We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best stays in Maine!”
Review of Sands by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had reserved a room with my boyfriend and I for a vacation over the weekend and we were more than pleased with the stay! Everything was clean and nicely organized. The staff was extremely friendly and even had a nice conversation with us when we arrived and left! If you're staying in York or anywhere near, please stay here! Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lmarcus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 149 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

My folks wanted to go away for a family weekend, now having a younger brother and sister, kind of a hard proposal. But we arrived and Paul, the manager, was extremely accommodating, the pool was so pristine, and the room immaculate!!! Everyone on the staff was so nice!!! Definitely with be going back for many more weekend escapes!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Covington B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The staff was wonderful and super friendly. Paul helped us out with anything we needed. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BrittanyC949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My family has been visiting york beach for the past 5 years now and see many more trips down the road. Sands by the sea has always been great to us. It is in a prime location and the staff is always friendly. Right across the street is an awesome beach that is always clean and kid friendly. With a cool play area and and arcade right next to it. Quick walking distance to many shops, candy stores and restaurants.
I have read some of the bad reviews of this motel and beach area. Frankly I think these people are crazy. I just want to say a thank you and job well done to the sands staff.

Room Tip: Go with the suites. Bigger rooms and full kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This will be my family's third Summer staying at The Sands By the Sea. We LOVE it here. You can't beat the location, the staff, the clean rooms or the price! My family and I can't wait to come back!

The staff are all so nice and very accommodating. The rooms are clean, and bright typical motel style. We always stay in a King room with sofabed. We have stayed in 2 different rooms so far, and both have been perfect no complaints here! We stayed once on the top floor and once on the ground. We never heard anyone in the rooms next to us and surprisingly we never heard anyone above us.

My kids love swimming in the pool and I have to say so do I! The waterfall is so pretty and the lounge chairs are so comfy you can't help but just relax by the pool all day. I really like the fact that you can have a few drinks and eat out by the pool too.

The location is PERFECT. When you stay at The Sands you don't need to drive anywhere! Almost everything is in walking distance. Love that the beach, arcade and park are all right across the street. York's Wild Kingdom is only a few mins down the road and so many yummy places to eat. Not to mention all the cute stores. The Sands is right in the heart of it all:)

At night time it is so fun to sit outside your room, have a few drinks and listen to the waves crashing. We love the Sands By The Sea and we will be returning every Summer I give this place 2 thumbs up! -Jen Brammer-DiFiore

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have an amazing view of the beach from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I've been staying at the Sands for years and I am really looking forward to staying there again this summer. The place is always clean, the staff is super friendly, and I just made my reservations for this summer and heard about a bunch of new upgrades. My family and I are really looking forward to our vacation and would never stay anywhere else in Maine. The Sands by the Sea has the perfect location. You can walk to everything, but my favorite thing to do is just relax by the pool. I love it there and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but you get a better view of the ocean on the second floor :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ecr520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.1 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
385 reviews
1.3 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
104 reviews
5 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
805 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands by the Sea

Address: 15 Ocean Avenue, PO Box 300, York Beach, York, ME
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range: $127 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like being able to check into a clean, friendly, ocean front motel with a beautiful pool and close proximity to not only the beach, but the shops, restaurants, park, trolly, amusement park and even a Wild Animal Kingdom, then you've found the right place! Come see us at the Sands by the Sea Motel where all of your troubles and worries will melt away as you first arrive and view out over the majestic Atlantic Ocean, which is visible from most of our comfortable accommodations. We have a range of standard rooms, 1-bedroom suites, 2 or 3 bedroom cottages and even the Sea Rose Luxury Condominium Suites. We look forward to seeing you in York Beach at the Sands by the Sea Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sands by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands By The Sea Hotel York Beach
Sands By The Sea Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing