We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveler rating
224
222
154
71
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
224
222
154
71
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atrium building indoor pool across the street off season ocean suite splash pad third floor long sands beach free coffee great beach donuts get away small fridge gas fireplace high tide room was clean and comfortable short drive
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 766 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Rates per night are high here, but it is a nice place. Definitely has a "resort feel" to it. The complimentary coffee and tea in the poolside cafe/lobby is appreciated, but for the prices charged per night, I would think they should be able to include at least a free continental breakfast as many other places which cost much less per night do. The swimming pools looked very clean, and the staff was quite pleasant and helpful. Rooms are kept clean, and the shower/tub enclosure was immaculate. Toiletries provided were very nice - especially the two different types of soap - one for the face and the other a deodorant soap for the body. Both were delightfully scented. Temperature of the outdoor pool was wonderful and refreshing. Parking is tight, especially if you have a truck. Some of the rugs in the stairways of the Main Building are torn and a definite safety hazard if someone catches a heal or foot in them. Walls are a bit thin, so if you have noisy neighbors, that can be difficult for sleeping. Water temp and pressure in the shower is excellent. The in-room frig is tiny, so be sure to bring a cooler if necessary. The Long Beach Motor Inn next door costs quite a bit less per night with almost the same view of the ocean as well as a microwave in all or most rooms along with a frig, although it's an older place with no indoor pool.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

My family and I stayed one night in the atrium building. Room was clean and quiet. The 3 pools were great. Staff could have been more personable. I think out of all of the employees we came in contact with, only ONE smiled and seemed like they enjoyed their job. Breakfast at their restaurant across the street is OK, but is outrageously priced. Cost us $52 just for an average breakfast. Overall a decent stay. Would stay again for the fact that the rooms were comfortable, clean, and convenience to the beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

I have been going to the Anchorage Inn with my family since I was a child and it means so much to me to come back every year and share it now with my son and relatives. This hotel is all about the location. It's not a 5 star hotel, by any means, but the staff is superb and the it's a great place for the whole family. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in York. You literally can walk right across the street to the beach in the morning to go crab hunting, to return in the afternoon to splash in one of the three pools before heading downtown for dinner and the arcade.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel for sure!
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank melanieholt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

We were debating about visiting New England and checking hotel prices when we accidentally hit “purchase” on Groupon. Two minutes later we contacted Groupon and found out that we were unable to cancel because the dates we chose were past the hotel’s cancellation period. The hotel was willing to cancel our reservation but would not refund our money- even though we called right away and hit a button on our phone by accident. So we were stuck. I’m my opinion this policy is too rigid and ridiculous. There should be some sort of window for cancellation. Our stay started out a bit rough - we had to change rooms three times when we first arrived because of availability. Once we settled in we had a very nice stay. The hotel is in a great location- right across from the beach. Be aware that the tide comes all the way up to the rocks in the afternoon, so plan where you sit accordingly. Also - the ocean temp was very cold - even at the end of August. The rooms (all three!) were clean with a beachy feel. We stayed in the main building and had a nice ocean view from the shared balcony. The pool area outside was nice and there was plenty of seating. The indoor pool area was nice as well and connected to a snack bar/cafe. Plenty of space in the parking lot - even late at night. There is a restaurant right across the street that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The place looked nice but we did not get a chance to eat there - they close around 8:00pm. The restaurant prices reflect the location. One suggestion for the hotel - a fire pit would be a nice addition. Note for late night people - Portsmouth is a 20 minute drive and there are plenty of restaurant and bar options open late.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank JennyS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

This is our 6th year coming to the Anchorage Inn just before school starts back up. We love the location on this property. The ocean view from the Suites building is fantastic. We also love the private pool the Suites offers as it's less crowded and a little more relaxing. We will continue to come back!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews