that we are a horseshoe shaped motel with a pool in the center of that horseshoe with a driveway around it. What should we do, knock the whole building down and spend $7,000,000.00 redesigning the entire complex to comply with your thoughts on pool access? That would be nice, but I'm sorry to say that we just dont have that kind of money or time, especially since we are quite pleased, as are most of our guests, with our pool and its location on the property and to the beach. I am also unaware of any Internet problems on the end of the building. I put in 2 extra antennas to avoid any signal weakness' on the Ocean Front rooms, this is the first Ive heard of it and cannot say that I agree with your Wi-Fi signal analysis. i will be looking into this accusation immediately. We have incredibly strong signal that can handle a lot of users. It is possible that there was a glitch or somebody on the network was downloading something massive, either way we have systems in place to block those types of downloads and/ or reboot the system when need be. All you would have had to do was call the front desk. Complaining on line weeks later will not allow us to help you out in any way while you're staying with us. We should know about your concerns in real time, that way we have a chance to remedy them as soon as possible. As far as your comments on the cleaning...maybe the reason your bathroom smelled like a "public rest room" is because the people who were using it. Our bathrooms are clean and so is our daily housekeeping service. I guess we will never know now because you didnt express ANY of your concerns while you were here. If something is not up to par it is always a good idea to make management aware of it. I will not pretend that we are perfect, but we try very hard and would have loved an opportunity to help you. I think its OK to express some disappointments on line but I find your comments and opinions unecessarily demeaning and just over the top, rude. Thank you for not staying with us next time you come to visit York Beach from New Jersey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Sands by the sea was great. We stayed in a king room with a great view from small shared outside walk deck. Room was very clean and comfy. This was my second time staying here first time did girls weekend this time was with hubby. Both times had good time. Staff was more than accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.1 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
104 reviews
5 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
804 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands by the Sea

Address: 15 Ocean Avenue, PO Box 300, York Beach, York, ME
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range: $127 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like being able to check into a clean, friendly, ocean front motel with a beautiful pool and close proximity to not only the beach, but the shops, restaurants, park, trolly, amusement park and even a Wild Animal Kingdom, then you've found the right place! Come see us at the Sands by the Sea Motel where all of your troubles and worries will melt away as you first arrive and view out over the majestic Atlantic Ocean, which is visible from most of our comfortable accommodations. We have a range of standard rooms, 1-bedroom suites, 2 or 3 bedroom cottages and even the Sea Rose Luxury Condominium Suites. We look forward to seeing you in York Beach at the Sands by the Sea Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sands by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands By The Sea Hotel York Beach
Sands By The Sea Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing