We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 23 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had booked a room for two nights. We were a bit early - so while the landlady found out if our room was ready, we enjoyed a cup of coffee sitting on the terrace - and the view. The room number 120 - was a pleasant surprise - full sea view and a balcony. The room was spacy, everything was clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast was OK - being Europeans we really appreciated the special bread and the eggs (some cheese would have been nice also). Would not mind coming back

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 270 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I were in Maine the first week of October. We visited three totally different towns and inns on our stay. They were all very nice, but I would say that the Dockside is the kind of B&B one thinks of when planning a trip to Maine.

It has been run by the same family for about 60 years, so the hospitality and service could not be better. When we arrived, Eric Lusty, the owner actually helped us get our luggage to our room. Be sure and read the history of the inn on their website. It will give you an understanding of why the Lusty family has planted their lives here.

This said, you also have a lot of privacy if you want it, along with beautiful waterfront views everywhere. We had a lovely view from our room in the Lookout building, and we would wake up every morning looking at the sea just beyond our double doors and deck.

This is our second stay at the Dockside, and it was just as nice as our first visit about ten years ago. The breakfast every morning was delicious, and there is a small dining room you can eat in with separate tables; and more private seating in a sitting room close by. There is also a large outdoor porch with tables and chairs if you choose to eat your breakfast outside.

There is also an adjoining restaurant run by the same family that is perfect for dinner. We ate there both of the nights we were in York and thought the food and service excellent there also.

We highly recommend the Dockside if you are looking for a quiet place to stay right on the water in Maine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VATriplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Dockside is a beautiful inn with multiple buildings on its own island in York, ME, a short drive from Boston. The staff were very friendly, delicious goodies were waiting when we checked in at night, and the breakfast the next morning was everything we could have asked for. The rooms look out onto the little harbor with a lighthouse and the Atlantic in the distance. The restaurant was a stone's throw from the inn and had delicious food. The staff there could not have been friendlier. We did a week's tour of New England and this is one of the two places we want to return to for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryant Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Discoved Dockside Inn at niece's wedding on Sept 20 2013.
A classic Maine setting overlooking fishing harbour complete with moonrise.. the ceremony on the front lawn was followed by a gourmet dinner buffet at the Dockside restaurant.
A beautiful Maine classic to be enjoyed by any age group. Will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms face the harbour - very quiet even in main house. Pristine linen, excellent beds and deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just came back from spending a beautiful and relaxing weekend at the Dockside. I could not have asked for a better room. We had Room 110 which was a private little cottage. The room had every thing you could ask for and the bonus of not having anyone above, below or next to you! What a treat it was to sit outside on our private deck and enjoy the sunset with a bottle of wine. The next morning we were quite surprised to find such a beautiful breakfast they waiting for us....from the delicious coffee to the nicely cooked eggs. I honestly don't think they could have offered anything more....and to be able to take it back to your room and have a nice relaxing breakfast on the deck. The only bad thing I can say is it had to end! I can't wait to go back but next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Dockside for 3 days. The rooms are fresh, nicely appointed and spotless. While not a luxury hotel, everything is nicely done and relatively roomy. Perfect for a casual getaway. It is off the beaten path and quiet and all the rooms all have a lovely view. The breakfast service is very good and done buffet style. Everything was fresh and tasty and nicely presented.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pdruhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A friend and I spent Labor Day weekend at the Dockside and were pleasantly impressed by the staff, the accommodations and the grounds. Upon arrival, we were greeted personally and shown up to our room on the second floor of the main house. The room, with two twin beds, was charmingly decorated and the private bathroom was surprisingly spacious. The room came equipped with everything you would expect at a much larger hotel (but not necessarily a small B&B), including an ironing board, iron and hair dryer. The upper level also featured a balcony (complete with a spyglass) overlooking the property and provided picture-perfect views of the harbor. The Dockside also provided afternoon refreshments (great after our long drive up) including chocolate chip cookies and lemon bars, along with coffee and tea.
Breakfast the next morning was also a nice surprise. Guests were invited to sit in the small dining room or take their meal outside on the tables and rocking chairs along the wrap-around porch. The options were plentiful--homemade muffins, an array of fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, English muffins, toast, homemade cinnamon coffee cake and blueberry crumb cake (was especially delicious) baked eggs, sausage, granola with fresh berries and yogurt and even baked french toast and quiche! It was quite a spread and a great way to start a day full of sightseeing.
The staff was so helpful providing everything from restaurant recommendations to finding a nail file upon request. The Inn also had a board with local activities and attractions that was convenient when looking for things to do not always listed online.
The only drawback (and I hesitate to call it that) was that the Dockside is somewhat isolated, getting to the Long Shore Beach and Ogunquit are an easy drive, but might take a bit by bike or on foot. But the location made for a quiet, relaxing stay. You could hear the crickets and the small waves against the shore.
Overall, I'd highly recommend this B&B, it was a great experience and best of all, didn't break the bank!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building on the second floor, a room with two twin beds and a private bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ml849567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
801 reviews
2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
#1 of 5 in York Harbor
215 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Morning Glory Inn
Morning Glory Inn
#2 of 23 in York
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant

Address: 22 Harris Island Rd, York, ME 03909-5091
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $135 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dockside is a special place on the Maine seacoast offering distinctive dining and lodging overlooking picturesque York Harbor. It captures the essence of Maine with its natural beauty, gracious hospitality and abundant activities. Accommodations are in the Maine House, a quintessential "New England Cottage" and multi-unit buildings at the water's edge, most with a private deck and water view. Our restaurant shares the same magnificent views while offering a truly enjoyable dinning experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant Hotel York
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant York, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing