We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchorage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in a first floor Ocean Suite Aug 2-4 for a girl's weekend. Everything from beginning to end was fabulous. The Ocean Suites Building has it's own private parking area and pool. They have Happy Hour from 5-6 pm with complimentary beer and wine, as well as a continental breakfast in the morning. Absolutely loved being in our own private area...well worth the price of the room.

The hotel is located across the street from Long Sands Beach, very easy to get to. There is also a Trolley that you can take into town if you want to walk around and shop which we did. We had dinner at the Sun and Surf, which is the hotel's restaurant right across the street. The food was excellent and the view was amazing. I cannot wait to come back and stay at the Anchorage again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happygirl2008Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    177
    137
    65
    84
See reviews for
309
209
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Although the hotel is right across from the water, we had a negative experience. Our room was in the atrium (with a view of the parking lot), right near the elevator. I don't recommend this if you're a light sleeper. On the first day, they brought us 2 flimsy bed rails for our kids. One was badly stained! Then the tv set died. Next, the patio door wouldn't open. A maintenance person had to play around with a switch on the wall to bring the tv back to life. He mentioned the patio screen door needing new rollers, though this wasn't fixed during our stay. As for housecleaning, they stole my husband's watch! When I followed up with the front desk, they put me on hold for awhile, then into voicemail. I would say it's very unlikely that we'll return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York Beach hotels

Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just spent 3 days at the Anchorage and have no complaints. Great location right across from the beach, indoor an outdoor pools for the kids, nicely appointed room. No complaints. We will visit again! There is a small cafe in the main lobby with a full bar, an added bonus. The staff were very friendly and attentive to the needs of the guests. My room was recently renovated and we found it to be very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been recently renovated. They redo a block of rooms each year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscawen, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family of 3 has stayed at the Anchorage for a few years in a row and I have to say, this year was a total disappointment. Last year I booked too late and got stuck in the Atrium building out back. Nice room, but the whole place stunk like chlorine because of the indoor pool and of course, no view. So this year I booked early, using the hotel's online booking system - not a booking site, the hotel's very own site. I booked the third floor ocean front at a premium due to the view. When I arrived, I was informed that our room was "behind the office building" and really had no view. She informed me that "had I called them, I would have gotten a better room", but since I booked online, this is what I got. I let her know that wasn't acceptable and I asked her to change our room and of course, she couldn't. There was no offer of a discount for the lousy view. On top of this issue, was the man at the front desk who thinks he's some kind of stand up comic. Very unprofessional and very irritating. So we go to our overpriced non-view room and what do we find? The heat was on, the a/c was on and the pictures on the wall were so cock-eyed it was ridiculous. Talk about a total lack of attention to detail and certainly makes you wonder about how much attention was paid to cleaning the room. The room smelled stale and was in dire need of a re-do. The bathroom (toilet and shower only - sink on OUTSIDE of room) was so small you'd have more space in a porta-potty. Not an exaggeration. And the pool, let's just say the pool rules were made to be broken, as evidenced by all the wild kids not being watched by parents. We couldn't afford to lose our money, so we were stuck in this tiny, dingy room for three days. And to top it all off, when we checked out, not a single person asked us about our stay. Very sad and very disappointing. Our family will be looking elsewhere next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the main building room 110. This room, and I suspect the entire building, needs a major overhaul. It was barely big enough for me, my sister in law and our 2 small children. We were grossed out by the smell and condition of the room. The pool area is good for what it is. The motel is a perfect location to the beach, local attractions and restaurants, however we will not be returning to the Anchorage Inn, at least not the main building. At $248 per night (mind you there's a 2 night min) we can find much cleaner and bigger hotel rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goingtoPDCinapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our third year and once again, great location and service. The rooms were available when we arrived and the housekeeping staff were nothing but professional. The staff at the front desk were very accommodating. My only concern or request would be to see more recycling containers around the Facilities. Already booked for next year!
Jamie D

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensbury
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We've stayed at the Anchorage Inn a ton of times and every time they do a great job. It's hard to find a place in Maine on the beach with so many amenities! They have 2indoor pools. An outdoor pool and an indoor and outdoor hot tub!!! They offer towel Sevice for the pool which is so nice. The buildings are so well maintained and the staff is eager to please. We usually stay on the 3rd floor for the best view. You can see Nubble Lighthouse from the balcony!! The rooms are clean but tight if you have 2 queen beds. The king bed rooms have more room. Each room has a frig which is convenient. There are 3 good restaurant within walking distance. A trolley that stops in front of the hotel. The list goes in and on. We love it!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor for a great view. Get a room with only one bed for more space in the room. There is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
1.4 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
353 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
992 reviews
1.9 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
378 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.0 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn

Property: Anchorage Inn
Address: Route 1A, 265 Long Beach Avenue, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
202 Room Ocean Front Hotel with 2 indoor, 1 outdoor seasonal pool with slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel York Beach
Anchorage Resort York Beach
Anchorage Inn York Maine
Anchorage Inn Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing