We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
Review of Guac-n-Roll Cantina - MOVED

Guac-n-Roll Cantina
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Mexican in Maine? Yup, and it's good too! Located right off the beach with good food and friendly staff Guac-n-Roll was a great break from sub par restaurants in the village of York Beach. The chorizo burrito was awesome and the beer was better.

The choco-taco will be the best thing you put in your mouth all weekend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    43
    25
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poland, Maine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good huac”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

There were 5 of us for lunch and we sat outside. We ordered nachos with guac and salsa. The salsa and guac portions were large, but not too many nachos with the order. That turned out to be ok since our lunches came with nachos (since that's what we chose). I ordered the chicken burrito. The insides were really good. It would be nice if the burrito was baked (or toasted) with a little cheese or sauce on the outside, but no complaints here. Our meals were large and delicious.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Nachos and Margaritas”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We recently had dinner here with our family. We ordered the Nacho Mama, which was huge and delicious. 4 of us were able to eat off of the portion, and still had left overs. We probably would have been satisfied with just this, but we all had ordered food on top of it.

Each of us ordered different types of tacos and the kids ordered quesadillas. We were all satisfied with our choices. On top of that, the margaritas were excellent.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good Mexican food in the York area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luminates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Meh ... not impressed”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I ordered food for take out with 3 of my friends and 2 of us were disappointed. I think I was hopping for a little bit more of flavors and genuine Mexican taste. I ordered chicken and beef quesadillas and they were the most ordinary ones that I ever had : cheese + meat + 2 tortillas. In the chicken one, there was really not enough meat. Also, I was expecting a hint of cilantro in my quessadillas or in my guacamole. But nothing.

To conclude, it was not bad. Just not as flavorful as I hoped for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1_Amelie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tex-Mex Minimum”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family (with two small children) and father went to this location for lunch yesterday after having a positive experience the year before there. While we liked it previously, it was a big disappoint this time. My father and I both ordered burritos. His burrito had very little meat, despite boasting three different kinds. Both our burritos were bland and lacked flavor and both of our dishes were accompanied by 6-10 chips (you could literally see most of the bottom of the basket). While I understand that it is tourist spot on a busy beach, it was minimal food and flavor for maximum pricing. It is strange to go to a Tex-Mex place and not even get chips and salsa on the table...

What was not lacking was the service! The waitstaff was courteous and prompt and very understanding of my difficult three-year-old. Sadly, the food did not match the service and if we return, it will only be for Margaritas.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ViennaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guac-n-Roll Cantina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing