We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza!”

Woody's Brick Oven Pizza
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our last night in Maine was not spent eatting lobster but eatting this amazing pizza! Great crust. Quality toppings. Lots of cheese. You can watch the cooks make the pizza (so its nice and clean). The ingredients are top quality. Great meal!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank turboturtle1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I went to this restaurant last year and my family and I absolutely loved it. We decided to go again this year and the food was just as fantastic, but the employees left something to be desired. Because we were a party of 10, the restaurant understandably needed time to set up for us. They gave us one of those buzzers and we walked across the street to the gift shops. In about 10 minutes it buzzed so we went back. They said it would still be about 3 more minutes. Why would you buzz the buzzer before it's ready? We just stood there outside until the table was actually ready.

Also, (among other things) we ordered two of the same pizza. When they brought out the food, the waitress told us they made one of the correct pizza and one Hawaiian. They said we could have the Hawaiian free of charge while they make to other correct one. I don't really understand how they made that mistake but it got us free pizza, so whatever.

The food IS excellent though. We had a bunch of different kinds of pizza as well as the garlic knots and everything was fantastic. Maybe next time we'll just do take-out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stefinicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Phenomenal.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our trips to the USA from Canada typically involve eating at all of the restaurant chains that we see commercials for on a daily basis, but do not have locally. However, on a sunny beach day in York Beach, we decided to "settle" for a pizza for dinner - but Woody's is no ordinary pizza!

You can watch the staff prepare your pizza, which I think ensures cleanliness and am therefore a huge fan of. Pizzas are made to order and brick oven-fired right before you, but they are a very efficient establishment and the wait times are not long at all.

The pizza itself was fresh and hot, and very delicious. We ordered a medium for two of us to split, and only ate half - we took the rest to go for a late-night snack! We came home raving about the delicious pizza from Woody's and will definitely be back on our next visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bee902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
273 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“best pizza at york beach”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Without doubt this is the best pizza at york beach.The staff is quite cordial and helpful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mainelytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Level Contributor
305 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Very tasty, fresh and quality food”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We had visited once not too long after they first opened a couple years ago. We found it to be mediocre. Not bad, but not so good to spend above average money on the food. Well, we went back today and the food is well worth it now. The Italian sandwich was absolutely phenomenal. It's not thick, which I like, but, boy, is it tasty!?!?! They do not skimp with the fresh basil and they make sure they cover the sandwich with their dressing, which, by the way, tastes fantastic! They don't put too much on or too little. It's just enough. The pizza was perfectly cooked and had the right amount of toppings spread evenly. As a local, we have found a place we will crave to go back to more often now.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank StephV44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's Brick Oven Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Woody's Brick Oven Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing