We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet off-season stay”
Review of Anchorage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Malden, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet off-season stay”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent just one night at the hotel over the last weekend, with the kids spending time with friends at the indoor pool in the main office building, while watching the Sunday football games. We have been to the hotel several times in the past, and the facility is always very clean and weel-maintained. The rooms in the "Atrium" building are quite small, but designed to sleep in only really. The length of the building 4 foot pool in that building is nice for lounging and the kids enjoy the convenience of the water right outside their door. The office building houses the larger pool and hot tub, serves cocktails and breakfast, and works well for families to just "hang out" during the offseason where the pool is the attraction. I love the beach across the street, and spend lots of time at the beach during the summer. The main hotel building needs updating, which I believe is underway, but they have built a third new building in the past few years as well with larger suites. The price is convenient off-season, and overall a good time and a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms that offer "limited ocean view" in the Atrium building are very limited, so may not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageInnManager, General Manager at Anchorage Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Ken D,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay!

We are thrilled that you and your family were able to enjoy the two pools along with the beach. You are certainly correct that we are in the process of updating another block of rooms in the Main Building. Some of the rooms were updated last winter and another portion is underway currently! We are lucky that it is primarily work such as painting, hanging sheet-rock, and other "quiet" work that doesn't disturb other guests.

Thank you for choosing the Anchorage on your most recent trip to York - we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Patti D.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    183
    140
    68
    86
See reviews for
320
213
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spouse and I stayed on a Sat. night in December for a weekend escape. We usually stay elsewhere but it was booked so we tried the Anchorage, we had stayed here many years ago once. The price was right for off season. We stayed in the main bldg. The room was very small and dated, time for a makeover. However renovations were underway in another part of the building . That is good. The room as out of style as it was , WAS very clean and the bed comfortable.Room could use a coffee pot there was coffee in lobby for a price. The staff in the office was great. The ocean is across the street so the view is great.
With renovation this place would be great otherwise I will pass. Average score as is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHguy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on 11/2 and 11/3/12. Check in was easy and the staff friendly. The room was clean but small. It could have been because it had a king bed. This venue should be update soon it is getting old. We did not spend much time in the room so it didn't matter. We had an ocean view which was great. Nice little deck to sit on. Small but big enough for 2. Nice indoor pool that ran the length of the building. We had a weekend special that included dinner for 2 at the restaurant across the street. We had what amounted to a $70 dinner. The staff at the restaurant was fast and professional. The food was great. We had scallops and a seafood stir fry. The entire meal was 3 course and you could have anything on the menu except the stuffed lobster. We went back the next night and paid for our meal which was just as good as the previous nights meal. I would stay here again because on it's proximity to the beach and it was clean. There are 3 buildings. One is a brand new one which has suites. The price is a lot more.

Room Tip: Ask for the atrium and the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageInnManager, General Manager at Anchorage Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi Edward T,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our off season getaway package that included the dinner for two at Sun'n Surf. It is great to hear how good the food was!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Patti D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Averill Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was my third stay at the Anchorage. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a king room. We hadn't been here in two years and the room had been updated. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom is very small but the rooms are comfortable and very clean. Right across the street from the beach. We have stayed here three times, for fall trips to the beach. Very close to the outlets. Desk staff are very friendly. We disuse the indoor pool and the woman who was working in the bar/kitchen area was extremely friendly.

Room Tip: No elevator so choose your floor carefully. We were there overnight and like the 3rd floor for the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrell105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageInnManager, General Manager at Anchorage Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi Farrell105,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent stay.

We are thrilled to hear that you found the rooms comfortable and clean and our staff to be friendly! I will share your feedback about Maxine, our cafe associate, with our team. Thank you again for choosing the Anchorage!

Hope to see you again soon -

Patti D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My number one reason for going to the seaside is the ocean. Our room had a beautiful view and I could hear the surf - that is totally relaxing for me. The beds and furnishings were very comfortable and of very good quality. The room has a mini fridge - would love to have a coffee pot or a microwave, but we did fine without them this trip. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are very clean. The fitness room has basic equipment so you can stay on track if you work out on a regular basis like I do. But I walked the beach so much that I only used the gym one of the 3 days we were there. I would return and highly recommend it.

Previous reviewers talked about noise. We were there in Oct, lots of leaf peepers, yes, we could hear a little noise though the walls, but nothing worse than any place we have ever stayed, and no noise at night to wake us up. In the peak of summer that might be different but the hotel was pretty full when we were there.

The WIFI is great, we were able to watch Netflix on our laptop, strong signal even with a very full hotel.

My husband and I enjoyed our stay and we would return.

Room Tip: Some recommend the third floor oceanfront. No elevators, we were fine on the 2nd floor, I wouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aslan50mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageInnManager, General Manager at Anchorage Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi Aslan50mac -

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the sound of the ocean while you stayed with us! We appreciate the feedback on the 2nd floor view vs. the 3rd floor and were glad to hear that you enjoyed the 2nd floor!

We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Patti D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Anchorage is located right across the street from a beautiful beach. There are good views even from the first floor. The rooms are very clean and have good free wifi. The beds are comfortable and there are plenty of towels provided. The service is friendly and the location is perfect for anything you want to do in the York/Ogunquit/Wells area. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DuffyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageInnManager, General Manager at Anchorage Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi DuffyNC -

Thank you so much for taking a moment to write a review of your stay.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy your trip to the Anchorage & Long Sands Beach! I will share your service feedback with our staff - we sincerely appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you again the future.

Sincerely,

Patti D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

After checking out this beachside hotel I expected better. Being off season I thought the $130 for the standard queen room was on the high side (but it was the beach, so OK). Also no room or lobby coffee/room coffee maker. If you want a quick coffee before the rest of your group gets up you have to buy it in the little shop by the office. Our whole hotel room was very small and very well worn. On the first floor our door was less that 10 feet from the headlights of cars in the parking lot. This also made the after-wedding party in the parking lot very noisy. Also whatever chemicals they used in the bathroom were so strong we had to leave the front door open (chain latch on) to get fresh air. Luckily this was only an overnight stay on a trip up the coast. The rest of the trip was fantastic.

Room Tip: If you stay here don't get the standard room, or at least ask for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capn_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageInnManager, General Manager at Anchorage Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi Capn_C -

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you found the cleaning supplies that we used to be too strong for your liking. We use standard Comet, much like you can find in any grocery store.

As far as rates are concerned, we do our best to be as competitive as possible with our rates anytime of year. I am sorry that you felt it was on the high side. In comparing to other properties around town, I believe we are right in the middle of most other properties in town.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the standard rooms on the first floor. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope that you were able to enjoy Long Sands Beach!

Sincerely,

Patti D.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
1.4 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
366 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
1.9 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
99 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn

Property: Anchorage Inn
Address: Route 1A, 265 Long Beach Avenue, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
202 Room Ocean Front Hotel with 2 indoor, 1 outdoor seasonal pool with slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel York Beach
Anchorage Resort York Beach
Anchorage Inn York Maine
Anchorage Inn Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing