We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel”
Review of Union Bluff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Union Bluff Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the fourth visit to the Union Bluff. It is in a beautiful location, rooms are immaculate, an the Pub and restaurant have first rate menu. The only negative is that they cant accomodate parking for hotel patrons when they have large wedding parties.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mum-mum1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 380 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

A very professionally run hotel - from the friendly person who took my reservation to the reminder email, the check in, the housekeeping & checkout & thank you email after we'd left. We stayed in the Annex - Rooms are clean, bathrooms are nice, view is excellent. You are a few second walk to the beach or to the downtown. But don't forget - the water in the ocean is cold!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIGMACjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the location and the price was reasonable after Labor Day. I stayed in the annex where every room had a beach view and a large patio or porch area. The hotel also has its own green grassy area right on the beach edge with chairs just for hotel guests. The rooms were clean... The window air cond unit kept the room cool. Nicely tiled and painted bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littletoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family went to the Union Bluff Hotel for 3 nights and original booked an ocean front suite in the main building. The room was DIRECTLY over the pub and its outdoor terrace for dining outside. The noise of people talking, dining etc...was unbearable and we needed to keep the windows closed if you were to have any hope of having a nap for you or your children. After a LONG car ride to get to the hotel we were really tired and for the price you pay, i found this room's location unbearable. I asked for a room change and they moved us into the Meeting house. What a HUGE difference!!! Sure the view wasn't as good, but the building/landscaping/rooms/etc.... was absolutely beautiful. One of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed at in my life. State of the art bathroom with a HUGE rain head shower in a massive bathroom..just awesome all around. We had a balcony that overlooked the downtown and you could see plenty of the ocean over the building across the street. The price difference between the two rooms is minimal, and the Meeting house is literally 5 TIMES nicer.
My only other gripe as others have stated, for such a nice hotel, the parking and entering the hotel from the back lot is horrible. Walking down sand embankments with no stairs, no pavement, and then you need to walk between AC units, etc... to enter the hotel. VERY poor in taste for such a nice hotel and it would be rather simple for them to really dress all this up but I suppose they choose not to? You could always use the valet parking instead. Perhaps thats why they have it in the first place. The spots in front of the hotel are MUCH nicer but are limited and fill quickly.

Room Tip: Stay in the Meeting house if its within your budget! You won't be disappointed! AVOID at all co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedlamBikesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

First time in York Beach on family (3 little ones) from Boston to Bar Harbor. Great stop and the hotel was great. We stayed in the annex in a one bedroom with a balcony. They wheeled in two cots so plenty of room for everyone to sleep. Room was beautiful. Very big - more than big enough with 3 kids. The view from the balcony was killer and the hotel is perfectly located. We walked out our door right into the cute little town and down the street to the park with carnival rides. Kids loved it. I was very impressed with this hotel and would definitely recommend it and stay their again. I don't know about rooms in the "main" hotel because we were across the street. And if you are travelling up the coast York Beach is a very fun stop. We had a quick one night / one day stop there but wished we spent more time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeB334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Right on the ocean's edge and walking distance to downtown. Upper rooms have an unlimited view of York. The pub is a great place to kick back....great food , service and people. Good value at a great location

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jed0985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Union Bluff Hotel. The room, the view, the balcony, the beach, the staff, the restaurants and the food A+++. We had such a relaxing and wonderful experience here I don't think we would stay anywhere else in town. We woke up early to watch the sun rise and enjoyed the beach being steps away from our room! We already booked our stay for next summer. Beautiful little town, not a sight to miss. Rooms book up fast so plan your stay today!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jbender2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
3.3 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
782 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
406 reviews
1.4 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,050 reviews
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
701 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Bluff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Bluff Hotel

Address: 8 Beach Street, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range: $99 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Bluff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Union Bluff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Bluff York Beach
Hotel Union Bluff
Union Bluff Hotel Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing