We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”
Review of Cutty Sark Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cutty Sark Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

First of all dont fall for the internet reservation system where you can see photos of your room because when you get there the room you choose a month in advance is somehow no longer available regardless of the conformation and prepay that you may have made. We booked a standard double room (rm 17 we chose online) We paid the 139 price because this was a weekend with an event in York Beach so the rooms were higher price than the normal off season rate. we booked a month in advance and prepaid for the room. I received 2 searate emails showing my room as confirmed and welcoming us. When we arrived we were told the room wasnt quite ready yet as the desk clerk only had one key so he "assumed t was still being cleaned" We came back and saw a man leaving the room on his bicycle so we asked if anyone was in the room and we were told no. We went on with our day and came back at 2pm when check in is supposed to be avaialable and were told that the room was occupied and he didnt know what happened. we were offered room 11 which was a filthy room with ripped bedspreads and a dirty rug and not repainted or updated like the room we chose online. We were then brought to the room we ended up having to take rm 16a which was painted and updated as room 17 showed but was a single not a double as we had originally booked. We were also told this was a discount because this room was 169 and we paid 139 for room 17. We said we were very unhappy with the room and believed we were owed a partial refund as the single rooms were less money than the double when we booked. the attendant said that this room was a different price that hey were all different prices so aparrrently they can give you any room they want and harge whatever price they want on the spot. We asked for a manager and there of course wasnt one. My son who made the reservation also called and was told that a manager named mark would be calling him but noone ever did. He was told that the room selection isnt guaranteed. SO I cant imagine why you have to go online and select which room by room number you are booking? Makes no sense to me and sounds like a lie.On top of all the shadyness the guests in the room above us took a shower which made for a beautiful waterfall effect of a leak into our room which conveniently had a bucket available...Just gross. The man operating the desk looked like a serial killer and wouldnt even look up at us when we checkd out this morning and said a manager "might be there later today" Didnt bat an eyelash when we told him about the leak either. Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Dont bother because you get whatever room the weird man decides to give you. If you ask me he had so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesG601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuttySark58, Manager at Cutty Sark Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

As a general rule, we choose to only respond to reviews when they are unreasonable and outrageous. This website is designed to offer potential clients an opportunity to read true reviews from previous guests. These reviews, both good and bad, assist them in making their difficult lodging decisions. As a lodging establishment it also allows us to receive feedback about the things people love and enjoy about our property. It also provides us important information about the things we can improve upon through long-range goals and a constant cycle of renovations. We also understand that personal opinions and preferences can range widely in this industry, and we can simply do our best to provide a high level of comfort and service to all guests who walk through our doors.
Unfortunately this review was one in which we found to be unreasonable and outrageous. There are many specific details that apply to this reservation that we do not need to debate with the reviewer, as we know we fulfilled our part of the reservation. Comments about room quality, specific room numbers and rates were inaccurate and wrong, but an opinion and acceptable. However, this review lost all of its merit and integrity when it personally attacked a valued employee, and attacked the way in which we conduct business and provide customer service.
We are an honest small business that takes pride in the personal customer service we provide to every guest. It is a common theme we see throughout most of these reviews, and a compliment we hear from guests everyday. The priority of all of our employees is to make each of our guests experience at the Cutty Sark special and enjoyable.
Unfortunately this was a rare situation, where we don’t believe there is anything we could have done to make this guest feel that way.

Thank You,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 292 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

No place I have ever been makes me happier than to be at the Cutty Sark. Seems like we arrive and just stay there looking at the view and enjoying the beautiful lawn. If I downed them one star, it is only because I would really like to have a vanity in every bathroom. However, the friendliness and the location more than make up for that.

Room Tip: Upper building is decidedly nicer than lower building, but the price adjusts accordingly. Off se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This describes the owners and staff of the Cutty Sark. We were a bit disappointed this time with the cleanliness of our room (dresser drawer and bathroom shower curtain) but the problems were addressed immediately. This says a lot, but clean to begin with says a lot more! We had a good night's sleep and a wonderful sunrise through our open window in the morning. So refreshing to sleep hearing the ocean crashing on the rocks below! There are renovations going on in the old building and that's a good thing! We were give a key to a room in the upper building so we could just go check it out. It was very nice and has us thinking we may stay there next time. We love the lawn and all the tables and lawn chairs... but the lawn chairs were in need of repair. It was pre-season June (late review) so perhaps this was taken care of. We love the location; at the upper end of Long Sands ... a 5 minute walk on the beach brings you to where you can see Nubble Light ... and a fabulous sunrise! We walk the beach several times a day, usually just inside the surf. We take at least one plunge into the water ... and it's pretty cold in June; much warmer in September!

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor as people on the lawn can look right into your window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADKphotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent 9 nights in early September. Our room location was on the second floor of the older building was a 10/10, however the room itself definitely needs some renovations, which I believe the motel is in the midst of. The bed was so hard, it was tough to get a good night's sleep. All of the staff were very friendly and Boris who cleaned our room was terrific. Fresh coffee, muffins and paper available each morning, nice way to start the day. Will definitely be back, hopefully with renovated rooms or at least new mattresses.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a family owned business and myunderstanding is that they have an ongoing program of room renovation - some have just been done, others are a bit more dated. We inspected several before making our choice and saw considerable difference. We opted for the newer building which gave us a good sized room, a perfectly acceptable bathroom and like every room on the property a wonderful view of the ocean, the beach, and the ever present (during the day) surfers. Outside our window were a selection of chairs, recliners, and tables on grass, and a nicely planted garden bed. Staff are all extremely pleasant and helpful, the coffee and muffin available is a nice start to the day. Other motels in town boast of their ocean views but this is the only one that doesn't have a busy road in between the motel and the beach. It would be helpful if they could put a listing of the tv stations close to the the television. Only negative was the lack of Wi Fi signal. Three hotspots show up, but none worked. We've stayed here before and we hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailr97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was looking for a place to just sit back and relax by the ocean, and found it in this motel. The view of the ocean was fantastic. If your looking for a luxury motel, this is not the place, but if your looking for an ocean view, great staff and convenient location than this is it. There is a beautiful lawn area with umbrella tables and lawn chairs facing the ocean, perfect for enjoying your free coffee and muffin breakfast.
There are two sections of the motel, upper and lower, I stayed in the upper. I was more than satisfied with my room, it was nicely decorated and was very clean, the bed was comfortable. My favorite thing was that all the rooms had a large picture window that faced the ocean.
I stayed here alone and felt very safe.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do not have air conditioning, but most of the upper building do. I never had to tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at Cutty Sark Motel for the first time Labor Day weekend (rm 39). This motel is all about location! The view from the room was great, the backyard patio with seating overlooking the ocean was wonderful and the hotel staff were lovely. On the downside, this is not a high end experience. Besides the decor and furniture in the main room the bathroom was at center of the issues- small/outdated, mold in the shower, broken tiles, no handtowels. With rates for this particular room at $245 in the summer, I was expecting more. Cutty Sark has the potential to compete with the other high end hotels in the area provided they renovate their rooms- afterall they have the best location of the bunch! According to staff they do plan to renovate soon. We hope to try Cutty Sark's newer building on our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
0.5 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
388 reviews
2.7 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
814 reviews
3 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand View Inn and Cottages
Grand View Inn and Cottages
#3 of 4 in York Harbor
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cutty Sark Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cutty Sark Motel

Address: 58 Long Beach Avenue, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range: $164 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cutty Sark Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Cutty Sark Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cutty Sark Hotel York Beach
Cutty Sark York Beach
Cutty Sark Motel Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing