We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very negative experince”
Review of Anchorage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We were extrememly disappointed with this hotel and would not stay here again. The carpet in our room was dirty. The hotel felt very crowded, there was limited parking and the pool looked dirty around the edges. I felt uncomfortable staying here with our young children. Still, it was fully booked so perhaps others had a different experience!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 700 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2008

My husband and I just spent 3 nights in a third floor king bed room in the main building. We selected this property on the recommendation of family who have enjoyed annual visits to York.

First, let me share that my husband and I have been very fortunate in being able to travel to many fine hotels across the country. We know luxury and we have high standards. However, we are also realists. We know for instance, that when booking a room for under $200/night, during peak season, in a New England coastal town, we are not booking the proverbial "Ritz".

We were greeted by a respectful, if not gracious, young woman at the desk and we were able to check in about 1 hour before the regular check in time of 3 p.m. We knew when we booked a third floor room that we were looking at a hike up two flights of stairs. We considered the enhanced view and the reduction of noise overhead worth the extra work to get to the room. The room was neat and clean though clearly the building overall needs some updating (the drop ceiling, dated wall coverings and cracked mildewing caulk in our bathroom being key examples).

The view was lovely...both from within the room (the windows were spotless) and from the balcony. The bed was new (as a recent reviewer noted) and VERY comfortable. 6 pillows (each appearing to offer a different degree of firmness) was offered on the bed. The walls are not soundproof but we had courteous neighbors and were not awakened nor kept awake by talking or other such sounds of life.

The pools were small but seemed well maintained. We did not take advantage of this "perk" largely because of the weather and because this clearly was a necessary amenity for families of children and as such was not a place of relaxation for us. We did enjoy the roof deck one afternoon.

The Sun and Surf Restaurant across the street is wonderful and worth trying out for breakfast, lunch and/or dinner.

Having said all of this, one might wonder why we elected to give this setting only a three out of five. Again, we are realists. We enjoyed our stay for what it was...a brief sojourn into small town New England. The view of the ocean through power lines and across a busy road...a shared balcony with strangers...pools and common areas really working to meet the needs of families...a structure in need of some updating...combined with a decent, safe and clean setting in an ideal location for a beach vacation all adds up to an average rating... worth the trip (and money).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelduo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

The new luxury suites are not worth the price. Color of decor (furniture and rugs) were an unattractive green. There is a microwave and sink but no utensils. Coffee maker with coffee but no sugar or creamer. The view is great but only from the small sliding glass door. Just not a luxury, beachy feel.
My suggestion is to pay a lot lower price and stay in one of the spa suites. No elevator so ask for first or second floor. We stayed on the first floor the end of 2007 and it was great. Lots of windows, full kitchen etc. So much nicer and cozier than the 'luxury suites'.
Front desk was not very knowledgable - asked 3 times if the pool at the luxury suites was heated and got 3 different answers! It is heated . The girl at the suites to help just those residents was great - not her fault how they were designed or furnished. She was friendly and helpful. I will go back but only to a spa suite.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diva50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Our family of four stayed there for three nights starting on July 5,
From what we observed it appeared to be the biggest and nicest for that area. It was a last minute planned trip .The reviews on trip advisor were very mixed but we decided to book-it anyway. I
have to say that we found the staff to be very nice and friendly. At no time did we encounter any attitudes or rudeness. The housekeeping services we incredible. They really took the time to make sure the rooms were clean. They appeared to be stuck in overdrive. The location across from the beach was great. And the grounds were very pretty. We also noted that they had security around the front of the grounds. On another note the outdoor pool was much smaller then in appeared to be on the website and closed at dusk. The indoor pool closed at 9PM to children and was adults only from 9pm to 10pm. In that area there is not all that much to do at night. It would be much better if they kept the indoor pool open till around 11pm for everyone because the kids seem to get bored at night ,unfortunately they dont shutdown when the town does and they just seem to be standing around in groups or chasing one another around the property. Also the hotel does not have a gift shop. If you need to purchase anything such as pails and shovels, boogies boards or other beach related items you need to hike down the road to the general store. It's alittle bit inconveinant. I dont understand why if its a beach hotels they dont have such items available. They do however have a couple of vending machines that have candy and snacks. There is alittle bar area by the indoor pool but it closes beteen 8pm and 9pm. After that your out of luck. The rooms have small refrigerators which are very nices to keep drinks and snacks in.I would stay here again but I would make sure I had everything I needed on hand. I would also bring games or something for the children at night.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtotravelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

The customer service at this hotel is absolutley horrible. We flew out to York from Michigan for a family wedding and stayed here for a night. Our family stayed here six years ago and it was nice so when we found out last year in July that our other cousin was going to married we wanted to get a good "ocean view" room since they are the same price as a room that you can't see the ocean. We tried to book the vacation last year in July but they said we were TOO early and would have to wait, we waited to make a reservation until September and when we called they said the rates would be subject to revision which was no problem but still confirmed that we would get a good ocean view room. My sister confirmed this a couple of time and even a week ahead of time. You think that being the first one to book a room for 3 nights on July 4th that you would get a good room. We showed up around 9pm to check in the girl at the desk said "Oh, I see that they moved you." We ended up in the "Atrium" which was a building behind the main building with a view of some weeds and trees. The manager at night could not do anything for us and told us to talk to the general manager in the morning and we were then told that it was "our fault because we didn't check the confirmation". She could not explain why if we called four times to confirm that we had a good room on the third floor with an actual ocean view and not a back building. She wouldn't discount our room at all either and said that we stayed there and that was the price. They did "let" us move to another hotel and not overpay for a room that doesn't have a view. We ended up moving to the new Microtel, that was great. No lumpy beds, a big clean bathroom and a TV that worked. BE CAREFULL THEY WILL TAKE RESERVATIONS FOR OCEAN VIEW and you will end up with a view of weeds and bushes.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Troutbum75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

My husband and I stayed here in June with a wedding party. We booked back in Fall of 2007 and was quoted a price at that time. We paid a one night deposit and was guaranteed four nights at that price because we were part of a wedding group. When we arrived they informed us that the price had gone up and we had to pay the new price even though we were guaranteed the original quoted price. At the time of booking they assured numerous times there would not be an increase. The cost ended up being a lot more than we expected and we were obviously at their mercy and they knew it. The manager was horrible to deal with. The rooms are incredibly tiny, mouldy, rusty and damp...not worth the price. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Although pricey at almost $500 per night during 4th of July weekend, I must say,I was very pleasantly surprsed at the new ocean view suites. There is a conceirge desk staffed by very young and eager people.
When you first enter, there is a gorgeous bathroom with a deep jacuzzi and a separate glass shower, two sinks and heated floors.
The suite we had had 2 full sized beds, separated by a half wall to the living room.The bedroom was very spacious with a flat screen tv and a desk. It fit a cot and we did not feel crowded.
The living room has two side chairs and a pull out couch. There was a bar with a small fridge,bar sink and microwave oven. The fireplace was pretty with another flat screen TV over the mantle.This area opened up to the large ocean front porch overlooking the pool area. This pool area is open 24/7 as long as you keep quiet and no one complains.
I think not think there was excessive noise at any time,anywhere.
The indoor pool by the office was OK. There is a nice snack bar there where you can order drinks and snacks. The outdoor pool next to the indoor one had a little slide.
We stayed at the atruim a few years ago and those where a good deal for the price, with its own large pool.Overall the property had 2 outdoor and 2 indoor pools. Rooms were small.
The Sun and Surf food was fine. If you are eating sit down on their patio, make sure you are under the canopy. The morning sun made us squint through breakfast.Great snack bar for take out. Unfortunately, they have menus in your rooms for the restaurant and you cannot call for take out. They make you walk to the beach side take out window. That kind of put me in a bad mood because I was STARVING!
Front office staff can be friendlier and more welcoming,but the housekeeper was accomodating.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MASSmom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
1.4 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
380 reviews
1.9 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
782 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
105 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn

Address: Route 1A, 265 Long Beach Avenue, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range: $104 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
202 Room Ocean Front Hotel with 2 indoor, 1 outdoor seasonal pool with slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel York Beach
Anchorage Resort York Beach
Anchorage Inn York Maine
Anchorage Inn Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing