We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent town and hotel”
Review of Union Bluff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Union Bluff Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I were looking for an "off the beaten path" beach vacation for our 2 year old and ourselves. We found just that in York Beach (short sands...not long. big difference) Maine. The town itself offers enough to make the trip comfortable. It provides plenty of mom and pop restaurants, shops and even a small amusement park. The bread and butter of the town is the beach though. Absolutly beautiful sand and views. The water is always a little chilly though. Staying at the Union Bluff puts you right next to the beach. It is a very nice, historic hotel. The one inconvienience of the town is that when dinner comes, good luck getting a seat. We ate almost every night at the union bluff Restaurant which is very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zobtraffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 380 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Each year my mother, my aunt, my cousin and I go for 3 nights to the Maine coast. Last July (2012) we stayed at the Union Bluff Hotel and couldn't have been happier about it. It was gorgeous - the rooms (Annex rooms, which had recently been updated), the view, the interior, the restaurant, the beach - all beautiful. We wanted to go back this coming July but it's booked and has been since the fall/winter time. Book early for summer weekends! Wish we were going back :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A friend and I make an annual December trek to York Beach in Maine and we always stay at the Union Bluff. Now, granted this is well "after season" and not a lot of other facilities are open but we would probably stay at the Union Bluff anyway. This hotel has lower off season rates (still not a HUGE bargain) but every little bit helps. The rooms are neat,clean, nicely furnished and most have some sort of ocean view. The in-house restaurant is a bit pricey but the food is very good. I have never visited the Pub but it seems always to be busy. I also know that during off season the Pub is frequented by locals and that is generally a good sign. Across the street is what is called "short sands" beach and it is a nice little stroll from one end to the other. Why December? In December there are one or two weekends when the general area (Wells, Ogunquit and York) have an event centered in Ogunquit called Christmas By the Sea. This weekend event includes caroling, sales at local shops, activities for kids, bonfire - tree lighting, etc. Great fun!! If I had one improvement I could make at the Union Bluff it would be in the lack of friendliness toward guests. There are generally two or more people at the front desk and they really seem to be more interested in each other's chit chat or reading the paper than in guests.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask what sort of view you will have in a given room as not all rooms look directly at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband & I have had the pleasure of staying at this lovely hotel for 6 times now, and have never been disappointed. The staff is always very friendly & accommodating. We always enjoy dinner @ the Pub... good food and there are several TV's set for different sporting events . Breakfast @ the Union Bluff Grill is very good (great omelets) Nice gift shops just down the street , and access to Short Sands Beach and park is right across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great hotel. I can't say enough good things about all of the staff, from the valet parking people, the front desk, the wait staff- everyone. The hotel is right on the ocean, so beautiful views. The hotel was extra clean. The decor was tasteful and attractive. Very well maintained indoors and out. They allowed us to check in a little early. Also, we asked if we could stay in the valet parking for one extra hour after checkout and they told us we could stay all day. Again- extra extra pleasant staff! My only complaint would be that the mattress was not overly comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVLocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and just got back from York Beach, where we stayed at the Union Bluff. Great room and great view! We fell asleep listening to the waves on the beach. The view was amazing and the room was neat and clean. The restaurants served delicious meals. The only complaint I have is that the staff seems a little aloof. Otherwise, worth every penny we spent.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Union Bluff Hotel in the shoulder season is relaxation at its best. Our room was spotless and our view of Short Beach Cove was gorgeous. [We even grew to enjoy the diligent payloader that spent 13 hours a day meticulously sifting winter rocks from the sand and grooming the beach in anticipation of Memorial Day crowds.]
Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and the table server seemed as if she wanted nothing more than to make sure we had a wonderful evening. Another meal in the pub was tasty and fun, if a bit more noisy and crowded. Everyone on staff asked what they could do for us. Whether it was getting coffee at 6 AM or providing wine glasses and a corkscrew at 8 PM.
A short drive from Boston brought us to this old school, Southern Maine charmer -- all for an extremely competitive price. We are already making plans to return later this summer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileywyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York Beach
3.3 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
782 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
406 reviews
1.4 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,050 reviews
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
701 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Bluff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Bluff Hotel

Address: 8 Beach Street, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in York Beach
Price Range: $99 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Bluff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Union Bluff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Bluff York Beach
Hotel Union Bluff
Union Bluff Hotel Maine/York - York Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing