We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty pretty good”
Review of Gigi's - CLOSED

Gigi's
Price range: $22 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street
Description: For many of us at GiGi's, our love of food started with our grandparents. A trip to gradma's always meant a roast in the oven and warm cookies and pies for dessert! Throughout our respective restaurant careers, Italian food and drink has inspired us immensely. Gigi is a name used for grandma in Italian. We found it very fitting that this restaurant, the culmination of our love for Italian food and drink, be named for our grandmothers.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretty pretty good”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I've been here a couple of times since it opened earlier this year and have very much enjoyed myself each time. Great atmosphere with sleek white leather booths, dark wood floors and cool lighting. Nice balcony overlooking crowd at York beach. Adequate size bar with regular menu as alternative to sitting in main dining area. The service has been fantastic. Wait staff prompt, fun and knowledgable.
Food is extremely good with large portions. Pizza, pasta, steak, antipasto, raw bar, salads all great. I highly recommend this place. Jay has another winner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out, munch, and have a drink”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited Gigi's twice this past weekend and really enjoyed ourselves there. We planted ourselves at the bar area both days to have some snacks and drinks. The appetizers and pizza were very tasty, but what stood out in particular was the drinks! The bartenders were great; they were very knowledgeable, helpful, efficient, and generally nice to work with. We also stopped by at one point for happy hour (discounted drinks and select appetizers and pizza), which was a nice deal!

As a note: We cannot speak to the service in the restaurant dining ares or the quality of the (non-pizza) entrees, as we didn't try these things.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dustpan_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Urban sophistication with creative comfort food- beautiful setting with distant harbor views!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have eaten several times at this cool new restaurant in York Village since it recently opened. We highly recommend it for both it's casual/ elegant atmosphere, well prepared food and exceptional wait staff. It offers outdoor dining w/ distant views toward York Harbor and great indoor decor as well. You can't beat their 3 to 5 o'clock special...$1 oysters and $5 signature cocktails. Go early and stay late!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stonesthrow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington,NC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely evening with friends”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wonderful meal with exceptional service. The owners were so friendly and welcoming and brought us a wonderful homemade ricotta to try that was divine. We all had appetizers, entrees and desserts. Everything was wonderful. Great Lemondrop martini! New restaurant, but they have got it right. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weathersfield, VT
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A refreshing modern addition...”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Gorgeous. Crisp. Modern. And yes... beachy at the same time. The decor is something we desired to snatch every detail & implement in our home. Simply stunning.

Great large bar area w/ banquets & seating for 14 at the beautiful white marble bar. Accents of aqua, stainless steal & white make the atmosphere cool & calming. We went for after-dinner drinks & were very impressed. Those who were eating were raving about the food. Wine list is extensive w/ many italian options not often seen. The bartender was very knowledgeable of the varietals & gave us an opportunity to taste before choosing.

They have a gorgeous outside deck which overlooks the hustle & bustle of York. We grabbed some wine after a day at the beach at their outdoor bar. Simply perfect!!!

Was a bit disappointed that the bartender didnt notify us of the happy hour specials, which I found out after we got home about. Every day... 3-6... $5 house wines & $1 oysters. WOW! We will be back!!

Hope to taste some of their menu items this next time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gigi's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing