We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and atmosphere”

Dockside Restaurant on York Harbor
Ranked #20 of 105 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 103
Description: The approach to the Dockside Restaurant is all part of the Dockside’s charm. You are treated to views of the York River and the grand “summer cottages” as you turn onto Harris Island Road to reach Dockside Restaurant. The view is quintessential Maine, people hustling up and down the docks, gleaming yachts and colorful lobster boats in front of a rock and pine-tree shore. Dockside’s recent renovation is perfect, warm and comfortable. Hardwood floors, European style lighting floor to ceiling window and a new mahogany bar with an adjoining outdoor cocktail deck. During warm months seating is available on our harbor view screen porch. The atmosphere is casual but the food is serious. Chef Dennis la Planet has been recognized as a “chef’s chef”. North Atlantic seafood prepared with a northern Italian influence and aged steaks are just the start. Lunch features organic salads, creative sandwiches and traditional favorites; fish and chips, chowders and fried clams too.
SC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Food is really good, not overpriced for what you received and the servers were excellent. We ate on the patio overlooking the harbor. I had the crab cake appetizers for an entree and it was excellent. My husband had the beef filets, very good as well. Were very happy with our choice.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScNebraskatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    55
    28
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
261 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Best dinner of our New England trip - wonderful food!!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The title says it all - we had the best meal of our trip here. I had the chowder, which was the best of several chowders I tasted during our 6 night trip in New England.

The Lobster and Diver Scallop Saute in a whisky cream sauce was superb - and the largest scallops I have ever seen in my life!!

I cannot recommend this place enough. You can sit indoors in air-conditioned comfort or out on the screened deck.

Service was great with friendly staff, and the ambience of the place gives a special feel, without being over the top.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luxtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood,Ca
1 review
“Wonderful in Everyway!”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Love this restaurant. Have eaten there every time I am in York. My last experience was very special. I had a large group of family and friends for a luncheon. We had a private room with wonderful views of the harbor and boats. The food was wonderful and the service was outstanding. Every detail was perfect, which made the whole experience delightful. Thank you again for such a great time.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way!”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

An incredibly lovely location overlooking a tranquil harbor dotted with boats. The Dockside has consistently excellent food and friendly, unpretentious service. A delightful location for a special dinner, a quiet lunch or an afternoon cocktail.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpmmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing atmosphere, wonderful food!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This restaurant is part of the Dockside Hotel in York Harbor Maine but is open to the public. The prices are higher than average but the food is exceptional. It is not very large, but with huge windows that look out to picturesque York Harbor. You can see the water from every table. There is also outdoor seating on a screened in porch. The staff is excellent, and the food is out of this world.

It is a bit hard to find, just follow the signs to York Harbor, go over the bridge, you are now on a tiny island, past the boat yard and you will find it. Well worth the effort.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Restaurant on York Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Dockside Restaurant on York Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing