We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean at your front door.”
Review of Anchorage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchorage Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Reviewed January 1, 2009

It was really nice staying so close to the ocean. Even saw a double rainbow that went over the ocean. Won't see that in the city! Nubble Light House is with view and if you like to walk,like we do, its a good hike. Long Sands Beach is across from the Hotel. This beach is clean and not commercialized like Old Orchard Beach. We perfer quiet settings and this was great! Walking along the beach at night is soothing and beautiful. We stayed in the Atrium Building which is located behind the main Suites. We were told that we had a view of the Ocean,which we did, however it was very minimal. The room was clean and comfortable. We could not see our car from our room. There was a "porch" big enough for 1 chair. There is a pool located in this building therefore it was very hot inside. Room air conditioners are kind of noisy. Breakfast was good, fresh baked goods, cereal etc. Overall, it was a nice experience. I would recommend staying in one of the front buildings if you can afford to. York has nice friendly people.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank works22much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 718 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2008

My husband and I were given a weekend at the hotel by our son and daughter in law. We are not familar with that part of Maine. At check in, the young man was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. We asked about places to eat in the area. It was off season so the choices were limited. We were in the back building which has its own pool. I went for a swim in the pool. Not to be too picky but I would have liked the water a little warmer. There was a limited ocean view from our room. It was great to be so close to the ocean. We took a ride to the nearby lighthouse. I found everyone at the hotel to be friendly and helpful. Worth the trip!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank applel118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

End of October, so it was an off season weekend. Rooms are not real big, but the beds were very comfortable. Room photo on the web site is a little misleading, makes the room look larger than it is. Everything was clean. The staff was real nice. Walk to the Sun & Surf across the street for great food. Bathroom is small and the sink is in the main room, ala Red Roof Inn. Hey, it's a motel. Not the Ritz, but certainly not bad. Want fancier, go somewhere else for twice the price.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Exoson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Just returned from enjoyable 3 night stay. We would recommend for anyone. It is not a 4 star resort. But it is good value for price. Our room in the Atrium building was clean and quiet with a view of the ocean. In fact, we left the window open to enjoy the sound of the waves. Front desk service was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank medog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

This hotel is so sleezy. When you call them and ask for a rate they tell you there best high rate. When you tell them you have a coupon they tell you that there are rooms available but when you show up there are no rooms at that price they have a whole list of other rates. All of them lower that there BEST rate but much higher than their coupons. The room rates changed as the guy read them to us. I couldn't believe this place and I ended up staying somewhere else because of the way they acted. Just in case you don't know this place is a motel not a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amyzoee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

nice location and space, but service among the worst ever experienced. no cell phone coverage. must drive to get to services.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank localtraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

September 12 - 15 Just returned from long weekend at the Anchorage and found our rooms in the original hotel section quite pleasant. Enjoyed the view of the light house and the ocean waves\tides and early morning late night fog roll in and out/ from our 2nd floor rooms. Bed was very comfortable. Off season pricing quite reasonable with 3 nights stay and dinner for 2 at ocean side surf and turf restaurant across the street was very convienient after all day driving. Might have found the pricier newer rooms less reasonable. Did bring our own coffee maker which was wise as there is no in room coffee maker and only available at pricy snack bar in pool area. General store just up the street also met all our last minute needs for snacks, quick breakfast and wine. Plan to return next fall.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goneracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
1.4 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
388 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,069 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
813 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
4.8 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn

Address: Route 1A, 265 Long Beach Avenue, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range: $99 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
202 Room Ocean Front Hotel with 2 indoor, 1 outdoor seasonal pool with slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel York Beach
Anchorage Resort York Beach
Anchorage Inn York Maine
Anchorage Inn Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing