We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Place To Stay While In Southern Maine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western York Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in York
Reviewed July 20, 2008

While on a vacation, to see the Maine Coast, my first stop was at the York, Best Western. It is a modern, clean and comfortable motel. It is in a great location to visit Ogunquit and Kennebunk. It is a bit too far from Boothbay and I had to change motels for that part of the trip.
The breakfast was a bit dull, no waffles and just the standard, bread, rolls, muffins, cereal etc. The coffee was very good.
The room was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The only complaint, was that every afternoon, when we returned, we found that the maid had shut off the Air and we had to wait until the room cooled to be comfortable. We also had to ask for extra bath soap, as they left just one each morning, for two people.
I am not one of those reviewers that would let minor problems like the ones mentioned affect my rating of this motel, to any great extent. I would rate it 4.5. I would stay there again, and would recommend it to friends.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Richard-From-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 531 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2008

The building looks impressive, indoors it is very basic. For us it was just a pick by roadside as our flight had been very late and we did not drive to original destination in Augusta ME.

Traditional motel, we had no time to test pool etc but early breakfast was enough for long drive northwards.

Some minutes drive to very beautiful areas of York.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We recently stayed while visiting the Yorks for two nights. It's really just OK. The room was large but the bath area was miniscule and grungy! It was very basic. Our room and the hall area outside had a musty odor...maybe a bit pet like. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked and the location is convenient for area sightseeing. However, if you're looking for something a bit higher than average go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tiggermyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

We attended an event in nearby Rochester, N.H. but wanted to stay in York.Usually we book a room at the beach but we wanted to stay closer to the highway because we needed to get to Boston for Mothers' day.This was our first stay.The front desk was extremly pleasant and helpful.Our room had one queen bed and had ample space.No complaints about cleanliness.We were offered the second floor(less noise) but no elevator if needed.It was close to the local supermarket(Hannaford) and our favorite pizza store(Wildcat?).
Breakfast was plentiful.We looked at the work-out room(lots of machines) and the pool.Both were clean and inviting.
If you're looking for a clean,hospitable place to stay you'll be happy with this place.It's more than adequate but less than special.We find that attentive front desk personell always improve the marks on our score card.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeepgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Stayed at the Best Western York Inn over the weekend of 5/2/08. It's obvious that the hotel has recently completed a total renovation. All of the common areas and hallways were newly painted with brand new carpet (the carpet still smelled new). I can't speak for all of the rooms, but mine was newly renovated with new paint, carpet, bedspreads, etc. I had an oversized king room with a sofa. Strange room layout. It was almost too large for the furniture that was in it. Huge bathroom with seperate room for the toilet. Bed was very comfortable for a value hotel (this is the one place I find most budget properties skimp). They even triple sheet the beds! Easy access location (close to coastal Maine and Portsmouth, NH), but the hotel truly is a roadside motor inn. They do have a cute little indoor heated pool, but the temp. was a little chilly. Free Continental Breakfast (the basics, but a very clean breakfast room). Nice workout area with new equipment. The manager (Robbins) was very friendly. He must work 80 + hours a week! He was always around!

I would certainly return if I am looking for a moderatly priced clean place to stay on the Maine coast.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank skifastinvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

This place is great for the price. Everything was clean and neat. The staff is very polite and we received lots of freebies (without asking) that other hotels would charge for. Breakfast was great too. This hotel was a great location for us because we wanted to explore the coast and go to Boston without the big city prices.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ohio_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

The walls were paper thin, the bed comforter consisted only of material and what looked like a blood stain, the room was small, the bathroom tiny, the sink jammed, the pool looked disgusting along with the fish tank. All this with the great upgrades that some talked about below, yikes!!
This is one of the hotels that Best Western must drop from its membership if it wants to upgrade its corporate image!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Falavious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
2.2 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
814 reviews
4 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
419 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kittery Inn and Suites
Kittery Inn and Suites
#1 of 4 in Kittery
507 reviews
2.9 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Inn

Address: 2 Brickyard Ln, York, ME 03909-1600 (Formerly York Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range: $71 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western York Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western York Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel York
York Best Western
Best Western York Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing