We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Blueberry Pie”

Fox's Lobster House
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
405 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Fantastic Blueberry Pie”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We did not eat in the restaurant but ordered from the patio. My wife had a lobster roll and I had fresh blueberry pie, which I was told is made from scratch everyday. The lobster roll was fantastic and the blueberry pie was the best I have ever eaten in my entire life ! If you are anywhere near York Beach, ME you should come for the food and the view of the lighthouse is an extra treat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GilB867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    203
    98
    37
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and great view!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Of course this restaurant is at the Nubble lighthouse. We decided to eat at the outdoor part. We only had the haddock chowder but it was very good. It was thick with plenty of haddock, although not chunks, which is what I prefer. More haddock than potatoes.

If you just want to try something while visting the lighthouse, the haddock chowder is the way to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johndh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place!!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The view is amazing... The portions were incredible... I got the Lobster Mac and Cheese... Not only could I not finish it, but the pieces of lobster in it were enormous... Worth every cent!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank OliverNipples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worst place I've eaten during my New England trip”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I read the reviews and decided to eat at Fox's after visiting the Nubble Point Light House. The restaurant is conveniently located on the opposite end of the small parking lot that services the light house. As noted in the reviews, this is a very beautiful location. The restaurant has awesome views overlooking the ocean and was very clean inside. Many seafood restaurants tend to have grease on the table surfaces but not this one. Whenever I go to a new restaurant, I typically ask the waiter/waitress or the cook, what is the signature dish or what is the most popular dish on the menu. I has immediately directed to a baked lobster dish with their delicious breadcrumbs. I agreed to the recommendation. My baked lobster dish came in a small, 5"x3"x1" dish. It contained a few large chunks of lobster and an overabundant amount of their famous breadcrumbs. The dish was intensely salty. There was no real sauce but rather lots of watery substance in the bottom of the dish. This, along with parts of the dish still cold indicated that this dish was frozen and not freshly prepared at the time I ordered. I stirred the dish to mix the cold and hot portions so that I could continue eating. I did not send it back to the kitchen...something I never do for a number of reasons. The side dishes were equally lacking in taste. My broccoli tasted like it came right out of the freezer bag and the cole slaw was below average. All of this coupled with a large bill resulted in one big disappointment. It is unfortunate because this restaurant has the location. It has great potential if they could only turn out good food. I should have obeyed my instincts and leave when I noticed that it was 6PM on a Friday night and the place was only 30% filled. Do yourself a favor, visit the light house, enjoy the awesome ocean views, and search out a lobster restaurant where the locals hang out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank aj_travelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

How can you beat eating Maine lobster with a lighthouse in view? Perfect spot! Great lobster dinner. Great service. I even had room for the Wild Maine Blueberry Pie for dessert! It was a bit pricey, but you're paying for the view...and it's priceless. My one complaint: I ordered iced tea & it was instant - yuck!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buonviaggio_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox's Lobster House also viewed

 

Been to Fox's Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing